Mount Sheba

Mount Sheba

561kt, Grootfonteinberg, Lydenburg Street, Pilgrim's Rest 1290 South Africa
Traveller (252)
Chambre
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Pilgrim's Rest
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
"Mount Sheba Nature Reserve is a beautiful and serene gem hidden in a natural rainforest near the historical town Pilgrim's Rest in Mpumalanga. Mount Sheba is home to the rare Samango Monkeys only found in rainforests. There are eleven accredited walking trails to choose from, some of which take you to magnificent waterfalls and breathtaking views. The Knysna Turaco and Purple-Crested Turaco peek at you around every corner in the rainforest. Breakaway to this precious gem where nature is untouched and where time stands still, where peace and quiet rules and where no one will be surprised if a fairy peeks around the corner." Well-appointed rooms, gourmet meals, and log fires give a magical feel to Mount Sheba.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Mini golf
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Billiards
Darts
Fishing
Table tennis
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

561kt, Grootfonteinberg, Lydenburg Street, Pilgrim's Rest 1290 South Africa
474Reviews8Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 251
  • 157
  • 41
  • 13
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
harthannelie wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We love the place. A place where you can relax away from everything else and enjoy the stunning nature. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I love that they have added ropes at the more difficult sections of the paths making it safer and easier to navigate the steep or difficult sections.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francois Rossouw wrote a review Nov 2022
Pretoria, South Africa27 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The first 7km gravel road is very rocky but if you travel slowly, it passes quickly. Sit back and enjoy the ride, it is part of your holiday! The last 3 km is nice near single lane tarred down in good condition, going steep down to resort. It is amazing how nature suddenly changes, like a new world unfolds. It looks out of place- like it belongs in a coastal area. Suddenly all is green and lush forest- 1950 above sea level! We found plenty giant Quteniqua Yellowwood trees at this level, could not believe my eyes.
The cottages alongside the rain forest makes for a beautiful setting. We were allocated C3 which was in centre of 2 other cottages. (Later on that…) At first the kitchen seemed very small, but the homes are well very equipped and furnished, with log fires (with glass doors- very little smoke) in the lounge and bedroom. Bathrooms are well modernized with wall heaters. All were well cleaned, even the windows. The window openers are shiny, cleaned with Brasso frequently, wow! The staff are very friendly and helpful, not the typical SA service!
I must mention the drinking water from taps is from heaven, must be the purest water we had in years. Even the ice made in freezer looks like pure crystal, zero sediment. It is better than reverse osmoses water!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tania Cilliers, General Manager at Mount Sheba
Responded 06 Feb 2023
Dear Francois Thank you very much for your excellent rating and detailed feedback which is much appreciated. Your feedback would have definitely convinced me to stay at Mount Sheba if I did not already know how beautiful and serene it is here. Warm Regards Tania
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
richardtrabe wrote a review Feb 2024
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After going to Mount Sheba for about 30 years, I still cannot get tired or enough of Mount Sheba.

There just isn't another place like Mount Sheba in the same way. The tranquility, the view, smell and atmosphere of the rain forest and surrounding areas are just absolutely unique to Mount Sheba.

At roughly R1200 per day for a 4 sleeper cottage, with the cottage being cleaned daily, it is exceptional value for your money too.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mount Sheba, General Manager at Mount Sheba
Responded 20 Feb 2024
Dear Richard Thank you for the excellent rating and special feedback. It makes us very happy to know that Mount Sheba is one of your favorite places to visit in South Africa. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Mount Sheba. Warm Regards Tania
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy C wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We received this as a gift through timeshare for 4 nights and 5 days.

The 10KM drive is scenic however be warned – an off road vehicle is definitely a better option for this trip or you will feel panicked about your trips in and out of the resort every time.
You do want to go out a few times to see the beauty that Mpumalanga has to offer – from Gods window to the caves which is definitely a great family experience.
Having said this, we did use our sedan car which was rather kind to us and did not deter us from going out for 2 days The last 3KM is tarred to the resort.
Brace yourself it is going to be a bumpy road!

The hikes look really good and they do offer an accompanied service should you be afraid to venture into the forest alone the though of monkeys and other animals does scare one. We stayed in the self-catering option and would definitely recommend the value for money breakfast available at the pool bar should you want to sleep in and catch a late breakfast without the burden of cooking.

Our Chalet was clean and well kept – here I have to mention the excellent service we received from Liza and her accommodating ways and great customer service. This is what makes a stay at any resort an experience to remember. She was fabulous – Thank you Liza.

The bathrooms of the Chalet definitely requires a revamp – they are clean but a remodelling can be done the eastern option does not work if it is cramped in right next to the shower.
The dishes and facilities of the kitchen can be cleaner despite the cleaning service a Deep Clean of every Chalet is definitely required.
We had enough supply of firewood should you require more you can purchase from reception.
Beautiful place and chalet I would definitely recommend the hotel option if a shorter stay – having stayed here more than 18 years ago.
3 star quality
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Hotel better Option
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mount Sheba, General Manager at Mount Sheba
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Judy Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad that Lizah made such a good impression. Kind Regards Tania
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meegan Roux wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Bitterly disappointed with Mount Sheba.

We arrived at 4pm today for 4 days. We checked their website yesterday before our departure to check if there are any Covid disruptions. No mention of the fact that all 3 of their restaurants are closed. As we sit now, we have no supplies and no restaurants to eat at. In addition we cannot get a drink anywhere - no cold drinks, beers, water or even coffee. Not even their own convenience store is open.

When we booked, there was also no mention of the disruptions. Arriving at 4pm - we won’t make it to the nearest shops (1 hour drive to Graskop) before they close. We also had no heads up from Mount Sheba - had we known we definitely would’ve bought supplies (or rather not booked as we did not want to cook as this is our first time away as our family in over a year.)

We are fully understanding of Covid and the strain it has put on various industries however Mount Sheba dropped the ball on their side.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trip373276 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a chalet through my timeshare for the weekend.
The drive on the dirt road up to the lodge was scenic and beautiful.
The hikes on the property are breathtaking but that's where the good news ends.
The food at the Chandelier Restaurant was horrendous. We paid R600 for dinner for 2 that wasn't even worth R100. My partner had the oxtail which was burnt and full of bones and 1 piece of meat. I had the chicken which was covered in a congealed mess of I don't even know what.....All of our courses were sent back half eaten and we weren't even questioned why. Wouldn't you ask if it wasn't good or if the customer was maybe not that hungry???
The pan in the chalet was filthy, full of grease and we had to clean it before using it.
The bath had not been cleaned after we used it the first night - you could feel the scum at the bottom of the bath when you sat down.
We had to ask for toilet paper.
They are so stingy with their wood for the fireplace. You can maybe have a fire going for an hour or 2 and then the wood runs out and you have to purchase additional bundles for R25 and they will only supply wood for 1 fireplace, not both.
It really is a beautiful place but I was bitterly disappointed and I doubt that I will be back which is a real shame.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mount Sheba, General Manager at Mount Sheba
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Trip373276 Thank you for your feedback. Please note that Mount Sheba is under new management and we will make sure that we give attention to all your complaints and we will definitely give attention to all. Kind Regards Tania
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tishkenny wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 days at Mount Sheba and that definitely wasn't long enough. Staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Suppers in the main dinigroom were excellent and were served in a lovely environment with blazing log fires. We I did a few of the hikes and walking through the calm tranquility of a rainforest really restores the soul. Will definitely go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mount Sheba, General Manager at Mount Sheba
Responded 06 Aug 2023
Dear Tish Thank you so much for the excellent rating and lovely feedback. We really appreciate it and are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward in welcoming you back. Warm Regards Tania
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eric wrote a review Jul 2023
Pretoria, South Africa4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a splendid experience to stay in the mountains with a natural forest, streams and waterfalls around us.

We received a warm welcome from a courteous receptionist, who gave us useful information and tips about the area.

The staff were always kind and attentive. This was evident from reception to house keeping and all other staff.

Both restaurants offered delicious meals prepared and served by experts.

The hiking trails in the rainforest with the waterfalls and streams were unforgettable.

The self-catering cottage was of excellent quality and well equipped with a battery backup inverter system, gas stove, gas braai, 2 indoor fireplaces, DSTV and Wi-Fi. All this was surrounded by lush vegetation in such a way that we felt secluded and peaceful.

We thank you all for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mount Sheba, General Manager at Mount Sheba
Responded 09 Jul 2023
Dear Eric Thank you so much for this wonderful rating, detailed and excellent feedback. It is appreciated by me and all of the staff. Warm Regards Tania
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ivan L wrote a review Dec 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa88 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel in the rainforest is a unique experience in South Africa. The staff are very friendly. The rooms are well furnished and the fireplace gives that extra comfortable touch. One night is not enough. Excellent value for money. For trout fishing ask for the keys to the dam at reception.

Dinner was a delicious buffet with oxtail and/or chicken for mains. The best soup ever. Our waitress was well versed in wine selections and serving it.

The resort is surrouned by easy to tough hiking trails with amazing scenery, pools and waterfalls in the river.

We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Keys to the trout dam is at reception. Large map of the trails is behind reception. Make sure to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mount Sheba, General Manager at Mount Sheba
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Ivan Thank you very much for your positive feedback which is much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Tania
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Voyager30906283428 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nestled amidst the serene embrace of nature, Mount Shiba Resort is a true gem waiting to be discovered. From the moment you arrive, you are enveloped in a sense of tranquillity that instantly washes away the stresses of everyday life. However, it's not just the resort's luxurious amenities and impeccable service that make it stand out; it's the hidden treasure that lies just beyond its borders - the breathtakingly hiking trails of Mount Shiba.

One of the most enchanting aspects of Mount Shiba Resort is its proximity to a network of hiking trails that wind their way through the majestic mountainside. While the resort itself boasts of its luxurious accommodations and world-class facilities, it's the allure of these hidden pathways that truly sets it apart. However, it's unfortunate that these trails often go unmentioned in brochures and advertisements, leaving visitors unaware of the adventure that awaits just steps away.

Each trail on Mount Shiba offers a unique experience, catering to hikers of all skill levels. From leisurely strolls through lush forests to challenging ascents that test even the most seasoned adventurers, there is something for everyone to enjoy. However, it's crucial that visitors are equipped with the necessary information to make the most of their hiking experience.

Imagine flipping through the resort's brochure and stumbling upon detailed information sheets for each trail. These sheets would outline the grade of difficulty, potential slippery factors, recommended footwear, notable landmarks along the way, and clear directions to prevent any undue stress or confusion. For those who may find themselves overwhelmed by the prospect of getting lost, these guides would serve as invaluable companions, ensuring a safe and enjoyable journey through the mountains.

Furthermore, the addition of benches at strategic viewpoints along the trails would provide weary hikers with the perfect opportunity to rest and recharge while taking in the awe-inspiring vistas that surround them. After all, what better way to appreciate the beauty of Mount Shiba than by pausing to admire it from a comfortable vantage point?

As for the resort itself, it more than lives up to expectations. With its luxurious accommodations, attentive staff, and a plethora of amenities to indulge in, Mount Shiba Resort truly offers a haven for relaxation and rejuvenation. However, it's the untapped potential of its surrounding hiking trails that elevates it from a mere destination to a truly unforgettable experience.

In conclusion, Mount Shiba Resort is a hidden paradise just waiting to be explored. By shining a spotlight on the enchanting hiking trails that lie just beyond its borders, the resort has the opportunity to attract a whole new audience of adventure seekers while providing its guests with an experience that goes beyond the ordinary. With a little bit of information and guidance, these trails have the potential to become the crown jewel of Mount Shiba Resort, further cementing its status as a destination worth visiting time and time again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mount Sheba, General Manager at Mount Sheba
Responded 01 Apr 2024
Thank you very much for the good rating and beautiful and detailed description of Mount Sheba. Warm Regards Tania
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Peter
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia238 contributions96 helpful votes
Property Reception: +27 (0)13-768 1241 Property Reservations: +27 (0)13-768 1241
Annekie H asked a question Jul 2018
5 contributions
Why is there a American flag at the entrance?
Answer from Koos S
Hartbeespoort, South Africa99 contributions24 helpful votes
The owners of the lodge is an American company Forever Living Products
Vivek S asked a question Feb 2018
Kempton Park, South Africa
Dr Dr d qb
Answer from Leona O
Pilgrim's Rest, South Africa62 contributions23 helpful votes
I agree!
Vivek S asked a question Feb 2018
Kempton Park, South Africa
Dr Dr d qb
Answer from TOKSouthAfrica
Johannesburg, South Africa22 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi sorry I cannot help
JandaMac wrote a tip Feb 2024
Cape Town, South Africa22 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hikes are spectacular- don’t miss them and make sure you go to the lookout- incredible. Take your bird books!"
Read full review
Rachel Humphries wrote a tip Jun 2023
Hoedspruit, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A bad 7km gravel road is the only downside, but once you arrive... you forget all about it!"
Read full review
John wrote a tip Dec 2022
Middelburg, South Africa5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own drinks for the room's bar fridge as bar times are limited. You can buy ice from reception. "
Read full review
Francois wrote a tip Sept 2022
Madrid, Spain2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"the one bedroom chalets are superb"
Read full review
Ivan L wrote a tip Dec 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa88 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keys to the trout dam is at reception. Large map of the trails is behind reception. Make sure to check trail distance and level beforehand."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pilgrim's Rest area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,523 - R 1,945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaPilgrim's Rest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNT SHEBA - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Pilgrim's Rest, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mount Sheba
Which popular attractions are close to Mount Sheba?
Nearby attractions include Alanglade House Museum (7.7 km), Ponieskrantz (5.8 km), and Pilgrims Rest (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mount Sheba?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mount Sheba?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Mount Sheba?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Mount Sheba?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mount Sheba?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pilgrims Pantry, THE VINE RESTAURANT, and Scott’s Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mount Sheba?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mount Sheba offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mount Sheba?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Does Mount Sheba have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire