Cycad Guest House

Cycad Guest House

Cnr of Schoeman and Suid Street, Polokwane 700 South Africa
Traveller (16)
Room
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 38 guest houses in Polokwane
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Cycad Guest House proudly offers luxury accommodation in Polokwane, Limpopo. The comfort and quality of service, as well as the beauty and infinite variety of the province will not only delight all who visit, but will entice visitors back again and again. Accommodation is offered in 25 luxuriously decorated, elegantly furnished guest rooms that show the uncompromising attitude towards the style of the hosts. Modern furniture and warm colour grace the guest rooms, creating the feeling of privacy and warm homely hospitality. Each guest room has an en-suite bathroom with a bath and a shower, as well as a hairdryer for guests' convenience. We treat our guests to pure cotton sheets and quilts and large fluffy towels. The guest rooms also feature individually controlled air-conditioning, a fridge, complimentary coffee and tea tray, TV with M-Net and DStv, laptop connection, and touch dial telephone. The guest house is conveniently situated close to sporting amenities such as Virgin Active gymnasium, the golf course and driving range, swimming pools, bowling greens, cricket, rugby, netball and soccer fields, badminton, table tennis and tennis courts, wrestling, karate and judo clubs, Moto-X, dirt tracks and oval tracks, athletics stadium and the road running club.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
124Reviews0Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 38
  • 12
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nkhangweni wrote a review Dec 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Air conditioners in all their rooms are scrappy, dated and way too noisy.
despite repeated complaints over several visits previously, they blatantly refuse to fix them.
some rooms are too exposed to the glare of parking lot and the public roads that are too close to the hotel. This impacts on the privacy of guests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fusion Portfolio Team, Marketing at Cycad Guest House
Responded 08 Mar 2021
Thank you very much for your review and your continuous support of Cycad Guest House. I will endeavor to personally meet up with you should you come and visit us again Mr Nkangweni. Due to the building and initial construction of the property we are not able to place the air conditioner units outside of the hotel rooms. I can however confirm that all the air conditioners was replaced by brand new units in 2019, the filters and fans are cleaned, tested and maintained according to a strict preventative maintenance plan on a monthly basis. Unfortunately the location and the layout of the rooms is something that we have little control over. Initially all of our our bedroom’s windows were planned to facing away from the road with the intent to keep the traffic and glare away from our guests. Cycad guest house has been welcoming return guests like yourself for years and is offering a unique and personal experience to our guests. It is not many guests houses that offer guests access and usage of their five star facilities and on site restaurant. We try at all costs to ensure our guests are happy and satisfied. Certain rooms are situated a bit further away from the road and we have made a note to ensure that we do accommodate you in one of them on your next stay to avoid any discomfort. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your dissatisfaction. We hope to welcome you back to Cycad Guest House again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gibson N wrote a review Jul 2022
Polokwane, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The guest house still maintains a high standard. The rooms are clean and cosy, and the food by the Saskia restaurant is sumptuous. The WiFi across the complex could be improved though. Access to the main hotel is also very easy and seamless
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fusion Portfolio Team, Marketing at Cycad Guest House
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Thank you for your continued support at Cycad Guest House! The Cycad team strive to always provide our guests with friendly, professional service, modern and clean rooms, and amazing fine dining at the Saskia Restaurant at the five-star Fusion Boutique Hotel. We have also taken note of the point raised and thank you for your valued feedback, allowing us to further improve our service offering. We have added signal boosters on all passages and should make your WIFI experience much better We cannot wait to welcome you back for your next stay at your home-away-from-home in Polokwane!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loana wrote a review Jan 2024
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel with a few cute rooms! We really enjoyed our overnight stay at Cycad Guest house! The hotel was central & the staff was very nice. Also the meals (breakfast & dinner) were great. The rooms were very spaceious, everything was clean, hot water was running mosquito net etc.

All in all we had a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Take your time for dinner/breakfast & visit the local market if you have time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diego280470 wrote a review Mar 2023
Pretoria, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I truly enjoyed Cycad as well as the Saskia restaurant which is top-class. However, as other reviewers have indicated there are some rooms right next to the generator which for some reason was running but not powering the hotel because my first two hours after checking in were in the dark which was bearable. Another issues is that from a security point of view the windows have no burglar bars. If instead of using those loud aircon units (which also need to be changed to digital ones) one can not open the window, especially after having a shower when the room gets a bit stuffy, because it would be possible to open the entire window and expose the entire window frame. I would suggest burglar bars or otherwise window that can only open across the top of the window frame where its not possible to climb into the room. I would also suggest a wider variety for breakfast. The only eggs on offer are scrambled one and as such the breakfast is very basic. Other than that I had a pleasant stay and I congratulate the owners on the development of the two hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Not rooms 8-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fusion Portfolio Team, Marketing at Cycad Guest House
Responded 13 Mar 2023
We are glad to hear that you found the restaurant to be top-class and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We regret any inconvenience caused by the generators as we attempt to be as accommodating as possible with the challenges brought on by loadshedding. Cycad Guest House takes pride in providing the best luxury accommodation combined with friendly, personalized service and a fine breakfast selection to start every guests day. As a standard offering, Cycad offers a hot buffet that alternates with various options every day. Most of our guests have a short time period for breakfast so we serve the buffet with scrambled eggs, however guests are more than welcome to order their eggs to be prepared to their preference from the kitchen. In addition, we offer hot oats or porridge prepared on order. Our Cycad guests also have the option to pay an additional R50 top up and enjoy a wide selection of a la carte breakfast options in the five star breakfast room. Our guest can also enjoy quick and easy access to the award winning Saskia Fine Dining Restaurant to take make the Polokwane experience even more memorable. It was a pleasure welcoming you for a memorable stay and we thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We appreciate that you chose Cycad Guest House for your stay and we cannot wait to welcome you back for another visit in true Cycad style!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gibsonnyirenda wrote a review Mar 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The trip was for business. I enjoyed the welcome, the meals at Saskia, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the friendliness of the staff. The negatives were the poor internet connectivity in the rooms, as well as the poor quality of the TVs. In this day and age, the place must invest in Smart TVs with Wi-Fi connectivity, allowing guests access to YouTube or their Netflix accounts. The housekeeping crew's early morning passage chatter is also not so pleasant!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
corriem453 wrote a review Sept 2020
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very upmarket place to stay for mid range price .Value for money. This establishment is to be recommended for all due to its neat rooms friendly staff and excellent breakfasts that is available .For a good nights rest this place is definitely there to comfort you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janine Bornman, Owner at Cycad Guest House
Responded 02 Oct 2020
Dearest Corriem453, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. At Cycad Guest house it is our prerogative that every guests leaves happy, satisfied and with wonderful memories of their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Have a wonderful weekend. Warm Cycad Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
funomashego wrote a review Mar 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay was amazing, from arrival to departure - the services from the staff, to the cleanliness and room amenities. I mostly enjoyed the food, breakfast, lunch and supper was consistent - delicious and filling. Definitely coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fusion Portfolio, Marketing at Cycad Guest House
Responded 01 Apr 2024
We're absolutely thrilled to read your glowing review of Cycad Guesthouse in Polokwane! It's heartening to know that your stay with us was nothing short of amazing - from our dedicated staff to the cleanliness and room amenities. We're also delighted to hear that our culinary offerings hit the mark with you, providing delicious and satisfying meals throughout your stay. Your kind words about our consistency and quality are truly appreciated! We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable experience at Cycad Guesthouse.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christiaan van Wyk wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been traveling to Polokwane for 11 years, always searching for a great place to stay. I've found that place now. Staff super friendly. Feel like royalty when you go for breakfast. 10/10. All staff give their all
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fusion Portfolio Team, Marketing at Cycad Guest House
Responded 01 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your Cycad experience! We appreciate your kind feedback and will be sure to share your review with the Cycad team. We eagerly await your return for your next stay at your home-away-from-home in Polokwane.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ingrid J wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the time I made the reservation and spoke to Pauline everything was handled fast and efficient. The room was clean and luxurious - loved the robe and slippers set out and the card with the weather forecast was just next level. The breakfast was equally pleasant. the staff treat you in every way. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janine Bornman, Owner at Cycad Guest House
Responded 02 Oct 2020
Dear IngridJ. We are ecstatic to receive your positive review. At Cycad Guest House we want to provide a luxurious stay with special attention to the small details. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and we are looking forward to host you again soon. I will be sure to pass on your observations to the team! Have a wonderful weekend. Warm Cycad Regards Janine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelvin wrote a review Nov 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very well located and close to most amenities in Polokwane. Shares a high-class restaurant with the much more luxurious (and expensive!) Fusion Boutique Hotel. It is clean, staff is friendly, beds are comfortable, all in all, a good package and experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: First floor rooms are better than ground floor; more privacy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fusion Portfolio Team, Marketing at Cycad Guest House
Responded 22 Dec 2021
Thank you for choosing Cycad Guest House as your preferred accommodation in Polokwane. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Cycad experience and we cannot wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Loana wrote a tip Jan 2024
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take your time for dinner/breakfast & visit the local market if you have time."
Read full review
Connector05946921818 wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Generator gets a bit load when its loadshedding."
Read full review
Diego280470 wrote a tip Mar 2023
Pretoria, South Africa4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not rooms 8-11"
Read full review
Kelvin wrote a tip Nov 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"First floor rooms are better than ground floor; more privacy."
Read full review
donavonj82 wrote a tip May 2021
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are of the same luxury. Some rooms may only offer a bath and not a shower, even though most rooms are only fitted with a shower"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Polokwane area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,753 - R 2,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvincePolokwane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CYCAD GUEST HOUSE - Now R 1 797 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶0̶1̶5̶) - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Polokwane, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cycad Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Cycad Guest House?
Nearby attractions include St John Church (0.6 km) and Polokwane Museum (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cycad Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Cycad Guest House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cycad Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cycad Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saskia Fine Dining Restaurant, Ocean Basket Savannah Mall, and Ambiance Coffee Shop.
Does Cycad Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Cycad Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cycad Guest House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cycad Guest House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cycad Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Polokwane HotelsPolokwane Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PolokwaneHotels near Cycad Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire