Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa

Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa

Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510 South Africa
Blood stained linen in the bedroom
Traveller (439)
Dining (104)
Blood stained linen in the bedroom
Room & Suite (67)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and fully equipped conference centres.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Tennis court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
386Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 207
  • 92
  • 50
  • 14
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
winsonsimo wrote a review Jan 2020
Francistown, Botswana1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa was excellent when I lodged there with my wife. It rips all your attention as you arrive, the vegetation, long trees, it has a feel of the country side, game view and then the reception was out of this world, employees who are exceptional especially on their customer service, the room are good spacious. Wow the restaurant is exclusively the best with excellent service on the variety of the food range

I think you also have to have a backup engine to be able to have the place lights be on at all times at night because there are snakes which might bite visitors. There should be a self service for ironing visitors clothes.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at Shangisto-La Country Hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review and comments. We take note of your suggestion and value your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitchelle M wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location of the Hotel is perfect for people looking to relax away from the city centre with ultimate privacy. a few hours from Pretoria and has a beautiful view. The rooms were a luxury and comfort combined. The staff was friendly and super helpful. The hotel itself is situated near fun activities to do. Beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Thank you Mitchie2020 for your kind words. We're pleased that you had a memorable experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark B wrote a review Aug 2021
Sandton, South Africa30 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Shangri-La is a very pretty and rustic hotel set in awesome gardens. The hotel (Alfred and team especially) looked after us fantastically well in the Boma. They cooked our meet for us and supplied pap, sous and gravy for our braai. It was only a one nighter for us but we could’ve stayed a bit longer… the only thing missing was our shower attachment and hose in the bath.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 Aug 2021
Thank you MarkB for your review and compliments. We are pleased to hear that the team spoiled you during your visit to Shangri-La. We're sorry about the shower attachment for your bath and we will be sure to address it with management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johannes G wrote a review Jun 2021
Centurion, South Africa5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Blood on the linen:

I experienced my worst ever stay at a hotel in my life staying at the Shangri-la Country Hotel and Spa just outside of Modimole on the weekend of 4-6 June 2021.
I have checked into Room 102(101) Executive Family Room.
After check-in on Friday we proceeded to Mooiplaas for a family event, We returned to the room around 10pm to sleep. The following morning when we woke up my daughter found the mattress next to her with blood on the sheets as the duvet moved away from the linen. I have the disgusting photos to provide on request.

This was an unbelievable shock and a disgusting, dirty feeling to know that one has slept in a bed probably not turned over from the previous quests.

I have reported this directly after breakfast on Saturday morning 5 June 2021, 9am to reception. The GM had the staff provide clean bedding to the room, promised to take the matter up with senior management and provide feedback, never to hear from anything from the Hotel again.

I enquired again Sunday morning at reception regarding feedback, only to be provided with an email address and phone number. After contacting this email address, I was informed by South of Africa Travel that the matter was investigated and they assume the cleaning staff nicked a finger when changing the bedding and did not notice blood got onto the sheets. They offered an apology and promise to improve staff training.

This is absolutely unacceptable, period.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Seriously reconsider alternative accommodation when attending a wedding at Mooiplaas.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 05 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review greylingjohann. Our team addressed your feedback immediately when it was reported and the linen was replaced. We understand your dissatisfaction with the service you received after the room had been cleaned again, and this has been taken up with hotel management. We're sorry that our response was not satisfactory when we declined your request for a full refund. The facilities were used for the full duration of your stay and while we cannot account as to why the linen was stained, and apologized for this both during your stay and in our correspondence, this was attended to and we consider the matter closed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cheryle wrote a review Sept 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for two nights in an exclusive room. Stardard items not available, i.e. No jam for toast, tonic for gin, no spoons in our room for coffee, TV broken, we weren't given the option to change rooms. Dinner was over priced, 5star prices for frozen reheated meals, breakfast oily and bland. The place is lacking care. At the end of the stay we were given the bill and Alfred couldn't even be bothered when we told him that we wouldn't be coming back. If you are looking for value money and a happy place to get away from the covid doom and gloom of your daily lives.. Skip this place
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Nov 2020
We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take note of your comments and concerns and these have been discussed in detail. We do not offer frozen reheated meals. All food is freshly prepared.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trc198 wrote a review Oct 2021
Pretoria1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a joke! The worst hotel experience in my life. Unfriendly reception. Unacceptable rooms: smelly, leaking walls !?, stains on carpets and upholstery, plastic spoons for coffee, stinky pillows, no towels in bathroom. Didn’t stay for breakfast… couldn’t bear another minute.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We’re sorry to hear about your stay at Shangri-La. Your comments have been shared with the hotel manager for investigation and the points raised addressed. Please accept our apologies for the missing towels. It's disheartening that your experience made you feel eager to depart instead of enjoying our delicious breakfast.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MauVee wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 4nights and 5days was not at all impressed with the housekeeping dirty and old rooms! The guy at the reception was not welcoming i even forgot his name. He was not helpful at all and was mean....not professional even. Went for spa treatment and the lady had to fetch water with a bucket from somewhere. The food is expensive. I definitely won't be coming back or recommend anyone too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 19 Jan 2021
We take note of your feedback Khinnah and will investigate this.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ratos1601 wrote a review Jan 2020
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is one of the beautiful place to be, the room and bedding is neat. The place is very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they make one feel at home. Ooh and the breakfast is to die for.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Thank you Lerato for your high praise and compliments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynette V wrote a review Feb 2015
Greater London, United Kingdom61 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked here for a weekend away and was quite disappointed, especially given the rate we paid for a family room.

The list of things not meeting expectations is long but some highlights:

- at both check-in and check-out the staff had issues reconciling the account with payments made to a third party (very reputable) booking agent.
- the room is described as "elegant" on the website which it is not. Instead it is tired, old with obvious signs of poor maintenance (eg cracks in basin, loose lamp shades). The television did not work properly and reporting the problem did not yield any results.
- the grounds, although lovely in terms of the gardens, also show signs of neglect eg the pathways are not properly lit at
night.
- the restaurant is average at best and the breakfast is nothing special. It is simply not ok for example to decant canned fruit into a few bowls as the fruit selection in a province where fruit is grown quite extensively!
- the swimming pool is home to three ducks; nice to look at from afar and would have been perfectly acceptable if it was a pond but for a hotel that is listed as family friendly, I for one was not going to let my daughter swim in that filthy pool.

In summary then, not worth the money and very little romantic, elegant, family friendly about it as is so boldly claimed on their website.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 22 Feb 2015
We thank you for your feedback. The points raised will be addressed with management. Our apologies for your unpleasant experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChristieHopewell wrote a review Jun 2015
Vaalwater, South Africa5 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
No one to welcome / show you around lodge. Didn't know about our booking. Rooms we were allocated in a dingy dark part of the lodge. High tea booked and was not arranged. No GM to attend to our complaints. Dogs running around facility, chasing cats. We ended up leaving after being there for 2 hours.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: My advice is stay somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 Jun 2015
Dear guest, we take note of your review and wish to address your feedback. Upon your arrival our team showed you to the rooms booked by your travel agent. When requested to change the rooms (because one of your party could not manage the stairs) we gladly offered you alternate choices which you agreed to. We gladly refer you to our website where our property is advertised as a country hotel. Further information also states that we do have animals on site. We are sorry that your travel agent did not inform you of this. Unfortunately your reservation for High Tea did not reach our reception timeously. Our offer to still prepare this was declined and you opted to order from our menu instead. However, your order was cancelled a short while later and you departed. The General Manager who was unavailable at the time, tried to get in touch with you telephonically but reached your voicemail and left a message.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from South_Of_Africa_HQ
Bela Bela, South Africa186 contributions
Hello, you can find our spa menu on our website in the spa section. Alternatively, give us a call and provide us with your email address and we will send it to you.
Answer from South_Of_Africa_HQ
Bela Bela, South Africa186 contributions
Hi Noma, you can call the spa by dialling our advertised number 0147181600. The spa is open daily. Our rooms sleep 2 guests. We have select bedrooms with Twin beds. We also have Family Rooms that sleep 3 guests. Please visit our website to see our different roomtypes.
Cally P asked a question Mar 2017
Benoni, South Africa4 contributions4 helpful votes
hi what is dress code at night for resturant and is there resturant available at lunch time
Answer from South_Of_Africa_HQ
Bela Bela, South Africa186 contributions
Hi Cally P, there is no formal dress code for dinner at night, but we do recommend that guests dress smart casual when dining in the Heritage Restaurant. Our Bellows Restaurant, which also caters breakfast and lunch, is more suitable for shorts and t-shirts as you can also dine outside on our deck or Chimes Square.
Johannes G wrote a tip Jun 2021
Centurion, South Africa5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Seriously reconsider alternative accommodation when attending a wedding at Mooiplaas."
Read full review
llhadebe wrote a tip Sept 2019
Bethlehem, South Africa1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"change carpets they smell"
Read full review
AllonPretorius wrote a tip Sept 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 33. Faulty toilet light switch. Low standard of toilet seat."
Read full review
922kudan wrote a tip Jul 2019
Windhoek, Namibia174 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are located ideal distance from the restaurant. You wont go wrong with any choice."
Read full review
LorinaSimmonds wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I found everything to be in order and cannot suggest any improvement. Thank You."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Modimolle (Nylstroom) area.
PRICE RANGE
R 450 - R 540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel Shangri-La
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceWaterbergModimolle (Nylstroom)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHANGRI-LA COUNTRY HOTEL & SPA - Now R 476 (Was R̶ ̶5̶4̶9̶) - Reviews & Price Comparison (Modimolle (Nylstroom), South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Fashion & Decor Sniper (7.6 km) and Embellished Memories (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Koffiekan Plaaswerf Restaurant, Lone Bear Spur Steak Ranch, and UnaPizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Modimolle (Nylstroom) HotelsModimolle (Nylstroom) Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)Hotels near Shangri-la Country Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire