We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Soutpansberg, Louis Trichardt 0920 South Africa
eDreams
Priceline
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (242)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 22 Specialty lodging in Louis Trichardt
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Leshiba is a private game reserve on top of the Soutpansberg Mountains with over 380 indigenous tree species and abundant animal and bird life. Walk amongst wildlife, along spectacular trails through forests, across plains, down breathtaking gorges with sparkling pools. Visit Bushmen caves with ancient rock art. Enjoy sundowner game drives and look out for giraffe, zebra, leopard, porcupines and pangolins. Accommodation includes the extraordinary Venda Art Lodge created together with acclaimed local artist, Noria Mabasa and Hamasha Bush Camp remotely situated and nestled within a spectacular amphitheatre of high cliffs. Escape to your own private hideaway in two luxury suites with endless views across the valley and private plunge pools. Pure cotton linen, delicious baths, candlelight and solar lamps add to the romance. Malaria Free. Fair Trade accredited. An Unforgettable Experience!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Airport transportation
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Outdoor fireplace
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
Soutpansberg, Louis Trichardt 0920 South Africa
Getting there
Polokwane Airport96 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
237Reviews1Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 213
  • 20
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
CJ P wrote a review 02 Aug
Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions
What an amazing stay!!! Rooms and views are spectacular and the service and cuisine outstanding. A special thank you to our hosts, Kathryn and Peter, and of course Lucas and Joyce. Well worth the visit, we will be back again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephan Malherbe wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Visiting Leshiba is to be let into a hidden world. It lies high in the Soutpansberg mountains in a landscape of pristine African savannah and forest as can scarcely be imagined to still exist. And yet here it is, 25 000 hectares, four hundred tree species, for thousands of years a seasonal refuge for San people; vistas and valleys and swimming and rock art and Venda sculptures. And here you are too, in the midst of all this, body and soul rejuvenated. Better to stay a bit longer than you’d planned, to let the place seep in properly. We stayed in the Farmhouse. It is a contemporary and luxurious renovation of a 1970s farmhouse with five en-suite bedrooms. As is so often the case with Leshiba, the conventional description doesn’t begin to capture it. What is it, then? A lovely amalgam of light, space, textures and, above all, place. The house is perched atop a valley of virgin growth, with a stoep looking due east to the sun rising in the crisp early morning above the serried lines of the Soutpansberg. It is super comfortable, pleasing and stylish, with wonderful food and service, if you want it. The Farmhouse is a good place for a small group that has to plan strategy, as we did at a long table outside. It is also just the thing for a glorious family holiday or for a group of friends with something big to celebrate. There are other wonderful accommodation options at Leshiba too, larger and smaller, lavish and simple, in a little art cluster, or out in the valley. All of it bears the warm and exacting imprint of the Rosmarin and Straughan family. Thank you, John, for this great and enduring act of generosity.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Straughan, General Manager at Leshiba Mountain Retreat
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Stephan, it was such a pleasure meeting you and your team and we're delighted that you were able to come up to us. Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write such a special consideration of all that Leshiba is. We look forward to you returning with your family, staying for longer, walking and exploring and taking in more of the magic that is here to be shared. Our best wishes Kathryn and the Leshiba Team
Read more
infoJ1520LQ wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
What an amazing place! We were not even able to explore all of the hidden treasures at Leshiba but will hopefully go back for more exploring. Service and facilites are unique and unmatched in so many ways. Definitely a place to tell other people about!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Luis, Marketing at Leshiba Mountain Retreat
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back soon, to explore all our hidden treasures.
Read more
larissa544 wrote a review Jul 2022
Cape Town, South Africa4 contributions1 helpful vote
This is one of the most beautiful places you will possible go to...no words or photographs can fully do it justice. This is the second time we have been there, and we loved it as much the second time as the first, and we hope to return again. Leshiba is located in the most exquisite part of the Soutpansberg Mountains...the air is fresh, the views breathtaking, and it is totally peaceful and remote. The accommodation is generous, luxurious, and utterly unique. The Venda art works form part of the architecture; they is tasteful and creative. We opted both times for the fully catered option, which I highly recommend...the food is varied and very delicious. The staff are thoughtful and attentive, and it is clear that they are immensely proud of this remarkable place. The game drives and walks are an unexpected delight at every sensory level...the rangers are very knowledgeable about the entire history, wildlife and every aspect of this piece of heaven. I would recommend Leshiba without hesitation...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Straughan, General Manager at Leshiba Mountain Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Larissa, we LOVE having you and your family come visit. Thank you so much for your special words and appreciation. We can't wait to have you back! Our warmest wishes, Kathryn and the whole team.
Read more
Gemma N wrote a review Jul 2022
Llanbrynmair, United Kingdom71 contributions67 helpful votes
Fabulous! After a bumpy and lengthy drive up the private track (4x4 recommended!) we reached Leshiba- a secret paradise on top of the World. Very comfortable accommodation, incredible personal service from Lukas and Josephina, stunning views and a sense of tranquillity that is hard to find in our frenetic lives. Thank you Lukas!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Challenging track, limited internet access, but neither of these detract from the experience.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Luis, Marketing at Leshiba Mountain Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there Gemma. It was a pleasure having you visit. Thank you for your kind words, we will definitely pass them on to Lukas, Josephina and the team. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Machelle S wrote a review Jun 2022
Swellendam, South Africa101 contributions3 helpful votes
As usual a fantastic visit. Lukas and team are amazing - always going that extra mile. Thanks to Jack for showing us the ropes in the newly renovated Hamasha camp. Magic indeed. T5 and T7 were enjoyed by all and we had the Giraffes along for company! Never got up to Bob's rock this time as the marker it seems had been "removed" by the four footed creatures. The whole experience Tonic for ones Mind. Well done team Leshiba...tilll next time..stay safe and happy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Luis, Marketing at Leshiba Mountain Retreat
Responded 13 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time for your review. We loved having you back! Thank you for the info on the trails and marker, will definitely look into it. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Carsten S wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
In April my wife and I (60 years plus) stayed at Leshiba for the fourth time. It is a truly wonderful lodge -- we are quite spoilt traveling wise, but Leshiba is top notch. The setting in a remote valley in Soutpansberg is tranquil and Shangri-La like. We are avid hikers and spent two whole days wandering around on the well maintained trail system. The nice and very competent people working at the lodge are a major attraction for us as guests. We stayed in a Lavish Suite with all thinkable amenities and stunning views. Carsten Schou Danish biologist
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Luis, Marketing at Leshiba Mountain Retreat
Responded 11 May 2022
Hi Carsten. It was so wonderful having you and Aase visit us again after a couple of years' hiatus due to the pandemic. :-) We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay once again and we hope to see you again really soon! Kind regards from all of us.
Read more
madrevanderwalt wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We had such an amazing time staying at Leshiba! Lukas and team were great hosts, the food was delicious and the views from our room was stunning. We really enjoyed the guided walk and learned quite a bit from Peter! Would highly recommend Leshiba for a relaxing getaway in the mountains!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Luis, Marketing at Leshiba Mountain Retreat
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Hi Madre. So glad you and your hubby enjoyed your little break away to us. It was lovely having you! We hope you do indeed make it back again soon!
Read more
Dave v wrote a review Mar 2022
Hoedspruit, South Africa4 contributions
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hidden gem together with our friends. Superb location, quality, hospitality and service. We will definitely return in the near future to discover more of this diverse area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Luis, Marketing at Leshiba Mountain Retreat
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Not too long a drive from Hoedspruit, so glad you made it out to us in the West. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is much appreciated. :-) We really do hope to see you again soon!
Read more
340leonie wrote a review Mar 2022
Spelle, Germany6 contributions3 helpful votes
We rent the mountain cottage and it was wonderfull. No sound only nature and your own breathing. The cabin has everything you need and the surroundings just so pure and the parafine lamps complimented that pure feeling - that zen feeling. The interieur and little attentions are a very tastefull. The road to the main gate is a lush for your 4x4, just take it slow to avoid your motor getting to hot. After the gate the road is OK. We shall definately book at Leshiba again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Luis, Marketing at Leshiba Mountain Retreat
Responded 12 Apr 2022
So glad the vehicle made the trip. Lol. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is much appreciated. :-) We really do hope to see you again soon, when you need more zen!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$381 - US$399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceLouis Trichardt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leshiba Mountain Retreat
What are some of the property amenities at Leshiba Mountain Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Leshiba Mountain Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Leshiba Mountain Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leshiba Mountain Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Leshiba Mountain Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Leshiba Mountain Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Leshiba Mountain Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Leshiba Mountain Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.