We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (319)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (20)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good45%
  • Average22%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Pool
Suites
Fitness centre
Concierge
Laundry Service
2 Star Hotel
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Main Road, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa
63,8 km to Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
57
82
32
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
57
82
32
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspilgrims restthe kitchen staffhistorical towngold miningbuffet lunchstep back in timegold rushold worldold stylesmall townmain buildingquaint hotelhotel barupper townblyde river canyonbeefkruger national park
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 205 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Awesome place. First time in Pelgrims and will definitely be back. Town and area was clean and the Royal Hotel had friendly service. The restaurant had good food and singing by the kitchen staff which ended of the night well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wfburg
Reviewed 2 days ago

lovely stay in Pilgrims Rest on our way to Kruger N.P. - rooms are beautiful and clean and reminds of the old times, staffs are friendly and helpful, good breakfast - perfect for stopover between Johannesburg and Kruger N.P.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joergb538
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely family weekend. The winter rates very accessible, the rooms were very comfortable and warm, and the service very friendly. And the town is beautiful! (The bar is great, but closes early... which is not really something one should be complaining)More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 827isa
Response from Lella S, Manager at The Royal HotelResponded 1 week ago

Good Day 827isa Thanks very much for your positive review. Our team is highly encouraged by your compliments. Unfortunately (or fortunately) our liquor licence regulates our opening and closing times for the bar. We sincerely hope you will bring your family to visit us again....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This town is a must go for everyone that visits this area of the country. The 40miles detour for the ones visiting Kruger and traveling to Johannesburg, it's we'll worth. The hotel itself is nice and you get what you're paying. Minor notes: - employees...More

Thank Domingos B
Response from Lella S, Manager at The Royal HotelResponded 1 week ago

Good Day Domingos Thank you for your review, I take your comments very seriously. Please email me directly and privately on royal@rhpilgrims.co.za with as many details as possible so that I can look into this as a matter of priority. We are currently running a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When booking our trip we were quite worried that we won't have a good experience after hearing quite a lot of negative reviews about Pilgrims Rest and the Hotel. We were surprised. The accommodation was lovely and seemed to have been renovated recently. We stayed...More

Thank Diana B
Response from Lella S, Manager at The Royal HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Diana Thank you very much for your review. We are encouraged by your compliments, and will certainly look into the service issue in the dining room during your stay. Thanks once again for giving Pilgrim's Rest a try despite having heard negative comments about...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$74 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$74 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (319)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (20)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jaco H
4 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lella S | Property representative |
Good Afternoon A huge apology for the long time you waited for this reply. For some reason it was skipped. Buffet breakfast is served every day from 07h00. Kind Regards
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Family Cottage"
Read review
"Perhaps main hotel may be better than one of the many annex buidlings - not sure!"
Read review
"There are annex rooms and rooms in the hotel, don't know which is best, but perhaps you want to specify..."
Read review
"If you can get the cottage RC1 -- go for it!!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing