We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510 South Africa
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$32
PricelineUS$34
TravelocityUS$31
Hotels.comUS$31
TripadvisorUS$31
Orbitz.comUS$31
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (438)
Dining (95)
Room & Suite (58)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar, a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Babysitting
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
385Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 206
  • 92
  • 50
  • 14
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Trc198 wrote a review Oct 2021
Pretoria1 contribution
What a joke! The worst hotel experience in my life. Unfriendly reception. Unacceptable rooms: smelly, leaking walls !?, stains on carpets and upholstery, plastic spoons for coffee, stinky pillows, no towels in bathroom. Didn’t stay for breakfast… couldn’t bear another minute.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We’re sorry to hear about your stay at Shangri-La. Your comments have been shared with the hotel manager for investigation and the points raised addressed. Please accept our apologies for the missing towels. It's disheartening that your experience made you feel eager to depart instead of enjoying our delicious breakfast.
Read more
Mark B wrote a review Aug 2021
Sandton, South Africa11 contributions8 helpful votes
The Shangri-La is a very pretty and rustic hotel set in awesome gardens. The hotel (Alfred and team especially) looked after us fantastically well in the Boma. They cooked our meet for us and supplied pap, sous and gravy for our braai. It was only a one nighter for us but we could’ve stayed a bit longer… the only thing missing was our shower attachment and hose in the bath.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 Aug 2021
Thank you MarkB for your review and compliments. We are pleased to hear that the team spoiled you during your visit to Shangri-La. We're sorry about the shower attachment for your bath and we will be sure to address it with management.
Read more
Johannes G wrote a review Jun 2021
Centurion, South Africa5 contributions
Blood on the linen: I experienced my worst ever stay at a hotel in my life staying at the Shangri-la Country Hotel and Spa just outside of Modimole on the weekend of 4-6 June 2021. I have checked into Room 102(101) Executive Family Room. After check-in on Friday we proceeded to Mooiplaas for a family event, We returned to the room around 10pm to sleep. The following morning when we woke up my daughter found the mattress next to her with blood on the sheets as the duvet moved away from the linen. I have the disgusting photos to provide on request. This was an unbelievable shock and a disgusting, dirty feeling to know that one has slept in a bed probably not turned over from the previous quests. I have reported this directly after breakfast on Saturday morning 5 June 2021, 9am to reception. The GM had the staff provide clean bedding to the room, promised to take the matter up with senior management and provide feedback, never to hear from anything from the Hotel again. I enquired again Sunday morning at reception regarding feedback, only to be provided with an email address and phone number. After contacting this email address, I was informed by South of Africa Travel that the matter was investigated and they assume the cleaning staff nicked a finger when changing the bedding and did not notice blood got onto the sheets. They offered an apology and promise to improve staff training. This is absolutely unacceptable, period.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Seriously reconsider alternative accommodation when attending a wedding at Mooiplaas.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 05 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review greylingjohann. Our team addressed your feedback immediately when it was reported and the linen was replaced. We understand your dissatisfaction with the service you received after the room had been cleaned again, and this has been taken up with hotel management. We're sorry that our response was not satisfactory when we declined your request for a full refund. The facilities were used for the full duration of your stay and while we cannot account as to why the linen was stained, and apologized for this both during your stay and in our correspondence, this was attended to and we consider the matter closed.
Read more
MauVee wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Stayed for 4nights and 5days was not at all impressed with the housekeeping dirty and old rooms! The guy at the reception was not welcoming i even forgot his name. He was not helpful at all and was mean....not professional even. Went for spa treatment and the lady had to fetch water with a bucket from somewhere. The food is expensive. I definitely won't be coming back or recommend anyone too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 19 Jan 2021
We take note of your feedback Khinnah and will investigate this.
Read more
cheryle wrote a review Sep 2020
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights in an exclusive room. Stardard items not available, i.e. No jam for toast, tonic for gin, no spoons in our room for coffee, TV broken, we weren't given the option to change rooms. Dinner was over priced, 5star prices for frozen reheated meals, breakfast oily and bland. The place is lacking care. At the end of the stay we were given the bill and Alfred couldn't even be bothered when we told him that we wouldn't be coming back. If you are looking for value money and a happy place to get away from the covid doom and gloom of your daily lives.. Skip this place
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Nov 2020
We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take note of your comments and concerns and these have been discussed in detail. We do not offer frozen reheated meals. All food is freshly prepared.
Read more
Mitchelle M wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions
Location of the Hotel is perfect for people looking to relax away from the city centre with ultimate privacy. a few hours from Pretoria and has a beautiful view. The rooms were a luxury and comfort combined. The staff was friendly and super helpful. The hotel itself is situated near fun activities to do. Beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South Of Africa, Agency / Consultant at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Thank you Mitchie2020 for your kind words. We're pleased that you had a memorable experience.
Read more
winsonsimo wrote a review Jan 2020
Francistown, Botswana1 contribution
Well Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa was excellent when I lodged there with my wife. It rips all your attention as you arrive, the vegetation, long trees, it has a feel of the country side, game view and then the reception was out of this world, employees who are exceptional especially on their customer service, the room are good spacious. Wow the restaurant is exclusively the best with excellent service on the variety of the food range I think you also have to have a backup engine to be able to have the place lights be on at all times at night because there are snakes which might bite visitors. There should be a self service for ironing visitors clothes. Overall I enjoyed my stay at Shangisto-La Country Hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review and comments. We take note of your suggestion and value your feedback.
Read more
ratos1601 wrote a review Jan 2020
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
The hotel is one of the beautiful place to be, the room and bedding is neat. The place is very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they make one feel at home. Ooh and the breakfast is to die for.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Thank you Lerato for your high praise and compliments.
Read more
Senzo Dhlomo wrote a review Oct 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa53 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We went to this establishment with a group of friends... the staff is probably one of the best I've ever come across. Friendly and always professional. They definitely went out of their way to ensure we have a memorable stay! Sbusiso truly is a gem! The rooms are nice and tidy. I would perhaps suggest a carpet in the bedrooms and not just a mat on either side, considering the floors are concrete. The grounds are kept beautifully. The gardens have a Bali-like feel about them! And the random rainstorms add to the magic of the place. We had a braai dinner in one of their private areas, that too was great. We were even given use of the glasshouse till rather late. Everybody was just so accommodating! The breakfasts are generous and tasty. Will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 01 Nov 2019
Thank you for your compliments and and sharing your experience at Shangri-La with us.
Read more
jurie835 wrote a review Oct 2019
Krugersdorp, South Africa60 contributions4 helpful votes
Spend a night here for business. The room I stayed in was below standard . It was clear to proper house keeping was not done , found a few spider in the bathroom . I spend nearly an hour trying to kill mosquitoes because there was no insect repellant in the room. The bed was big and comfortable . The Main reception and amenities were well kept and in mint condition , the garden is well maintained and staff was very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was absolutely great , one is really spoiled for choice , if I have to think about the breakfast I will definitely come back here but spending a night here and having to go through what I had to just to ensure that I don't get sucked dry by mosquitoes puts me in two minds .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Responded 01 Nov 2019
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we value your comments and will discuss your points of concern with our head of housekeeping.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$30 - US$42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel Shangri-La
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceWaterbergModimolle (Nylstroom)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Fashion & Decor Sniper (7.6 km) and Embellished Memories (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Koffiekan Plaaswerf Restaurant, Lone Bear Spur Steak Ranch, and UnaPizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.