We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa

Save
Share
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa Loubad Road Waterberg Limpopo, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (14)

About

#4 of 37 Specialty lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa is a small romantic Country Lodge in the Waterberg mountains near Modimolle in Limpopo. The property is situated on a 746ha farm with a timeless tranquility that emanates from the exuberance of birdsong, mature trees and the presence of red hartebeest and zebra grazing nearby. Each of the rooms have air-conditioning, a garden entrance and the comforts of pure cotton linen and a choice of pillows. There are also two giant luxury tents on the river bank and four new luxury suites with sweeping mountain views. A fusion of country and contemporary cuisine is complemented by fine wines. The Garden Spa offers a wide range of treatments and receives compliments from visitors who come from all over the world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Spa
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Tennis court
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German, Xhosa and 1 more

Location

Full view
Contact
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa Loubad Road Waterberg Limpopo, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510 South Africa
Getting there
Polokwane Airport144 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
224Reviews2Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 116
  • 67
  • 23
  • 12
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TRAVELGUEST07 wrote a review Jan 2022
Pretoria, South Africa41 contributions5 helpful votes
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa is a true gem. We enjoyed the tranquil setting, great service, deliciously prepared picnic, and the opportunity to pick strawberries ourselves on the adjacent strawberry farm. The road leading to the Lodge is unpaved and a bit tricky to drive during heavy rains. Breakfast and dinner were included in the daily rate. The quality of food was excellent, however, the service was a bit on the slow side and there were limited vegetarian and child-friendly options available on the a la carte menu. There is a lovely pool next to the spa and wild animals can be spotted from close range. The rooms were very welcoming, spacious, comfortable, and clean. However, there is no wifi reception in the boutique rooms. Wifi reception is only available in the lounge and dining areas. Adding wifi to the rooms would be a great benefit, seeing that there is no cellular reception on the property. We will definitely return to this amazing place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Hi Travel Guest 07 We would like to express our gratitude to you for taking the time to review our Lodge, We are pleased to hear that your overall experience was great, We are looking forward to hosting you again soon.
Read more
uganyani wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in the luxury tent and we loved everything about it. The peace and quiet. Being in nature was the highlight. The food was average but the portions are filing. The road to the lodge could do with some work especially for small calls. The hospitality was great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Hi Unganyani Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Our Lodge. Looking forward to Hosting you again. Kind Regards
Read more
lerato2022 wrote a review Jan 2022
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our host, Samuel was exceptional! Very helpful, friendly and sweet....he made our stay amazing. Thank you so much for the great time! The location was great and I love the fact that we were not on our phones throughout the entire stay. Gave us time to really enjoy the break and connect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Hi Lerato We are incredibly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Lodge! Thank you for the Kind review! We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Read more
tracyvinnecombe wrote a review Jan 2022
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Fabulous time as always at Leewenhof. Menu was limited but we put this down to us arriving mid week during the festive season. Wouldn't go anywhere near those bath robes, would maybe use them for dish cloths! Other than that a great experience and we will be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Hi Tracy! We are so glad to hear that you Hold our Lodge in such high Regard, thank you for the kind words! We are also so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Read more
DayTrip05205873415 wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
It turned out to be a dissapointed planned romantic anniversary/birthday present. Not worth the money! I’ve asked for special arrangement for the room which we didn’t get. All the windows were closed early afternoon and bed was already made at 13h00. Jacuzzi was off. Linnen was in poor condition, tent linen had water stains. Floor mat in the room was wet and outdoor furniture was stored within the room that made it conjested. Overall maintenance in room is poor. Food order is not what you receive, chewy and blunt. The comunication used (radios) insufficient as at some time we were not assisted when calling from tent camp. You are not suppose to hear cows at a lodge. The SPA couple treatment was done by amateurs compared to other experiences, unprofessional and not worth the price. The staff were at least friendly, kind and helpful. The place was beautiful and location was fantastic!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Hi Day Trip, we would like to extend an apologise for the disappointing experience you have had, We have taken your entire feedback into consideration and will make the necessary improvements. Thank you very much.
Read more
Vonrie wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
The picture of the food looks delicious and the description on the menu sounds tasteful but the food was very, very disappointing. Cold steak, dry fish. They forgot my bread with the starter. We were never told the jet ski option was not available. We were given a spa time while having breakfast which had already passed. Will never recommend this place except for the room which was OK.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Hi Vonrie. We would like to apologise for the bad experience you have noted, we are taking everything you mentioned into consideration and will make the necessary changes.
Read more
Molly0152021 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Hubby and I had the time of our lives, a perfect place for a getaway from the everyday busy life. Sam did the most in welcoming us and giving us a tour of the place, Boitumelo and her team at the spar were also great. I would recommend the place any day!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Hi Molly. Thats amazing to hear about your little Getaway. It was such a privilege to Host you at our Lodge. Thank you so much for the compliments to our amazing Spa Staff. We will definitely forward the feedback. We look forward to Hosting you again soon.
Read more
boitshokomfolo wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The best part of the gateway was not having access to any network or access to internet; really afforded one to switch off and reset again. The food was great- exceeded expectations. The staff is also great- extremely patient! Loved it!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 23 Nov 2021
Hi Boitshokomfolo. Thank you for the amazing feedback you gave us. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great time at our Lodge. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Read more
dkgawana wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
we got the best service ever,Thanks to Sizwe ,Food and Bev manager as well as Charity,,,,We coming back very soon ,We planing to come with kids next time...............................................
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 11 Nov 2021
Hi Dkgawana, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. we really cant wait to host you again soon, with the kids too ;)
Read more
Trudi wrote a review Oct 2021
Centurion, South Africa456 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
Hidden deep in the mountains you will found a tranquil establishment, tastefully decorated in a mixture of “African colonial” style. The tented rooms are spacious and clean. Comfortable beds and a wonderful private jacuzzi and outdoor shower on the deck! Thank you to all staff! Samuel you were so helpful from the time we arrived to the time we left! Milli you have the hands of an angel, I overheard another person compliment you and say that it was the best massage he has ever had. I can second that over and over again! Thank you Charity for your efficient booking and helpful assistance. To all the other staff thank you. There are various activities one can part take in, but unfortunately we only had one evening. But if you are looking for a relaxing getaway just under 2hrs from Pretoria, this is the place to be!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bafedile Mafologele, Owner at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
Responded 11 Nov 2021
Hi 716Trudis We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. thank you for the great feedback. we really hope to see you soon again. We will definitely forward the compliments to our staff.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceWaterbergModimolle (Nylstroom)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Is Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.