We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$35
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/10
Hotels.com
US$35
US$34
View Deal
SAVE US$1
Free cancellation until 21/03/11
Agoda.com
US$35
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/10
Expedia.comUS$34
FindHotelUS$34
eDreamsUS$35
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (435)
Dining (88)
Pool & Beach (23)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar, a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Babysitting
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
382Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 206
  • 91
  • 50
  • 14
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MauVee wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Stayed for 4nights and 5days was not at all impressed with the housekeeping dirty and old rooms! The guy at the reception was not welcoming i even forgot his name. He was not helpful at all and was mean....not professional even. Went for spa treatment and the lady had to fetch water with a bucket from somewhere. The food is expensive. I definitely won't be coming back or recommend anyone too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 19 Jan 2021
We take note of your feedback Khinnah and will investigate this.
Read more
cheryle wrote a review Sep 2020
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights in an exclusive room. Stardard items not available, i.e. No jam for toast, tonic for gin, no spoons in our room for coffee, TV broken, we weren't given the option to change rooms. Dinner was over priced, 5star prices for frozen reheated meals, breakfast oily and bland. The place is lacking care. At the end of the stay we were given the bill and Alfred couldn't even be bothered when we told him that we wouldn't be coming back. If you are looking for value money and a happy place to get away from the covid doom and gloom of your daily lives.. Skip this place
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Nov 2020
We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take note of your comments and concerns and these have been discussed in detail. We do not offer frozen reheated meals. All food is freshly prepared.
Read more
Mitchelle M wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions
Location of the Hotel is perfect for people looking to relax away from the city centre with ultimate privacy. a few hours from Pretoria and has a beautiful view. The rooms were a luxury and comfort combined. The staff was friendly and super helpful. The hotel itself is situated near fun activities to do. Beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Thank you Mitchie2020 for your kind words. We're pleased that you had a memorable experience.
Read more
winsonsimo wrote a review Jan 2020
Francistown, Botswana1 contribution
Well Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa was excellent when I lodged there with my wife. It rips all your attention as you arrive, the vegetation, long trees, it has a feel of the country side, game view and then the reception was out of this world, employees who are exceptional especially on their customer service, the room are good spacious. Wow the restaurant is exclusively the best with excellent service on the variety of the food range I think you also have to have a backup engine to be able to have the place lights be on at all times at night because there are snakes which might bite visitors. There should be a self service for ironing visitors clothes. Overall I enjoyed my stay at Shangisto-La Country Hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review and comments. We take note of your suggestion and value your feedback.
Read more
ratos1601 wrote a review Jan 2020
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
The hotel is one of the beautiful place to be, the room and bedding is neat. The place is very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they make one feel at home. Ooh and the breakfast is to die for.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Thank you Lerato for your high praise and compliments.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$27 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel Shangri-La
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceWaterbergModimolle (Nylstroom)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Embellished Memories (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Koffiekan Plaaswerf Restaurant, UnaPizza, and Lone Bear Spur Steak Ranch.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.