We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R536 Sabie Road Road To Sabie, Hazyview 1242 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (144)
Pool & Beach (22)
Room & Suite (19)

About

#10 of 54 Specialty lodging in Hazyview
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Gecko Lodge is situated 3 Km from Hazyview in Mpumalanga, South Africa, on a 35ha Farm with Sabie River Frontage. It is the ideal base from which to explore the Kruger National Park (12km from Phabeni Gate) and the Lowveld Panorama Route including Blyde River Canyon (89km), God's Window (50km) and Pilgrim's Rest (54km) This family run and managed lodge has its emphasis on tranquillity, comfort, quality service and good food. Gecko Lodge offers the guest an escape from modern urban living. The managers are Gideon Barnard Jnr and Tammy Nel who look after the Lodge and the Guests on a day to day basis. Anja (German) and Gideon Barnard (South African) the owners at Gecko Lodge, offer personal attention and service with a smile in short, "Value for money" With its comfortable rooms and restaurant , Gecko Lodge is suitable for those seeking a romantic getaway, a base for numerous activities from mild to extreme or even for a relaxing family holiday at affordable rates.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Secured parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
306Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 148
  • 101
  • 34
  • 16
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mantoa R wrote a review 07 Aug
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Good day What a bad treatment we got at Gecko Lodge, not sure why we got that kind of the treatment or maybe because we black people or what.I've booked the place via bookings.com 2 to 3 ago months and paid infull, trying to avoid any dispointments.we were running late for checking in time,so I phoned the Gecko Lodge & informed them that we running, but we coming from Johannesburg,to my surprise when we arrived at the lodge, The ower told us sorry,his drunk&his from the rugby match,& our room is been booked because the people from Rugby match have booked the place &it's full booked,so it simply means at the Lodge they don't use 1st come 1st serve.They just want to make easy cash, because it was at night &we had no other place to go to. They gave us a ice cold back room, with no tiles &no hotel/logde basics,we had to check out the following morning so that we could go book at a better place . to receive a better customer service, lucky enough they refunded me the money,but still waiting for in to reflect in my account. Regards Mantoa
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anja Barnard, Owner at Gecko Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Montao, Thank you for taking the Time for writing the review! We have apologized many times and you have accepted our apology! We have explained to you that we had a plumbing problem with the Room you were booked in and there was nothing we can do in the Night! It had nothing to do with you, it has nothing to do with guests going to the Rugby....we had a problem and unfortunately it was your room, we had the problem! We have paid you a Full Refund and We have apologized, nothing more we can do, as we are also just human beings , and things go wrong without our control , it is not what we are standing for and we really felt terrible. I wish we would have met under different Circumstances. Please accept our apology Kind regards Anja Barnard
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aletiagrundling wrote a review Jul 2022
Paarl, South Africa1 contribution
an unforgettable experience with breakfast and top chef dinners at the fire place, very friendly and experienced staff, safety of us as visitors is first priority, personal service, daily cleaned rooms, amazing atmosphere where you are in contact with the special sounds of the woods during the night, excellent setting in the most beautiful Hazyview valley. Our go to place in the Lowveld!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
impressivecolours wrote a review Apr 2022
Alberton, South Africa1 contribution
Great hospitality and friendly helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms despite load shedding throughout our stay, but at least we always had hot water and were able to still have a hot bath after a long work day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vernon J wrote a review Apr 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
Booking agencies gave different prices.to different parties for same facilities. Comparing invoices (group of friends) some double the direct facility cost - so value for money very dependent on the price you received. Access road road bad. Slippery but OK in daylight but no go for bikes on wet muddy night. Fortunately we had a car as backup to go out for supper. (facility was offering braai and we felt like something different - al a carte menu offered as alternative but seems it was going to become problematic - manager had to ask chef is this and that would be available etc.) Check in a bit chaotic. No towels in rooms. These were brought later. Staff did not replenish tea coffee milk toilet paper and shampoo after previous guests. Seems that they forgot. Staff forgot to switch on geyers so hot water ran out. Cold morning showers. Room fan only had full speed and was far to noisy to sleep with it on. Room comfortable otherwise. Staff friendly. buildings needs maintenance but nice setting. Breakfast was excellent. Expected more professional service for price. however. Under new management so has potential. Will look for other alternatives before returning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
astein384534 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
A lovely 2 night stay. Beautiful location with good food and great staff. Prisca a great Manageress, we wish her all the best with the new ideas for the lodge. A stunning pool area and alfresco area for evening dining especially.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tlhabane123 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Good stay would recommend it for singles, couples and groups. Manager and owner make you feel at home. Staff is friendly and always willing to assist wherever you need anything. Almost spent the whole week. Activities are also great from GZ Adventures
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rmhlon449501 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
The reception was so good we felt at home.. The breakfast was on top and the staff from the house keeping, kitchen and the management were so friendly. I will definately refer friends and family. Gracious
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lars V wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
We stayed at Gecko Lodge during our stay in Kruger National Park. Great location, plenty of shops within driving distance and very close to the gates to Kruger. Would definitely recommend taking the Phabeni gate! About a 20 min drive from the lodge. Our room was very clean and checked daily. There’s a fun little pool area for relaxed days and the people there we’re all lovely. Great 3-course meal is available when you notify them you’ll be dining with them. (295R) The lodge definitely didn’t dissapoint as we also had some Gecko company in the shower!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Almari V wrote a review Oct 2021
16 contributions1 helpful vote
Such a lovely lodge situated in a beautiful lush garden. Very beautiful and peaceful. Very friendly staff. Dinner was lovely we were spoiled with a delicious barbeque. Rooms where spacious well equipped and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Insomnia_W wrote a review Jan 2021
17 contributions10 helpful votes
We were traveling from US and had a quick overnight stop in Hazyview before our drive into Kruger. We were welcomed by Gideon. He was very informative about the local restaurants and provided best strategies on how to visit the panoramic route main stops. He also provided us with a map that we ended up using for Kruger and panoramic route. We met Tammy at breakfast, who was really fun to chat with. She has a lot of inside information and prepared us really well for a rainy day ahead. In fact, her suggestions helped us from having a bad day on the road. Both Gideon and Tammy made our stay extra special. Thanks to you and the staff at Gecko lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from anja Barnard, Owner at Gecko Lodge
Responded 05 Jan 2021
Thank you soo much for your time to write a review and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your Time at Gecko Lodge!! Have a happy and healthy new year and we hope to see you again warm regards The Gecko Lodge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gecko hotel hazyview
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaHazyview
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gecko Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Gecko Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Whispers (2.5 km), The Elephant Sanctuary (2.8 km), and Perry's Bridge Reptile Park (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gecko Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Gecko Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gecko Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gecko Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tanks Bush Pub, Kuka Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge, and Pioneer's Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gecko Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gecko Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Gecko Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shangana Cultural Village (4.2 km).