Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas

Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas

153 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936 South Africa
Blick von der Terrasse
Traveller (204)
Garden
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
R 1 603
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 8 lodges in St Lucia
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Fully equipped with solar power - Ndiza Lodge is a privately owned and intimate establishment committed to service and quality as well as dedicated personal attention while hosting guests in beautiful South Africa. You will leave Ndiza with cherished memories and experiences. Ndiza offers up market and tastefully decorated accommodation. Bordering iSimangaliso Wetland Park (formerly known as St Lucia Wetland Park), with real hospitality while ensuring your privacy and comfort, as well as a panoramic view of the ocean and famous Lake St Lucia, you will find Ndiza Lodge nestled onto the verge of the Wetlands situated on the Elephant Coast. With easy access to the Restaurants, Supermarkets and rest of the town, yet private and quiet. This ideal location makes Ndiza Lodge your best choice for exclusive accommodation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Kitchenette
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

153 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Richards Bay Airport
Zulu Inyala Airport
573Reviews1Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 389
  • 151
  • 26
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Eaa1947 wrote a review Mar 2020
Gold Coast, Australia631 contributions281 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
In St Lucia just about every property is B & B or a Self Contained apartment. There are no large chain hotels. Ndiza is not on the main street and therefore it is relatively quiet. Fortunately, or unfortunately, we did not see any hippos on the street or out of the river. The accommodation is very secure with a sliding steel gate at the entrance and you need a remote control to open it. The room, a Cabana, is quite spacious but the bathroom is very strange with a strange and narrow layout. One could get hurt on the towel rack. The room is a self-catering accommodation, there is a fridge, microwave, hotplates and the usual pots and pans. We did not use it as breakfast was included and we ate out for dinner. There is air conditioning in the rooms but the windows are left open defeating the purpose of AC. Although the windows can be closed it is not easy to do as the latches are rather stiff and can’t get hand through the security screen. All in all, it is a good base for exploring the nearby national parks. The staff is very cooperative and helpful. The breakfast is very good and there are good views from the breakfast room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Cannot comment on other rooms but Cabana is where we stayed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ndiza, Owner at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Responded 06 Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie Kelly-Taylor wrote a review Dec 2022
Cape Town, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and it exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very helpful in arranging a packed breakfast for our safari today. We made use of the laundry service that was also very efficient. The room was spotless and had everything we could need. I also liked the beautiful pools as well as the lovely patio area. I also liked the fact that there was a generator too! The only few small things that I can suggest is to look at possibly including a plug on both sides of the bed for various items like the hairdryer and phone to plug into as well as some sort of clothes horse to hang wet costumes and towels on to dry. The other suggestion is to also perhaps consider installing solid doors at the room entrances as we could hear when other guests would enter or exit their room from time to time. It didn’t bother us much though and it’s just a suggestion. Other than that we were very happy here and hope to return one day in the future. We really appreciated the attention and care that Amanda, the owner as well as all the staff of Ndiza, took to being as accommodating as possible .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda De Gaspary, Owner at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Responded 29 Dec 2022
Dear Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to review us. And thank you for such a lovely review! I appreciate your suggestions and will most definately implement it ASAP. I look forward to your return! Warm regards Amanda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DK S wrote a review Dec 2022
Sydney, Australia23 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We cant thank Amanda and the team enough for their great reception and hospitality.

The room was beautiful with the emperor bed being enormous and the decorations very tasteful and with a consistent theme. The highlight is definitely the views and location.
We loved sitting on the upstairs deck, not just for the best full breakfast each morning but after our tours we would be straight back up there having a drink from the bar (with an honesty system and very cheaply priced) and relaxing in the upstairs pool and then sit enjoy the view and start sorting through our photos for the day.
We highly recommend St Lucia as a place to visit, we enjoyed five nights as just enough to see most of what the area has to offer. Having walked most of the area we are very confident that Ndiza is the perfect location in St Lucia, near enough to walk into town or the beach but far enough away to be in complete peace and quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The adult pool upstairs was a perfect spot to relax. The staff are so well trained and helpful,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda De Gaspary, Owner at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Responded 09 Dec 2022
Thank you for this lovely review and the numerous compliments! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and I honestly appreciate your kind words. I look forward to your next visit. Warm regards Amanda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lefeuilletonkinois wrote a review Jan 2020
Hanoi43 contributions35 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The common grounds are fine (clean, quiet, super views from the breakfast room, nice staff) though smaller and more cramped than it looks on the photos. Parking is tight. We were given a dark room (electricity on compulsory even during the day) giving under a passageway. No air, no light, no view. Claustrophobic. It was so cluttered with useless trinkets and vases that we did not know where to put our suitcases or own items. The night watchmen used this passageway to come and go which allowed no privacy if we wanted to sit outside or open the curtains. The comment of the receptionist who showed us the room still rings in my ears: "so this is going to be home away from home, enjoy!" Well, we did not and felt cheated.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you do not get this uninteresting room. It spoiled our stay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ndiza, Owner at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, I saw the dates that you stayed before you removed it from your review. I therefor know which booking this was. It is clear that you were not happy and I am sorry to hear that. You were however happy during your stay - you did not mention any of the issues that you are now dissappointed with. You also did not mention to us that you broke the bedside lamp until you were asked about it. Communication makes life much easier. We do our best for all our guests. Unfortunately, it is impossible to keep some guests happy. No matter what you do. And we tried. We really tried. Regards Amanda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vinolia2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
Piet Retief, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing we definitely coming back. I loved everything about this place. Its very peaceful and the people are very friendly even other guests make you feel like a guest. the activities we experienced was the best part of our trip because it was the first time doing such activities. I really told a lot of please about this place and I uploaded all my pictures on social handles so everybody could see what a great time we had.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ndiza, Owner at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Hi Vinolia Thank you for the lovely review and the numerous compliments! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to host friendly guests as well. Regards Amanda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wayne A wrote a review Jan 2020
19 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked in on the 27th Dec until 2 Jan. I must say I was disappointed. Firstly don't stay in room 3 and 4 in the lodge. It is very noisy especially in the mornings when the staff are preparing for breaksfast thet make an extreme noise every morning. I belive this is disrespectful to the guest. Secondly, for six days we had the same breakfast, surely one could change the menu at least after every second day, because it is not a buffet breaksfast one can brjng in something differnt even if it is just the sausage, instead of mushrooms change it with mince or baked beans etc...
I've sent the owner an email enquiring if there will be something special planned for new years eve, to date I had no response. I can understand the lodge is in a quiet area, but she could have responded and say no and recommended something in the area as she is a resident of St Lucia and knows what happening, but no response says a lot. I should have gone with my first option St Lucia Eco Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ndiza, Owner at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Responded 06 Jan 2020
Dear Sir, I do apologise for the breakfast staff making a noise. I will most definately address this. Regarding the breakfast - you mention "because it is not a buffet breakfast, one can bring in something different" - we DO serve a buffet breakfast with numerous hot and cold options. You could vary your own breakfast very easy as we have so many options - if you have the same for 6 mornings, you can only blame yourself. I looked at all the emails we exchanged. You did NOT ask me about "any special plans" for New Years. You checked in on the 27th, I am at the lodge every day and the office is open from 7am to 7pm. Surely you could have asked us between the 27th and the 31st? All the other guests managed to ask us. I am really sorry that you are "not impressed" and did not enjoy your stay. It is a pity that you could not speak up in 6 days that you stayed with us. These 3 issues you complain about could have been solved immediately if you only raised it with us. We are good, in fact we are very good, but we can not read minds. Not yet.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oregonwildlife wrote a review Jul 2021
Camas, Washington9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lodge is wonderful with lots of wood and a homey feel. The rooms are large and comfortable with very nice decks where you can sit and listen to the birds. They have 3 swimming pools but there are so many things to do we didn't use them. Be sure and take the crocodile and hippo boat tour organized through the lodge and also drive through the park nearby and you will see lots of animals. We also went to Hluhluwe/Imfolozi National Park and it takes a full day to see all the animals. Stay here and you can do it all. The breakfast was fantastic as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda De Gaspary, Owner at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Responded 04 Jul 2021
Dear Nancy, Thank you for the lovely review! It is heartwarming to receive so many compliments in one review. I am thrilled that you had such a great experience in our lovely little town and at Ndiza. We aim to please. Warm regards until you visit again, Amanda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilmar B wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed over Christmas for a week at Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas, and we can only recommend this place - the deck where you can have breakfast or get a drink in the afternoon features a perfect view over the estuary, the staff is doing a wonderful job with a smile and made us feel at home. Breakfast was made to order from a wish-list everyday, there are two pools, load shedding is compensated with a generator. Laundry is done fast and very good, you can get your car washed….
Bottom line: we were very happy with our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda De Gaspary, Owner at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Responded 05 Jan 2023
Dear Hilmar, Thank you for the lovely review! You were such pleasant guests, always smiling. It was my priviledge and honour hosting you. I hope to see you again in the near future. Warm regards Amanda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TirazDhanaraju wrote a review Apr 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful stay at Ndiza. Would have been nice to meet and greet Amanda. Braai area or built in braai required more lighting, but location, deck views, breakfast, and cleanliness excellent. The staff were very accommodating and were exceptional
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tingasiki wrote a review Mar 2020
Windhoek, Namibia176 contributions121 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent three nights in St Lucia in February 2020 at the Ndiza Lodge. Our room was spacious and immaculate with very comfortable beds and a powerful A/C. There was a small fridge and a good tea/coffee station. The room was a bit dark and we would have preferred a proper door to the bathroom rather than a folding contraption which offered insufficient privacy. However, the bathroom is spacious with a good shower. The room leads out to a lovely communal veranda but due to some repair work sadly we could not make use of it. There is however a lovely upstairs veranda with a view which made up for it. The lodge has two pools.
Staff were very friendly and well organised. We enjoyed all the tours they recommended.
Good breakfast, safe parking and good location. Would definitely return again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ndiza, Owner at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Thank you for the lovely review! My apologies for the repairwork - it was supposed to be a quick job of 3 hours, but it took 2 days. I am so sorry. I hope to see you again sometime in the future. Warm regards Amanda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katie26 asked a question Apr 2019
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2,591 contributions364 helpful votes
Can you walk easily into town for dinner as we don’t like to drive as want to enjoy loca wine?!
Answer from Bon B
Cole Bay, St Martin / St Maarten17 contributions5 helpful votes
An I wish I had stay a bit more in the area. Was there for 2 days.
Cindy L wrote a tip Apr 2024
Port Elizabeth, South Africa17 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The only frustration was the hot water in the shower comes and goes."
Read full review
HayleyT-Rex wrote a tip Dec 2023
Durban, South Africa103 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 4 had a deck balcony with loungers and chairs. I loved it. "
Read full review
Carryn E wrote a tip Nov 2023
Hillcrest, South Africa4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The earliest breakfast is 7h15 but they provide a packed meal if you need to leave earlier. "
Read full review
michelle l wrote a tip May 2023
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spend a couple of days to really get the most of the peaceful atmosphere."
Read full review
Jo_sharkaholic wrote a tip Apr 2023
Neukirchen, Germany36 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"awesome breakfast area with wonderful view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St Lucia area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,521 - R 1,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalSt Lucia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NDIZA LODGE & CABANAS - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (St Lucia, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Which popular attractions are close to Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas?
Nearby attractions include St Lucia Beach (1.0 km), Amala Massage & Gifts (0.4 km), and Cape Vidal Lighthouse (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Braza, Reef and Dune, and John Dory's St Lucia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas have airport transportation?
Yes, Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of St Lucia.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Veyane Cultural Village (4.8 km).
All St Lucia HotelsSt Lucia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St LuciaHotels near Ndiza Lodge & Cabanas
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire