Mercure Nelspruit

Mercure Nelspruit

Cnr N4 & Graniet Street PO Box 1556, Mbombela 1200 South Africa
Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#12 of 23 hotels in Mbombela
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The 3-Star Mercure Hotel Nelspruit offers excellent Lowveld hospitality to mid-range, long- and short-stay guests. It is the ideal home-base for corporate and leisure travel in and around the Lowveld, including the nearby Kruger National Park and Sudwala Caves. It is adjacent to the new Ilanga Mall. Apartment-style suites offer guests self-catering, room service or dine-in restaurant options. Enjoy cocktails at the pool while you take advantage of the free Wi-Fi and the excellent weather.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Cnr N4 & Graniet Street PO Box 1556, Mbombela 1200 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 62 out of 100
62
Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport
16.8 km
See all flights
334Reviews3Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 128
  • 90
  • 40
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Katshie S wrote a review Oct 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If travelling as a family of 3 and above, self-catering hotel apartments at Mecure hotel are a good value in the area.

Although we booked a 2x 4 sleeper units (2 bedrooms), there was not enough crockery for the booked guests in both units. This was however not an issue for us as we travel with our own crockery and cuttlery.

A street across Ilanga shopping Mall. Unit 600 is adjuscent the mall delivery dock so the noise from the delivery trucks early hours (from 05:00am) of the morning can be a nuisance.

Room cleanliness is okay but can be better. The couches had a stinch, the dining chairs had visible stains that require attention. The linen was clean.

Overall, okay but with room for improvement in terms of maintaining hygiene.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daryn L wrote a review Jan 2014
Pretoria, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Can highly recommend this hotel for the family stopover. We were heading to Mozambique and this was the second time we have stayed over here. They have a great pool area to cool off, friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. Being right across the road from a shopping mall everything you need is a quick walk away. Well priced and quality!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Grab a downstairs room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rebecca wrote a review Oct 2019
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 2 room suite and stayed for 2 nights on route from the Kruger to Jo Burg.
Noticed a few reviews say there is no BBQ facilities, there is, it is are round the back of the pool area.
The suite was spacious, we did have ants in the kitchen area but nothing too serious. The rooms were clean and comfortable, if a little dated. Air conditioned and safe were in the suite.
Staff were friendly and welcoming, Elvis behind the bar is the man for cocktails! Pleasant sunbathing and pool area with a pool table and table tennis. Location wise it is next to a mall so for shopping of any kind, including food, it is ideal. Many good resturants a short walk from the hotel in the mall. It did get a little noisy at night with cars, but to be expected as it is next to the shopping mall and within an industrial area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karien L, Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 10 Nov 2019
Dear Bexandco We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Nelspruit Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, especially Elvis. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaxana wrote a review Jul 2022
Maputo, Mozambique
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I consider myself one of the oldest customers of the Mercure Hotel since many years, when the city of nelspruit was being built and one of the reasons was for the location and for being one of the most affordable and well-regarded hotels at the time. Unfortunately, I write as a constructive criticism that I don't have the same opinion, first because of the fact that it remains stagnant in time (cleanliness of the place, decoration , wifi service and quality of service) and mainly because of what happened in my last stay. Less than a month that did, during the stay for a few days it was paid in full ( 4 days), for other reasons we had to leave early on 2nd day . we had been told on the instructions of the hotel manager that the refund would be made by bank and only after 2 weeks at our insistence by email it was replied that it would not be possible.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lyne MEUNIER wrote a review Mar 2021
Richards Bay, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was so bad, we were in shock.

From the bedroom - how can you call this a Junior suite? Stains in the bathroom, cigarette burns on the rug, air conditioning not working well !

Then the restaurant ?? What a disaster !!!
They offer a 'a la carte menu' and then tell you that only 3-4 plates are available !
They offer a wine list, and then only 2 bottles are available !

It seems like this place should have been closed down long long time ago !
What a deception.

We chose Mercure because we thought this would be a very nice stop after a 6+ hours car drive before going to Kruger Park.

We will never again choose Mercure without reading the comments first.

900 ++ rands for this ? Please. This establishment doesn't even deserve a star.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nisha MacDougall, General Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear lyne75m Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nelspruit Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have addressed your valued points to the various staff members in order to prevent re-occurrence. Please be advised that we have recently employed new Food and Beverage Manager that has vast experience and will turn around the department. Sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thabo wrote a review Oct 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you looking for a peaceful weekend get away this place is not the place. My fiancee booked for us a weekend get away for my birthday at Mercure. It's Friday night 23:47pm 14/10/2022 as I m writing this review, and we trying to sleep and there is people outside taking loud, room next door, car hooting and revving, and we have already phoned reception twice and the noise continues. What is annoying is that when we checked-in we did explain to the reception that we don't need noise, we just want to relax, but they still checked in next to us people who are busy making up and down the stairs during the night, talking and laughing. They have other room that are not occupied for the weekend, they should have at least respected our request.
0:10am
Now it's midnight I have already phoned reception more than 5 times and now they say that they gonna move us to another room, midnight. What a ruin birthday. Is like we didn't pay for this night, the way we have been treated.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sightseer55764554347 wrote a review Apr 2023
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Mercure Nelspruit from 7-8 April 2023 and we got no sleep! The following upset us:
1. Receptionist could not find our booking that was done through Bookings.com.
2. We got a room at the top and the bath was filthy and full of stains,the side of the hanging towels had dirt marks so we went back to reception and politely asked for another room.
3. The new room was now on the ground floor and it had a dirty toilet with black things on the inside, the mini fridge was broken with cracks and paint falling apart.
4. The light in the room is filled with dirt and dead bugs the sofa is old and colorless, the pillows and throws are ancient, probably never replaced since purchase.
5. There were people in the upper room loud, playing music, banging the varanda door, arguing and fighting, I tell you we felt so unsafe, I did not get any sleep.
6. People stay in the pool for as long as they like untill late night, there's just no control.
7. The shower is filthy in appearance, the door doesn't is old, broken and rusted.
8. The main door into the room had a broken handle on the inside, no lock to keep my family safe and the bed bottom was dirty and the pillows dusty.
8. No face cloths provided.

I honestly don't know how this facility can be graded 3 stars by the tourism grading council because they need to go and remove those stars from this facility. The place is falling apart and what you see on the site is not what it looks like in reality, the pictures posted are old and they don't show the new reality of the hotel, right at the reception the painting of the building is falling apart and the situation is the throughout the facilities.

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times, if I ever thought of going to Nelspruit Mercure was always my first choice, but I am surprised by the bad service I and my family got, I never thought that the quality of the service would degrade this much it is unbelievable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pierre Meintjes, General Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 10 May 2023
Dear Sightseer55764554347, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nelspruit. I am so sorry for us not living up to your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future as we are working hard to improve our property. Sincerely, Pierre Meintjes General Manager Mercure Nelspruit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth C wrote a review Mar 2020
Ashford, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The main front house areas of hotel were maintained to a good standard. However the room we stayed in was extremely dated, unkept and dingy. The kitchen area was poorly equiped with only one glass, no cutlery or utensils or plates. Although it had a microwave and fridge.
The bed was comfortable and our room cleaned daily.
We stayed in a diabled room, the bathroom was a death trap when the floor was wet from showering as it was of a wet room design. Definitely not non slip.
We had an abandoned car with flat tyres parked outside our room.
The area was noisy and i felt unsafe. Definately wouldnt recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: stay clear of disabled room a death trap.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karien Linde, Other at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 25 Mar 2020
Dear lifelongdreams I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Upon on your next reservation, we will ensure that we do not allocate paraplegic room. If you enquired at the desk about the car, we would have informed you about the owner but we cannot disclose anything on public forum. We are aware of the car. We have security available 24 hours at the hotel and the patrol the hotel hourly basis. We have controlled access entering and leaving the hotel. Sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lad123 wrote a review Jun 2021
Rustenburg, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here a few years ago and gave it a rave review so I went out of my way to stay here again without checking the reviews. Well it is 0400 and I have not slept at all, They put me in a room above the pool filter and it is like being in a washing machine with the gurgleing, hissing, thumping and churning right under my head. Early on, I did ask reception to turn it off but they say that the maintenance guy had gone home. The wifi code doesn't work, I cant get the TV to switch on the bedside lights have no switches, the bath is stained, the carpets are burned so all I can do is stare up at the sagging ceiling. All this for a rack rate of over R1,000 per night. Shocking! I should have slept in my car,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I was in room 203. Avoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nisha MacDougall, General Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 23 Jun 2021
Dear lad123 I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Can you please email me with your reservations details so I can investigate your complaints? My email address is H2918-GM@accor.com. Sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannes C wrote a review Aug 2022
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
1. There is no electric socket next to the bed.
2. The blinds in the kitchen were broken.
3. There is a very old air con but no remote. That means no air con.
4. There is no telephone in the room.
5. The telephone number on the official website for mercure nelspruit is not answered.
6. The room had a bad smell, like old urine.
7. There were no face towels.
8. My room key had to be recoded at reception.
9. There were curtain hooks gone, I couldn't really close the curtains properly.
10. The carpet was filthy with a big burn mark.
11. There's broken tiles on the steps to the room.
12. The shower door was dirty and the floor slippery.
13. There is no floor towel when you exit the shower.
I travel a lot, this is close to the worst hotel room I've been to in the last 20 years.

On the plus point, the staff was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pierre Meintjes, General Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Dear Hannes C, Thank you for taking the time to tell us, in detail, about your experience at the Mercure Nelspruit. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am personally going to look into every single issue that you have brought up as we are currently busy with a refurbishing program. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samarlon asked a question Jan 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa81 contributions19 helpful votes
Good day Is there braai(BBQ) facilities on site? Thanks
Answer from Pedro C
Odivelas, Portugal77 contributions48 helpful votes
No. There is not.
adrianilla13 asked a question Oct 2016
2 contributions
Tienen traslado desde el terminal de buses al hotel?
lad123 wrote a tip Jun 2021
Rustenburg, South Africa66 contributions56 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was in room 203. Avoid"
Read full review
Lyne MEUNIER wrote a tip Mar 2021
Richards Bay, South Africa13 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere"
Read full review
Elizabeth C wrote a tip Mar 2020
Ashford, United Kingdom37 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"stay clear of disabled room a death trap."
Read full review
travelmop_10 wrote a tip Dec 2019
Denver, Colorado116 contributions95 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask if any rooms have been upgraded"
Read full review
BvdW wrote a tip Oct 2018
Pretoria, South Africa6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The layout is similar to a motel and the layout of the rooms are like a bachelor flat."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mbombela area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,149 - R 1,418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure nelspruit hotel nelspruit, nelspruit hotel
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaMbombela
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE NELSPRUIT - Now R 1 189 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶4̶6̶4̶) - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Mbombela, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Nelspruit
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Nelspruit?
Nearby attractions include i'langa Mall (0.2 km) and The Fun Company I'langa Mall (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Nelspruit?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Nelspruit?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Nelspruit?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Nelspruit?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Nelspruit?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mediterranean, Mugg & Bean, and RocoMamas I'Langa Mall.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Nelspruit?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mercure Nelspruit have airport transportation?
Yes, Mercure Nelspruit offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mercure Nelspruit offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Nelspruit?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Mercure Nelspruit accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Mbombela HotelsMbombela Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MbombelaHotels near Mercure Nelspruit
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire