Leshiba Wilderness

Leshiba Wilderness

Soutpansberg Mountains, Louis Trichardt 0920 South Africa
Traveller (256)
On the Patio
Room & Suite (78)
Aussicht während des Frühstücks
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 11 lodges in Louis Trichardt
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Leshiba Wilderness is a private game reserve on top of the Soutpansberg Mountains with over 380 indigenous tree species and abundant animal and bird life. Walk amongst wildlife, along spectacular trails through forests, across plains, down breathtaking gorges with sparkling pools. Visit Bushmen caves with ancient rock art. Enjoy sundowner game drives and look out for giraffe, zebra, leopard and porcupines. Accommodation includes the extraordinary Venda Art Lodge created together with acclaimed local artist, Noria Mabasa and Hamasha Bush Camp remotely situated and nestled within a spectacular amphitheatre of high cliffs. Escape to your own private hideaway in two luxury suites with endless views across the valley and private plunge pools. Pure cotton linen, delicious baths, candlelight and solar lamps add to the romance. Malaria Free. Fair Trade accredited. An Unforgettable Experience!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Airport transportation
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Outdoor fireplace
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Soutpansberg Mountains, Louis Trichardt 0920 South Africa
Getting there
Polokwane Airport
95.8 km
See all flights
267Reviews1Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 22
  • 4
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gina W wrote a review Mar 2020
Portland, Oregon11 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would easily give this 10 stars if I could. The staff is perfectly attentive and accommodating. Upon arrival we were greeted by staff and offered a cold beverage as we checked in. We were so lucky to stay in one of the new luxury suites which included our own plunge pool and fire pit, yoga platform, indoor and outdoor shower, and wrap around deck. Each morning I woke up to the sounds of the young impalas sparing and could watch them from the comfort of my bed! The rooms are stunning and so private and comfortable.
Our game drive guide was fantastic and our sundowners were beautiful with our favorite beverages.
We hiked all over the property and up onto a ridge that feels like the end of the world in the most magnificent way! We choose a few of the more difficult hikes, but also enjoyed a very easy trek around the property as well.
The bird watching from the deck of our suite and the main lodge was unreal! There are hundreds of different birds to observe. Really spectacular!
For cooler days, there is a game room with views of the water holes. There you can warm up by the fire, curl up with a book, play cards or mancala, or make your own bracelet.
The food was also fantastic. Every meal. We had a diverse group of eaters from vegan to paleo and we all enjoyed beautifully prepared and delicious food. We were never with out options and enjoyed afternoon tea at our leisure.
I got a massage while I was there. I was celebrating my birthday while there and the massage table had a flower petal greeting of "Happy Birthday" for me. The massage was wonderful.
There is not a single thing I would have changed about our stay except to have been able to stay there longer.
The owners are so gracious and warm. It was really an unforgettable experience. Without question or hesitation I will return on my next trip to South Africa later this year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: the new suites are just spectacular, but the smaller boma rooms are also fantastic.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OnSafariAgain wrote a review Jan 2023
Wellingborough, United Kingdom150 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Leshiba for 3 nights in late November. We had gorgeous accommodation staying in Tadulu one of their new lavish suites at the Venda Lodge. The pictures really do not do the place justice, everything is thought of, the views are amazing and the suite is very comfortable.
The staff are so friendly and from the first welcome from Lukas to the hug goodbye from Josephine they were all wonderful. It was great staying somewhere where the staff were not only friendly and approachable but also confident and professional. You will be so well fed and entertained. The food was plentiful, well presented and my vegetarian diet catered for without any fuss. Mohalado kindly explained the handwashing ceremony that preceded each evening meal so we understood the meaning and could feel included in the Venda culture.
The guided walk with Peter and the afternoon drive with Jack were entertaining, finding out about the history of the Venda people and the nature that surrounded us.
We bravely did the drive up to the property ourselves, my advice is take it slow and avoid the bushes with thorns!! You will need a high clearance vehicle but no special driving skills just patience.
A 3 Night stay is minimum and whilst there are many activities do take time to soak up the atmosphere and chill whilst being blown away by the stupendous views and the bird life that will come to find you on your deck. Thank you everyone (special mention for Christmas the Lodge Cat who kept us company!) for a simply AMAZING stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a Lavish Suite like Tadulu which was brilliant for privacy, views and sooo comfortable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathryn Straughan, General Manager at Leshiba Wilderness
Responded 01 Jun 2023
Good day, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a special review. We are delighted you had a wonderful time with us and that you appreciated everything we have to offer. We hope you have a chance to visit us again. Our very best wishes Kathryn and the Leshiba Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
340leonie wrote a review Mar 2022
Spelle, Germany5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We rent the mountain cottage and it was wonderfull. No sound only nature and your own breathing. The cabin has everything you need and the surroundings just so pure and the parafine lamps complimented that pure feeling - that zen feeling. The interieur and little attentions are a very tastefull. The road to the main gate is a lush for your 4x4, just take it slow to avoid your motor getting to hot. After the gate the road is OK. We shall definately book at Leshiba again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lara Luis, Marketing at Leshiba Wilderness
Responded 12 Apr 2022
So glad the vehicle made the trip. Lol. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is much appreciated. :-) We really do hope to see you again soon, when you need more zen!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
georgiegirl7 wrote a review Jan 2023
Ower, United Kingdom542 contributions72 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Venda Art Lodge, in the Leshiba Reserve, for 3 nights in July as part of a 12 day Limpopo Explorer Safari booked with Alexandra’s Africa. The retreat is built in the style of an old African mountain village which used to sit on the site and is a mixture of one bedroom rondavels and larger suites. One of the rangers meets you at the car park at the bottom of the mountain and it takes about an hour to get from there to the lodge. Well worth it for the absolutely stunning views from the top. The lodge sits on top looking down over the reserve where you can watch the animals grazing or using the waterholes. You can also wander around the gardens which are full of interesting sculptures by local artists. We had breakfast and lunch on the terrace but dinner was inside the small, cosy restaurant which had a fire burning as being winter it got very cold at night. The food was some of the best we had on the tour and the staff friendly and helpful. We did two game drives and one walking tour through the reserve with our ranger Jack who was very knowledgeable not just about the animals but about the history of the bushman and the medicinal use of the plants and trees. The great part about staying at Leshiba is that, as there are no lions or cheetahs, you can walk along any of the various trails through the reserve without a guide and view the animals up close which our friend did and said was a fantastic experience. While at the reserve we saw lots of wildlife but didn’t see any leopards but did see a kill on our walking tour which had happened overnight. I had an Indian head massage while there which I would definitely recommend and cost 350 rand. The lodge also has a small swimming pool but we didn’t use it as too cold in the winter. The only downside (hence 4 stars) was the room. The standard rooms are very small with little storage (no hanging space), they have electric lights but no sockets so had to charge phones etc. in the lodge kitchen which wasn’t ideal. It got down to 5oC at night but the staff left hot water bottles in the bed, we were also given hot water bottles and warm blankets on the game drives. There were stone steps up to the bathroom which were difficult to negotiate at night so had to leave a light on (a torch would have been useful). In the gardens they use solar lanterns although these aren’t that bright and only stay on for a while so not ideal when walking back from dinner. Would we stay again – possibly but would consider booking a larger room/suite.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Standard rooms are small so book one of the luxury suites if you can. Take a torch for the evenings.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathryn Straughan, General Manager at Leshiba Wilderness
Responded 01 Jun 2023
Good day, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely recommend the luxury suites and hope that you will have another opportunity to visit us and experience these. Our best wishes Kathryn and The Leshiba Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jaffee wrote a review May 2021
Hoedspruit, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The amenities are exceptional ( walking, hiking, game drives, star gazing, views) The rooms are super comfortable and the luxury suites are exceptional including a splash pool. There is attention to detail in every way. The cuisine caters to all needs and is excellent. The managers are superb. The rangers who take you out are immersed in the deepest knowledge of the remarkable biome which surrounds it- 200 trees are noted. The walks are wonderful and because no big cats you can really immerse in the environment. There are many game surprises awaiting you. Note that this lodge is modelled around a traditional African village and is unique in every way.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Luxury suites are a treat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathryn Straughan, General Manager at Leshiba Wilderness
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Dear Georgina Thank you for your special review and for taking the time to write it. We are delighted you had a wonderful time and that you appreciated all the small details. We really look forward to having you back. Our warmest wishes Kathryn, Lukas, Joyce and the Leshiba Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Desiree A wrote a review Nov 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a pleasure planning this trip was from our dealings with Avril to finalise our booking details to the day of our arrival and meeting the beautiful soul Kathryn and her amazing staff!

Our approach to Leshiba was breathtaking as the scenery and Soutpansberg Mountains open one’s heart, mind and soul to the wonders of Nature.

Our stay in one of the original Venda Rooms in the Venda Art Lodge was memorable. Everything one requires was thoughtfully planned and beautifully executed!

Lucas, and his team, Milano, Josephine, Joyce as well as Jack our Guide for our Morning Walks and late afternoon Game Drives were so happy to welcome and look after us. The nutritious meals were created with love and we enjoyed dining on the deck and cosy Dining-room with beautiful views of the Lodge.

We were sad to say our Goodbye’s but know that we will be back to spend more happy times with the precious animals and the healing power of nature!
🙏🌿🌻☀️💦🍋🍓🥬🌈🦓🦒🐾❤️
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathryn Straughan, General Manager at Leshiba Wilderness
Responded 21 Nov 2021
Dear Desiree It was so wonderful to meet you and spend some time together. I am so glad you found us and loved your stay. Thank you for your special words and your caring heart. We look forward to you returning soon. Have a beautiful day Kathryn and everyone at Leshiba
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TomInTheHoed wrote a review Feb 2022
Hoedspruit, South Africa28 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Leshiba was so much more than what we expected, the accommodation, the friendly and attentive staff, the scenery, the biodiversity and the San art, everything was a surprise.

Our accommodation was definitively LAVISH, perched on the edge of the hill with magnificent views and giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, etc., grazing beneath us. Showing outdoors under the stars watched by mermaids - special. I got the feeling the sculptures on the pathway joined me as I stood between them appreciating a very special sighting out the back.

Lukas, Josephina and Peter could not have been more attentive and nothing was ever too much trouble, the food was delicious, Lukas always ensuring that our daughter, a very picky eater, was catered for.

A morning walk with Peter was special, his knowledge is amazing as is his willingness to share his unmistakeable passion for the environment he works in. Living next to the Kruger National Park, we are privileged to do many safaris, Peter's afternoon game drive through habitat so different to what we are used to, rates as one of the best we have experienced, the birds, the trees, the geology and the plains game - one does not need the Big 5 to have a memorable game drive.

Thank you Leshiba to opening our eyes to the Soutpansberg and a little bit of Venda Culture, our first time visit to this beautiful region, but wont be our last.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lara Luis, Marketing at Leshiba Wilderness
Responded 18 Mar 2022
Hi Tom. We're so glad you finally made it. It was great having you and your family. Thank you for the kind words. We do try to go out of our way. :-) We hope that you'll be back again! See you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephan Malherbe wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visiting Leshiba is to be let into a hidden world. It lies high in the Soutpansberg mountains in a landscape of pristine African savannah and forest as can scarcely be imagined to still exist. And yet here it is, 25 000 hectares, four hundred tree species, for thousands of years a seasonal refuge for San people; vistas and valleys and swimming and rock art and Venda sculptures. And here you are too, in the midst of all this, body and soul rejuvenated. Better to stay a bit longer than you’d planned, to let the place seep in properly.

We stayed in the Farmhouse. It is a contemporary and luxurious renovation of a 1970s farmhouse with five en-suite bedrooms. As is so often the case with Leshiba, the conventional description doesn’t begin to capture it. What is it, then? A lovely amalgam of light, space, textures and, above all, place. The house is perched atop a valley of virgin growth, with a stoep looking due east to the sun rising in the crisp early morning above the serried lines of the Soutpansberg. It is super comfortable, pleasing and stylish, with wonderful food and service, if you want it.

The Farmhouse is a good place for a small group that has to plan strategy, as we did at a long table outside. It is also just the thing for a glorious family holiday or for a group of friends with something big to celebrate. There are other wonderful accommodation options at Leshiba too, larger and smaller, lavish and simple, in a little art cluster, or out in the valley. All of it bears the warm and exacting imprint of the Rosmarin and Straughan family. Thank you, John, for this great and enduring act of generosity.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathryn Straughan, General Manager at Leshiba Wilderness
Responded 02 Aug 2022
Dear Stephan, it was such a pleasure meeting you and your team and we're delighted that you were able to come up to us. Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write such a special consideration of all that Leshiba is. We look forward to you returning with your family, staying for longer, walking and exploring and taking in more of the magic that is here to be shared. Our best wishes Kathryn and the Leshiba Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sephus L wrote a review Feb 2020
Fourways, South Africa48 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was lucky enough to spend one night ( way too short ) on this amazing farm . The abundance of animals together with the beautiful mountains , trees and general landscape make this a very special spot to visit . The accommodation is perfectly situated and beautifully furnished - One can see that this place is loved by its people !!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Blanka B wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our time at the Leshiba was fantastic. The owner and the staff welcomed us with warm heart, the accomodation is beautiful and unique and the meals are delicious. We took the game drive on the afternoon where we saw almost all the animals from the reserve and and finished wathing the sunset with a glass of wine just next to the rhinos! Next morning we had a guided walk through the reserve where we learned a lot about animals, nature, history and so much more. The guide Peters knowledge is exceptional. I would also mention the nice little gift shop they have and a little art museum. I hope I can come back one day for a longer stay andhike all their trails.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathryn Straughan, General Manager at Leshiba Wilderness
Responded 21 Nov 2021
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. We really appreciate that you had a wonderful time with us and we look forward to you returning one day. All the best Kathryn and the Leshiba Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trainers706 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa22 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don't have a 4 x 4, they will fetch you from the bottom of the hill. Your car is perfectly safe 👌 "
Read full review
georgiegirl7 wrote a tip Jan 2023
Ower, United Kingdom542 contributions72 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Standard rooms are small so book one of the luxury suites if you can. Take a torch for the evenings."
Read full review
OnSafariAgain wrote a tip Jan 2023
Wellingborough, United Kingdom150 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a Lavish Suite like Tadulu which was brilliant for privacy, views and sooo comfortable."
Read full review
Gemma N wrote a tip Jul 2022
Llanbrynmair, United Kingdom82 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Challenging track, limited internet access, but neither of these detract from the experience."
Read full review
jaffee wrote a tip May 2021
Hoedspruit, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Luxury suites are a treat."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Louis Trichardt area.
PRICE RANGE
R 6,459 - R 6,657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceLouis Trichardt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LESHIBA WILDERNESS - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Louis Trichardt, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Leshiba Wilderness
What are some of the property amenities at Leshiba Wilderness?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Leshiba Wilderness?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Leshiba Wilderness?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leshiba Wilderness?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Leshiba Wilderness have airport transportation?
Yes, Leshiba Wilderness offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Leshiba Wilderness?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Leshiba Wilderness have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire