Gecko Lodge

R536 Sabie Road Road To Sabie, Hazyview 1242 South Africa
Entree
Traveller (152)
The pool has a very nice view and settled between the trees
Pool & Beach (22)
Room & Suite (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 4 hostels in Hazyview
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Gecko Lodge is situated 3 Km from Hazyview in Mpumalanga, South Africa, on a 35ha Farm with Sabie River Frontage. It is the ideal base from which to explore the Kruger National Park (12km from Phabeni Gate) and the Lowveld Panorama Route including Blyde River Canyon (89km), God's Window (50km) and Pilgrim's Rest (54km) This family run and managed lodge has its emphasis on tranquillity, comfort, quality service and good food. Gecko Lodge offers the guest an escape from modern urban living. The managers are Gideon Barnard Jnr and Tammy Nel who look after the Lodge and the Guests on a day to day basis. Anja (German) and Gideon Barnard (South African) the owners at Gecko Lodge, offer personal attention and service with a smile in short, "Value for money" With its comfortable rooms and restaurant , Gecko Lodge is suitable for those seeking a romantic getaway, a base for numerous activities from mild to extreme or even for a relaxing family holiday at affordable rates.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Secured parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
317Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 104
  • 34
  • 17
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Vernon J wrote a review Apr 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booking agencies gave different prices.to different parties for same facilities. Comparing invoices (group of friends) some double the direct facility cost - so value for money very dependent on the price you received. Access road road bad. Slippery but OK in daylight but no go for bikes on wet muddy night. Fortunately we had a car as backup to go out for supper. (facility was offering braai and we felt like something different - al a carte menu offered as alternative but seems it was going to become problematic - manager had to ask chef is this and that would be available etc.) Check in a bit chaotic. No towels in rooms. These were brought later. Staff did not replenish tea coffee milk toilet paper and shampoo after previous guests. Seems that they forgot. Staff forgot to switch on geyers so hot water ran out. Cold morning showers. Room fan only had full speed and was far to noisy to sleep with it on. Room comfortable otherwise. Staff friendly. buildings needs maintenance but nice setting. Breakfast was excellent. Expected more professional service for price. however. Under new management so has potential. Will look for other alternatives before returning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Insomnia_W wrote a review Jan 2021
17 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were traveling from US and had a quick overnight stop in Hazyview before our drive into Kruger. We were welcomed by Gideon. He was very informative about the local restaurants and provided best strategies on how to visit the panoramic route main stops. He also provided us with a map that we ended up using for Kruger and panoramic route.

We met Tammy at breakfast, who was really fun to chat with. She has a lot of inside information and prepared us really well for a rainy day ahead. In fact, her suggestions helped us from having a bad day on the road.

Both Gideon and Tammy made our stay extra special. Thanks to you and the staff at Gecko lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from anja Barnard, Owner at Gecko Lodge
Responded 05 Jan 2021
Thank you soo much for your time to write a review and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your Time at Gecko Lodge!! Have a happy and healthy new year and we hope to see you again warm regards The Gecko Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lars V wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Gecko Lodge during our stay in Kruger National Park.

Great location, plenty of shops within driving distance and very close to the gates to Kruger.
Would definitely recommend taking the Phabeni gate! About a 20 min drive from the lodge.

Our room was very clean and checked daily. There’s a fun little pool area for relaxed days and the people there we’re all lovely.
Great 3-course meal is available when you notify them you’ll be dining with them. (295R)

The lodge definitely didn’t dissapoint as we also had some Gecko company in the shower!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maikel N wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When we entered Gecko Lodge we were warmly welcomed. The place is beautiful! The start of our stay started with a few hiccups (Wifi problem and broken pipe in the shower) but the owners did absolutly everything to fix it and to make up for it.
The room was clean and the bed was nice. The best part about staying at Gecko Lodge is the diners! We were surprised about the lovely atmosphere, the amazing three courses and the extremely helpful and friendly staff. During our safari’s we talked about how we were looking forward to our diner again! Also worth mentioning that it’s a perfect base for Safari’s in Kruger. It’s close to one of the gates and Gecko Lodge provides breakfastbaskets and they are awesome! We loved it at Gecko Lodge!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mantoa R wrote a review Aug 2022
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Good day

What a bad treatment we got at Gecko Lodge, not sure why we got that kind of the treatment or maybe because we black people or what.I've booked the place via bookings.com 2 to 3 ago months and paid infull, trying to avoid any dispointments.we were running late for checking in time,so I phoned the Gecko Lodge & informed them that we running, but we coming from Johannesburg,to my surprise when we arrived at the lodge, The ower told us sorry,his drunk&his from the rugby match,& our room is been booked because the people from Rugby match have booked the place &it's full booked,so it simply means at the Lodge they don't use 1st come 1st serve.They just want to make easy cash, because it was at night &we had no other place to go to. They gave us a ice cold back room, with no tiles &no hotel/logde basics,we had to check out the following morning so that we could go book at a better place . to receive a better customer service, lucky enough they refunded me the money,but still waiting for in to reflect in my account.

Regards Mantoa
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anja Barnard, Owner at Gecko Lodge
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Dear Montao, Thank you for taking the Time for writing the review! We have apologized many times and you have accepted our apology! We have explained to you that we had a plumbing problem with the Room you were booked in and there was nothing we can do in the Night! It had nothing to do with you, it has nothing to do with guests going to the Rugby....we had a problem and unfortunately it was your room, we had the problem! We have paid you a Full Refund and We have apologized, nothing more we can do, as we are also just human beings , and things go wrong without our control , it is not what we are standing for and we really felt terrible. I wish we would have met under different Circumstances. Please accept our apology Kind regards Anja Barnard
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zebedee70 wrote a review Nov 2022
Lancaster, United Kingdom88 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feel a bit mean about 4 stars as the grounds are beautiful and the bedrooms are bright and modern. Eating dinner under the stars around an open fire was also memorable but there were a few negatives.
Food was very average and the swimming pool was small and quite murky. One of our party experienced a gecko urinating on her head through the roof of her room - I tried not to laugh
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anja Barnard, Owner at Gecko Lodge
Responded 23 Nov 2022
Dear Zebedee Thank-you for the review, we always appreciate when guests give us some feedback. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed the gardens as well as our bright and modern rooms. The dinner under the stars is always a treat :-) We are sorry that you felt your food was average and I would have loved for you to have told me when I asked how your dinner was so that I could apologize then and perhaps have even rectified it and not now. Yes, we have a small rock pool and do our best to upkeep it. Thank-you for letting us know about it being murky, we have attended to that once again and we will continue to do our best in the upkeep of the pool. I was also told about the gecko in the room by the guests who had to experience that, and I immediately came up with a solution for the guest, that matter was dealt with, and she was happy and content to not change her room. We wish you safe travels and safe cycling further and a wonderful time for the remainder of your trip In SA :-) Friendly Regards Tammy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ZooGirl101 wrote a review 16 Apr
Beusichem, The Netherlands704 contributions111 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice small lodge located in the middle of the bush. Staff are very friendly, they immediately assisted by a wasp sting. We had the room upstairs, the honeymoon sweet and it was lovely. It was however quite hot and the fan didn’t really work well, needs to be replaced I think. Loved the bath, very relaxing. Food was great, we chose the traditional African bobotie, delicious!
Breakfast we didn’t have because we left very early. WiFi was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tlhabane123 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good stay would recommend it for singles, couples and groups. Manager and owner make you feel at home. Staff is friendly and always willing to assist wherever you need anything.
Almost spent the whole week. Activities are also great from GZ Adventures
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Almari V wrote a review Oct 2021
16 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a lovely lodge situated in a beautiful lush garden. Very beautiful and peaceful. Very friendly staff. Dinner was lovely we were spoiled with a delicious barbeque. Rooms where spacious well equipped and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
astein384534 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely 2 night stay. Beautiful location with good food and great staff. Prisca a great Manageress, we wish her all the best with the new ideas for the lodge. A stunning pool area and alfresco area for evening dining especially.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from GeckoLodge
Hazyview7 contributions
Thank you for your interest in Gecko Lodge. unfortunately Some rooms still have that problem, but if you book with us We will promise you a Quiet Room :-) We are Looking forward to hear from you again Kind Regards Anja Gecko Lodge
Enzfan wrote a tip Jul 2019
Te Awamutu, New Zealand21 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't know"
Read full review
MViajera2014 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Lima, Peru23 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Near the reception"
Read full review
Miroslav J wrote a tip Apr 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I have been in two different rooms and heard nothing but birds and crickets"
Read full review
Clemens D wrote a tip Jan 2015
Prien am Chiemsee, Germany169 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are generous in size."
Read full review
123 ivan wrote a tip Mar 2014
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom45 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We'll located to PerryBridge, walk or ask the guys for a lift"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hazyview area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,093 - R 2,895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gecko hotel hazyview
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaHazyview
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GECKO LODGE - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Hazyview, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gecko Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Gecko Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Whispers (2.5 km), The Elephant Sanctuary (2.8 km), and Perry's Bridge Reptile Park (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gecko Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Gecko Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gecko Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gecko Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tanks Bush Pub, Kuka Café, and Pioneer's Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gecko Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gecko Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Gecko Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shangana Cultural Village (4.2 km).
All Hazyview HotelsHazyview Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HazyviewHotels near Gecko Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire