We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Farm Geluk 285 Sterkrivier, Limpopo Province, Mokopane 0600 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 22/02/08 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Shikwaru Lodge
Updated 22/02/08 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 16 Specialty lodging in Mokopane
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shikwaru is situated in the Waterberg mountain range biosphere in the Limpopo Province of South Africa. The lodge is a mere 2 hours drive from Johannesburg and is located 28 km southeast of Mokopane (Potgietersrus). It is home to more than 20 species of exceptional African mammals coupled with countless bird and reptile species. Shikwaru has beautiful wedding venues, with the unique option of fly in weddings! Shikwaru is full of activities from bush walks and game drives, to swimming pools and putt-putt. Our family friendly atmosphere will be perfect to you and your loved ones of any age.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Archery
Mini golf
Children's playground
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Fishing
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Microwave
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
Farm Geluk 285 Sterkrivier, Limpopo Province, Mokopane 0600 South Africa
Getting there
Polokwane Airport72 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
64Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 14
  • 8
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
240mcp wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Very good weekend away. Very friendly and respectful staff. Clean accommodation with great facilities. Thank you to all the staff that helped and prepared my breakfast engagement. An experience to remember.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Refentse2020 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
it was my 3rd time stay at Rafiki camp, and I keep coming back because of the peace and serenity of Shikwaru lodge. Great value for money,excellent facilities & service. I will definately be back before Winter of 2020
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paula F wrote a review Jul 2019
Pretoria, South Africa20 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a beautiful game farm with excellent accommodation. We have stayed in both the tented camp and more recently in Bass Cottage. Both were conveniently fitted out, perfectly clean and comfortable. However, it is the blissful bushel since that is real the attraction. A special word of commendation to the receptionist, Kgaogelo, whose service and friendliness was of the highest standard. A real pleasure to deal with.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HannahC3223, Shikwaru Staff at Shikwaru Lodge
Responded 20 Nov 2019
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we look forward to having you back here at Shikwaru in the future!
Read more
Voyage25549510756 wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution
Establishment very clean and well taken care of.Chalets setup gives absolute privacy to parents and kids.Staff very friendly and well organised.Swimming pool and kids play area well taken care of and in good condition.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HannahC3223, Shikwaru Staff at Shikwaru Lodge
Responded 20 Nov 2019
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Shikwaru, and we look forward to hosting you again!
Read more
Camper39062331862 wrote a review Nov 2018
Thornton, Colorado1 contribution
We loved everything accommodation, food, Staff and all the sites on the property of Shikwaru.Though we must say as Jacques found out during our visit, there are many handicap issues that need to be addressed. I will be emailing Jacques some ideas so that they may be considered in next years budget. Things like larger accessible bathroom, wider cement pathways, and ramp access for wheelchairs.Blessings,Joel, Melissa and Faith Martinez
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pioneer54632234483 wrote a review Nov 2018
1 contribution
The location of the site is wondeful. A few things should be considered in the Raffiki: plates, table and chairsat leat two, iron for clothes.Otherwise the service was well organized in terme of service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Henry F wrote a review Aug 2018
Dallas10 contributions10 helpful votes
We have stayed at this property many times, and have never been disappointed. We do short-term mission teams, and we usually spend two nights on our return to Johannesburg before we fly out. It has become one of my favorite places to unwind and disconnect. The staff is always very accommodating, and the food that they serve is superb. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a place to just disconnect.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Charl_and_Mari wrote a review May 2018
Pretoria, South Africa22 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I stayed in one of the Watato tent houses which is found deep in the resort (a short game drive to get to the accommodation). The staff was extremely friendly in receiving us and helping us with goods or information. The tent house has a proper bath tub (the main event for my wife...) and a nice outside braai for the gents. We had some squirrels visiting us from time to time, reminding us that we are in the wild. I would recommend the Watato tent houses at Shikwaru lodge for people requiring a breakaway from the busy city life, and would go there again with my family. p.s. There are features like a swimming pool and volleyball court, but these are not close to the Watato houses. Other accommodation types are however close-by these features and might be better if you have active kids who enjoy swimming, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Watato tent 1 had a good view but was a bit close to the road.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Berenice G wrote a review May 2018
1 contribution
We stayed in Watoto Tented Camp. The photos on the website does not look even remotely the same as the real thing. Pictures on their website look wonderful. We where in for a real shock. The linen on the beds was stained by old blood or rust or who knows what and really washed out and torn in places. The mattress bottom was not covered with a base cover and filthy. Some of the towel was also covered in what initially looked like rust, I later discovered that it was excrement from the squirrels nesting in the roof. If there was any mosquito netting as on the photos it would have helped with the rat and squirrel droppings on the beds. There was lots of squirrel excrement on the beds, even while sleeping it happened. The kitchenette was very basic indeed, but even basic needs specific basic cutlery. No tongs for braai, no bread knife or cutting board, no dishcloth or washing cloth. The pots where so dirty previous food stuck to the bottom that we had to scrub it before using. There was no screen by the basin, fridge like at the other tents for the sun. The linen is sub-standard, very dirty and long past its years, chairs are not what you see on the website, no extra blankets, no hangers in the cupboards. The complimentary shampoo and body wash bottles was clearly refilled (not new for every guest) and badly done. The stickers were coming loose, the tops were filthy and not even filled to the top. The toilet seat was coming apart with wood chips breaking of in places, the top part of the seat was also broken and loose. I send Shikwaru a mail complaining about these issues and up to date have not received any response from them. I regret to say that I will not recommend Shikwaru Watoto tent to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah C, Employee at Shikwaru Lodge
Responded 13 Aug 2018
Hi Berenice, we are so sorry for the poor experience that you had here at Shikwaru. We want to thank you for drawing our attention to these problem areas - and we apologize that these issues were neglected during your stay if you brought them to the attention of our staff members. We have certainly looked into the issues you have listed here, and are working on proper solutions to all of these problems. We apologize for the a lack of response via email as well - this is not what we consider to be the high standard that we hold our staff to and we are also looking into this issue. We understand if you choose not to stay with us in future, but we do apologize for the your unpleasant experience, and thank you for the constructive criticism that we can use to help grow and fix things here at Shikwaru.
Read more
John W wrote a review Apr 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Shikwaru is a true oasis! From the wonderful meals prepared by Chef Conrad to the amazing accommodations and personal service, Shikwaru is home away from home. Their staff is always available and accommodating. If you have the opportunity to stay at Shikwaru make sure you do so!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$123 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceMokopane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shikwaru Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Shikwaru Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shikwaru Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Shikwaru Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Shikwaru Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shikwaru Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Shikwaru Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shikwaru Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Shikwaru Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.