We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R539 Old Sabie Road Schagen, Nelspruit 1207 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/12
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 87 Speciality lodging in Nelspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated in a province known for astonishing views, breath-taking natural scenery and interesting attractions Sudwala Lodge caries these characteristics in itself. The relaxed atmosphere and warm hospitality has made this three star lodge the perfect escape for many holiday goers and promises to be a getaway you and your loved ones will enjoy immensely. Sudwala Lodge is a gateway to the famous Panorama Route with many well-known tourist attractions such as the Sudwala Caves, God's Window, the Blyde River Canyon, Bourke's Luck Potholes and the Kruger National Park close by. Along the banks of the river, you will find the recently renovated 3 star Sudwala hotel. The comfortable air-conditioned rooms are stylish, clean, have DSTV, an en-suite bathroom and overlooks the shimmering swimming pool. Self-catering luxury chalets are also on offer - each elegantly decorated and fully equipped with selected DSTV channels and private braai facility. The Sudwala Lodge refurbishment is well on its way to completion and we are confident that our guests will be as impressed with all the upgrades as we are.Sudwala Lodge has a three star grading form the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.RCI has awarded Sudwala Lodge Silver Crown status. Sudwala Lodge is a VRS managed resort.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Secured parking
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Game room
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Tennis court
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
332Reviews6Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 169
  • 114
  • 32
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
elmariekoning wrote a review 13 Jun
1 contribution
Excellent service received from all - friendly receiption staff, excellent and helpfull kiosk staff. Housekeeping excellent. Grounds in excellent condition. Childrens play area in excellent and clean condition.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Sudwala Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Hi elmariekoning. Wow - thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Sudwala Lodge! Thank you for your compliments regarding the Team's hospitality; our dedicated Team works hard to ensure our guests receive the best possible service and it is lovely to know that we are delivering on those intentions. We are pleased to hear that you had such an amazing time at the Lodge. We look forward to your return! Kind Regards - The Sudwala Lodge Team
Read more
Departure08160029560 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
The units are really small and the sleeping and bathroom facilities are inadequate. Aircon/heater is ineffective. Bathroom tiny and difficult to move around in. Very cold units. Sound from neighbours was very loud through the walls. No restaurant operating at present which is a problem considering the remoteness of the resort. Grounds neat and tidy. Pools in good condition.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Sudwala Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Departure08160029560. Thank you for your review. Sudwala Lodge strives to create a home-away-from-home experience and we take to heart all comments on how we can improve on our guests’ overall experience. Please be assured that your feedback regarding your booking and experience at the Lodge has been noted and passed on to the relevant parties; management has informed us that they will look into it. Please contact management on resortmanager@sudwalalodge.com in order for them to fully investigate the points brought forward in your review. Thank you. Kind Regards – The Sudwala Lodge Team.
Read more
dingo37 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Overall a great stay. staff and accomodation all great. Noisy over the weekend as nearby taverns compete to make noise which reflects off the cliffs which is terrible. However this is beyond the control of the Lodge.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Sudwala Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Hi dingo37 Thank you for the 4/5 review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that you had a comfortable stay in our Chalets. We take to heart all comments and appreciate every opportunity we receive to consider additional ways in which we can ensure our valued guests have the best possible experience. Please be assured that your feedback on the noise from nearby Taverns has been noted and passed on to the relevant parties for their consideration. We hope you will visit us again! Warm Regards – The Sudwala Lodge Team.
Read more
907heidi wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
No Tips. Overall we have had a great time staying at the lodge. Very nice activities for the kids and lots of other activities and other things to do outside from the Lodge. Great experience and had a wonderful week. Take away food was great especially your Breakfast Burger and Pizza's
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Sudwala Lodge
Responded 18 May 2021
Hi 907heidi. Thank you for the 5/5 review and the compliments about our facilities. We are so pleased to hear that you found Sudwala Lodge an amazing place and that you made use of the strategic location, which is near many bucket list items. We hope you will visit us soon again! Warm Regards – The Sudwala Lodge Team.
Read more
Khaogelo M wrote a review Mar 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
Place was great, lovely and neat. Rooms were spacious and well maintained. Was not crazy about the bathrooms though, very outdated. Grounds clean and pools inviting. The river looked great and was soothing to hear. Monkeys not too much of a problem.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Sudwala Lodge
Responded 23 Apr 2021
Hi Khaogelo M. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sudwala Lodge with us. Thank you for your compliments on our Chalets and grounds. We are delighted that you had such a fabulous holiday at Sudwala Lodge. Your feedback regarding the bathroom has been noted and passed on to the relevant people for their consideration. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon! Warm Regards – The Sudwala Lodge Team.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$53 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaNelspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sudwala Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Sudwala Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Forest Falls Nature Walk (1.0 km), Sabie Waterfalls (0.6 km), and Forest Industry Museum (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sudwala Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sudwala Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sudwala Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Sudwala Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sudwala Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wild Fig Tree, Sabie Brewing Company, and The African Elephant Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sudwala Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sudwala Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Is Sudwala Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.