We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (333)
Room & Suite (106)
Dining (20)
Overview
Main Road, Pilgrim's Rest 1290 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
2.5 Star accommodation
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
59
84
33
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
59
84
33
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspilgrims restgold rushbuffet lunchold worldhotel barupper townstep back in timepast experienceold stylefantastic servicelast centurysmall cottagehistoric hotellovely little hotelbeefkruger national parkblyde river canyon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The Royal Hotel’s Bar is worthwhile a visit. It was a church in the hay days of Pelgrim’s Rest but was converted to a pub many years ago. It has the look and feel of an old time pub. Worthwhile to pause here and have...More

Thank Kobus M
Response from Lella S, Manager at The Royal HotelResponded 2 days ago

Hi Kobus Thanks for your review, we love the Church Bar, steeped in History. Spend a night with us next time, we offer great value with the authentic Pilgrim's Experience. Kind Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good bits were great, a brilliantly quirky historic property that was authentically maintained. We had been told that the restaurant was a real period food treat. It wasn't! Only one choice, dried up buffet food, poor quality, poor service, it really spoilt an otherwise...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jjames613325
Response from Lella S, Manager at The Royal HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Day jjames613325 We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our buffet, which offers a large choice and as you may notice form other reviews we are often complimented on this. Please be so kind as to email me at royal@rhpilgrims.co.za...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018

We were delighted when shown to The Royal Annex where we stayed for 1 night at the end of our trip along the Panorama Route, and wished we could have stayed for at least 1 more. The cottage was clean, warm and cosy, and well...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angierett
Response from Lella S, Manager at The Royal HotelResponded 6 August 2018

Hi Angierett Thanks so much for your positive review. Our team is encouraged when our customers are happy. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the Royal and the Pilgrim's experience. Please feel welcome back again soon! Warm Regards

Reviewed 2 August 2018

Staying for four nights at the Royal Hotel Pilgrim's Rest was like spending time in the early 1900s. The experience was amazing as the room resembles a museum. There is no TV and very little access with technology with non-existent signals but it is the...More

Thank Valene G
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Wonderful. The hotel is being maintained in excellent condition. Friendly welcome and staff all over. One thing that I may mention is the floor in front of the bath (painted green) is very slippery. Nearly had a big fall when I got out of the...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LeondeVries
Response from Lella S, Manager at The Royal HotelResponded 20 July 2018

Good Day Leon Thank you for your positive review, our team is trying hard to look after this "old Lady"! I will certainly look for an addition to the bath mat to make the floor in the bathrooms that are painted less slippery. As we...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Beachfront
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
50
Price range
US$45 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Royal Hotel Pilgrims Rest
Location
South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
50
Price range
US$45 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Royal Hotel Pilgrims Rest
Location
South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Photos
Traveller (333)
Room & Suite (106)
Dining (20)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
222 reviews
5.59 km away
Graskop Hotel
676 reviews
8.83 km away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
81 reviews
20.45 km away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
87 reviews
23.75 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5 restaurants in Pilgrim's Rest
Pilgrims Pantry
100 reviews
.96 km away
Abe' at The Glass House
533 reviews
8.97 km away
THE VINE RESTAURANT
82 reviews
1.15 km away
Divine Foods at The View
76 reviews
9.40 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 attractions in Pilgrim's Rest
Lone Creek Falls
231 reviews
22.09 km away
Alanglade House Museum
20 reviews
2.92 km away
Panorama Route
915 reviews
13.76 km away
Ponieskrantz
7 reviews
.94 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JacoH91
4 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lella S | Property representative |
Good Afternoon A huge apology for the long time you waited for this reply. For some reason it was skipped. Buffet breakfast is served every day from 07h00. Kind Regards
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Family Cottage"
Read review
"Perhaps main hotel may be better than one of the many annex buidlings - not sure!"
Read review
"There are annex rooms and rooms in the hotel, don't know which is best, but perhaps you want to specify..."
Read review
"If you can get the cottage RC1 -- go for it!!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing