We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
N4 Highway, Mjejane Game Reserve Stand 31, Kruger National Park 1330 South Africa
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (14)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (4)

About

#138 of 182 in Kruger National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This 5-star bush lodge offers an exclusively luxurious self-catering safari experience in the world-famous area of Kruger National Park, South Africa. LeoLapa is perched on the scenic banks of one of Africa’s greatest natural landscapes – the Crocodile River. The river is surrounded by tens of thousands of hectares of the raw African wilderness and it is here that places of water are considered places of life. It is here that all forms of wildlife are drawn to the riverine habitat to feed and to quench their thirst. It is here where the paths of predators and prey cross, here where you are assured of breathtaking wildlife experiences, in the luxurious comfort of this private fully-equipped self-catering lodge.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Spa
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Car park
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
29Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Expedition735058 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
A wonderful entrance down a long passage to a beautiful view from the patio to the Olifants River. Smiles from the staff to welcome us, sundowners on the large patio and infinity pool, well stocked kitchen and lovely lounge area. Bedrooms and bathrooms clean and comfy too - absolutely wonderful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Dalton, Guest Services / Front Office at LeoLapa
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review us via Triipadvisr, my apologies for the late reply, but TripAdvisor did not notifiy me of the review. We are always happy to share our :Little Piece of Heaven" with fellow bush lovers. The staff cannot wait to welcome you back again soon. Keep safe Gail
Read more
OpenSkiesWild wrote a review Jan 2022
Hoedspruit, South Africa9 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed as a family for the 2021/2022 new years period and it was pure heaven. The unit has everything you could possibly need and want. I have stayed throughout the Kruger and South Africa and the unit has everything and everything in working order. The location is simply superb, the views over the river, the privacy you feel it is just incredible. To lie in bed and hear the Hippo's grunting and lions roaring in the distance was very special. I can highly recommend and stay at Leolapa.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Amazing views and a well-appointed unit!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Dalton, Guest Services / Front Office at LeoLapa
Responded 21 Mar 2022
My apologies for not replying sooner, but did not receive the notification from TripAdvisor. Thank you for your beautiful review and recommendations. It really is great to be in the middle of the bush listening to the sounds of wildlife and nature surrounding you. We hope to have you visit again soon. Travel and stay safe Gail
Read more
Wayne and Mari K wrote a review Dec 2019
Midrand, South Africa216 contributions44 helpful votes
A beautiful place with a perfect view of the river, the game drives are great but no need to leave the house as game viewing from the deck is excellent.The en-suite bedrooms are beautiful and quiet.A worthwhile bush experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Dalton, Guest Services / Front Office at LeoLapa
Responded 07 Dec 2021
I am assisting the LeoLapa and found that none of the reviews have been replied to. Thank you for sharing your special experience with us. The African bush is waiting to welcome you back.
Read more
Richard wrote a review Nov 2019
4 contributions
Every time we visit Leo Lapa we are amazed and delighted - and this trip was no different! :) A constant stream of game passed us at the river, with lots of local residents too! The viewing from the deck makes it almost unnecessary to go on the game drives...although Muntu is a delight; and delivered many fantastic sightings! A leopard sighting was awesome; but we really loved switching the game vehicle off and quietly listening to the sounds of the bush while a herd of well over 100 buffaloes walked all around us. Saw 4 of the Big 5, plus lots more - and much of it from the luxury that is Leo Lapa on the Crocodile River :) Love this place - and will definitely return, again and again - thanks! Richard
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Dalton, Guest Services / Front Office at LeoLapa
Responded 07 Dec 2021
I am assisting the LeoLapa and found that none of the reviews have been replied to. Thank you for sharing your special experience with us. The African bush is waiting to welcome you back.
Read more
BoltonDaedalus wrote a review Sep 2019
27 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I can highly recommend this as a place to have your own private safari experience or as a staging point for venturing into the Kruger national park itself. Leolapa is situated in the Mjejane Game Reserve which is part of the greater Kruger National Park. It's possible to see the Big 5 without leaving the pool (a little luck is required though!). We stayed at Leolapa whilst visiting South Africa in March this year. I think the place can accommodate 10 in 5 two-person rooms but we just had the one room. The accommodation is really nice. I think it would be amazing for an extended trip with an extended family or a group of friends. As you walk in there is a long corridor with the rooms either side. Everything is on one level. You get an immediate 'wow' factor. I first checked out the room as I dropped off our bags. The rooms are pretty big and we had what I think was a king-size bed. The mattress was very comfortable (firm). The en-suite has both an internal freestanding bath and separate shower and an outside shower too. Everything is very clean and the beds were made every day. There was lots of storage but there weren't any UK power adaptors so make sure you bring the UK to South African plug adaptors. Now the bags were dropped off I went down the lounge. It is an awesome open-plan space. Inside to the left was a bar area (you do have to stock this yourself) and a snooker table. In the centre is a lounge area with a large flat-screen TV and then to the far right is a good-sized kitchen area and dining table. There is everything you need to cook and there is also a washing machine and tumble dryer should you need to do any laundry. There is also a dishwasher too. Everything was very clean here too. The whole rear of the property is glass which gives you an amazing view of the river. Once you get outside there is a wide patio area and an infinity pool. There is also a large outdoor dining table and the standard braai BBQ area. Just next to the pool there is also a decent-sized fire pit too. From the pool you can see across the river and that is where you get a real treat. We saw so many different animals. We saw lions (although that was on the dirt road leading up the lodge), elephants, giraffe, hippos buffalo, crocodiles, eagles, boar, kudu, impala and lots of other animals too. To sum up. Great place. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Possibility of seeing the big 5 whilst floating in the pool.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Dalton, Guest Services / Front Office at LeoLapa
Responded 07 Dec 2021
I am assisting the LeoLapa and found that none of the reviews have been replied to. Thank you for sharing your special experience with us. The African bush is waiting to welcome you back.
Read more
AlanMendy wrote a review Aug 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa368 contributions84 helpful votes
Ever wanting to have a undisturbed break this is it. Comfortable rooms and beds . The game viewing is amazing . You can see numerous animals from your accommodation. Perfect setting on the river . Crocks and hippo on call all the time . A few days at this reserve feels like a month away . Very relaxing
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Dalton, Guest Services / Front Office at LeoLapa
Responded 07 Dec 2021
I am assisting the LeoLapa and found that none of the reviews have been replied to. Thank you for sharing your special experience with us. The African bush is waiting to welcome you back.
Read more
AvonRdGuestHouse wrote a review Feb 2016
Boksburg Johannesburg4 contributions4 helpful votes
Absolutely stunning place, very spacious and modern with the most amazing view onto the Crocodile River, there is everything that you could possibly require in the house, definateley 5 star. I spent five days with friends at Leolapa in the Mjejane Game Reserve which was awesome, the bedrooms had a king size bed or two three quarter beds with everything that you required with beautiful bathrooms, Leolapa can sleep 10 people very comfortably and the living area is huge, we had a braai two nights and as we were on holiday just cooked small meals, the only thing that we had to do was to buy food on the way to Leolapa, there is a small shopping centre 30 minutes from Leolapa where you can buy your fresh products, a lot of time was spent in the infinity pool watching the animals drinking and swimming in the river it was so relaxing and I had to keep pinching myself, we saw the big four everyday and one day a pride of lions. Muntu our Game Ranger was brilliant, he has an amazing personality and introduced a point system for all the animals that we spotted, the staff really looked after us, I really felt as if I was in Paradise, I would like to recommend Leolapa to any prospective guests who I am sure will have as much fun and enjoyment as I did.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: All the rooms were stunning
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Dalton, Guest Services / Front Office at LeoLapa
Responded 07 Dec 2021
I am assisting the LeoLapa and found that none of the reviews have been replied to. Thank you for sharing your special experience with us. The African bush is waiting to welcome you back.
Read more
suer931 wrote a review Jul 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution2 helpful votes
Another great trip to the best house we know. So proud to be able to go and enjoy this beautiful home with friends and family. This time it was with our cousins from Zimbabwe and Botswana and they just loved their 4 days in the bush. Prior to that we had both houses for some of our close friends - ex hockey players. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Dalton, Guest Services / Front Office at LeoLapa
Responded 07 Dec 2021
I am assisting the LeoLapa and found that none of the reviews have been replied to. Thank you for sharing your special experience with us. The African bush is waiting to welcome you back.
Read more
UnhandledException wrote a review May 2015
Seattle, Washington40 contributions38 helpful votes
I would not return. I would not recommend it to others. Upon arrival, we found an amazing house with all the luxuries - pool table, infinity pool, satellite, internet connection, giant BBQ, modern kitchen, full bar, and so forth. The fixtures were modern and the scenery beautiful, but... Unfortunately we arrived to find the power was out, and no backup was provided, so nothing worked except for matches and candles. We were completely unable to enjoy the amenities of the property. The infinity pool was green - it needed some cleaning and chlorination (picture attached). The house was hot, and when we opened the windows to cool off, we discovered none of the windows had screens, so numerous bugs began flying and crawling in. The freezer was defrosting all over the kitchen floor - I slipped and almost broke my head. We had 2 flashlights among 4 couples, so several of us stumbled around in the dark with the light of a few candles. Not the luxury we were hoping for. When we called to discuss the power issue with the manager, they were rude... so we went on a game drive. The game drive was fruitful – we spotted a lion. The private Mjejane game reserve did offer good viewing just minutes from Leolapa, and from the back patio we watched elephants and hippo in the river across the fence (which was normally electrified but off due to the power outage). Note that if you want to leave Mjejane and enter Kruger park, where we had numerous, even better sightings, it is quite a long drive, over 45 minutes. Upon return, the power was still out. We called the manager to request either alternative power (generator, batteries) so that we might enjoy the home or a refund for our second night so that we could stay elsewhere that had power and comfort. The response was downright hostile. This killed the mood and we went to bed sad and uncomfortable, sweating in the heat without fans, with flying insects buzzing about us. There were also quite a few large spiders crawling the walls that instigated shrieks from the girls. This was the lowlight of my visit to the continent. The next day the power remained off, so we packed up and left LeoLapa ahead of our scheduled departure date. It took numerous phone calls before we received a partial refund. This is not good business.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KrugerParkHouses, Manager at LeoLapa
Responded 17 Feb 2020
This review has been acknowledged. We were very disappointed to see this review (now two from the same booking) on our page, especially seeing that we went out of our way to make the guests stay as pleasant as possible given the difficult circumstances. We phoned the guests two hours before they arrived when the electricity went off notifying them of the situation. Unfortunately, this was out of our control and we were apologetic about it, but there was nothing that we could do. The power was off in the whole area due to an Eskom problem and therefore, we could organise no alternate accommodation for the guests. We offered them a free game drive, as well as gave them a refund for their stay. We were not hostile to anyone and are never anything but professional and courteous as is apparent in the previous reviews and the extents to which we tried to help make their stay more pleasant. Please take note, one of the guests accused our booking agent of being a racist after we had given the guests a refund. We encountered severe verbal abuse during this phone call and still don't know how any of this has to do with the quality of our accommodation. This review should have been directed at Eskom.
Read more
JevOnBrown wrote a review May 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions12 helpful votes
This is an amazingly well furnished and spacious lodge with a spectacular view of the river offering great game-watching opportunities. The staff are friendly and efficient and our game ranger, Muntu, was well-informed and entertaining too. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Dalton, Guest Services / Front Office at LeoLapa
Responded 07 Dec 2021
I am assisting the LeoLapa and found that none of the reviews have been replied to. Thank you for sharing your special experience with us. The African bush is waiting to welcome you back.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$547 - US$657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKruger National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about LeoLapa
Which popular attractions are close to LeoLapa?
Nearby attractions include Bushveld Atlantis (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at LeoLapa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at LeoLapa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at LeoLapa?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at LeoLapa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to LeoLapa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jabula Lodge & Restaurant, Phumula Kruger, and bos. Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at LeoLapa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at LeoLapa?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at LeoLapa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.