Bushriver Lodge

Bushriver Lodge

R40 Mica Along the Olifants River, Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380 South Africa
Traveller (185)
Hlatifula Main Lodge - River view
Room & Suite (17)
All for you (and two other guests)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#19 of 71 lodges in Hoedspruit
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Bushriver Lodge is a private game lodge situated 25km from Hoedspruit on the banks of the Olifants River in the Limpopo Province. We offer the discerning guest fully catered or self-catering accommodation in luxury units with en-suite bathroom facilities and air-conditioning. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen and private braai area. For bigger groups we have the Hlatifula main Lodge which can sleep up to 13 guests in 4 private rooms , en suite. Marula Camp is a 4- bedroom rondawel , perfect for families with children . Riverhouse is a private 2-bedroom 2-bathroom house with own pool and deck , and a thatch lapa verandah and braai area . Kingfisher Cottage is a 2 bedroom , 1 bathroom cottage with own patio and braai area , situated close to Riverhouse and can be booked together for larger groups We have 2 swimming pools that provide a chance to cool off during the hot summer days. Main pool is centrally situated and can be accessed by the whole camp, the other is for the private pleasures of the Hlatifula lodge. Being centrally situated, it is the ideal place from which to explore the Kruger National Park and surrounding lowveld. A wide range of activities are offered to ensure that your stay with us remain as memorable as can be. Essentially, Bushriver Safari Lodge is a destination suitable for singles, couples, romantics, families and groups. With its diverse offerings of wildlife, river frontage position, luxury accommodation options and well appointed position for day outings to all the major attractions like the Kruger Park and other places you may want to visit, all makes it a winning destination of choice. Set deep in the heart of the African bushveld, and teaming with wild and bird life of a diverse nature, Bushriver Lodge can offer to you an amazing game viewing experience. Game viewing opportunities are constantly available to ensure that all our visitors get to enjoy the feel of an African safari. If you prefer an adventurous walk in the bush, or prefer to sit back, relax and view the activity of Hippos and Crocodiles in the river, it's all here. The opportunity to join a game drive to see the Big 5 are available. To elaborate on the game viewing options which Bushriver Lodge has to offer: A gentle morning stroll along the river will relax your senses, or for the more energetic, bush walks are always exciting. Game drives provide guests with the opportunity to view the game from an open vehicle. Wildlife photographers paradise. Bird watchers can enjoy the abundance of birds in the natural bush. Combine stargazing and the sounds of the night life of the wild. Game viewing is but one of the specialities which Bushriver Lodge offers as a four star African Game Lodge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Books, DVDs, music for children
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Breakfast available
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Minibar
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Dutch, German and 2 more

Location

R40 Mica Along the Olifants River, Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380 South Africa
Getting there
Hoedspruit Airport
28.3 km
See all flights
Phalaborwa Airport
47.2 km
See all flights
457Reviews8Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 363
  • 72
  • 8
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Amy880211 wrote a review Apr 2021
Hoedspruit, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a lovely stay with my boyfriend! The bath had an amazing view on the river and so did our veranda. It was lovely and tranquil. Had the trumpeter horn bills around in the morning when we had our coffee and tea on our private veranda which was lovely! The room and the main area and shared kitchen were very clean and we could find everything we needed to do self catering. We will definitely go back again!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryony Kate Howard wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay at Bushriver lodge. We were on a 3-month Africa trip and this was the only place we stayed in that had a communal kitchen of such a good quality. We loved it! It was really well-equipped. We had our own fridge and shelf and it was surprisingly clean and tidy at all times. My partner was raving about the good quality of the kitchen equipment, particularly the knives This along with the bar and dining area was amazing.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely Melody. Having her around was so amazing. She was fun and solved all our problems for us. One of the nicest hotel managers we met.
We liked the pool area. Although small, it was under a huge tree and dappled sunlight came through.
We stayed in 2 rooms, both of which we loved. Nr 1 which had the hugest bathtub I have ever seen and which was lovely, and the honeymoon suite nr 5 which was stunning, had one of the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen in a hotel along with a huge deck.
We absolutely loved this place. You have to be aware that there are a lot of baboons around. Their antics are very cute but they got into the kitchen once and stole food! The lodge are working on a solution to this.
In any case, we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 5 more expensive but worth it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
E L wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for a place where you can relax and experience the bush differently after going on safaris, Bushriver Lodge is definitely the place to go! With a gorgeous view on the Olifants River, and the African bush in the backyard with wildlife roaming freely around you, you will get to experience amazing bird and mammal sightings. And you won't leave without hearing the hippos in the evening!
During my stay, I particularly loved the intimate and peaceful atmosphere of the deck facing the river, and the bath and bed with a direct river view! The staff was very welcoming, the room very perfectly clean and the lodge standards were beyond my expectations.
I definitely recommend Bushriver lodge to solo travellers, couples and families! Enjoy and thank you to the team!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KWong wrote a review Jun 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to the Covid virus we were not able to go to South Africa. I mailed several times with Wessel from Bush river lodge and Agoda if it is possible to get a refund. Wessel from Bush river Lodge said he didn't receive the money from Agoda yet, so he couldn't refund the money. A different story was told by Agoda: Agoda said that Bush river lodge didn't want to refund the money, but I was allowed to change the date, however the new date must be given within one day. This is the funny thing, how am I supposed to give a new date if it is not known when the international border of South Africa will be open again. I mailed this to Agoda three times, but I didn't get any reply anymore. So I paid 97 euros for nothing. I am really disappointed in the service of Agoda and Bush River Lodge. Will never make a new booking with them again!!!

King
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rjmbrand wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Because of the covid19 virus we were unable to travel to south africa. Despite promises from Wessel Wessels we still have not received our money back. Agreements are not kept. Really bad.When booking it also went wrong due to a double charge on the credit card.
Too bad, the accommodation seemed nice, but the handling of Mr. Wessels is lousy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Allin, Owner at Bushriver Lodge
Responded 15 Feb 2021
Very sorry to hear that. We have recently taken over the property so I am unaware of the details. If you email me I will do my best to take it up with the previous owners to ensure you get your money back
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laila j wrote a review Mar 2020
Wilnis, The Netherlands
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel in such a lovely place. Very nice nature with a large deck to have some drinks, breakfast/dinner and to relax and see some hippos and crocodiles. Beautiful romantic room with a large tub and a nice seat with river view. Would highly recommend this place its so beautiful and the owner is very nice and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Niels R wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A stunning location in the midst of the bush. Sightings of crocs and hippos are no exception at this amazing site. Wessel is a great host, very welcoming and knowledgeable. The rooms are luxurious, air conditioned and spacious. Would definitely recommend, for a couple or a large group.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karin S wrote a review Jan 2023
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights and Leo the manager helped us with tips & tricks
and brought us everywhere before we had our car. Service was great, but selfcatering. Room was big enough and nice beds. Shower enough power. The pool is small but nice. We were lucky to see giraffes, zebra's, bavianen, velvetmonkeys the first day and the last day a hippo in the water out of our room. Nice relaxed atmoshere!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had room 2 . Was for 4 persons, we were with 3 . You don't want to ly on the attic because...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leonie wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful place to stay, very quiet and relaxing. Rooms are very nice and very clean! Great place along the river, ample opportunity for wildlife watching and bird watching. Great sunsets from the deck at the main lodge. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mpho T wrote a review Apr 2015
Johannesburg
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay there was terrible all thanks to your partners bad attitude in welcoming us just because we arrived late due to the problems we encountered on the road. And the rude instruction we got advising us to move our car and telling us that we are messing the garden. I wouldnt bother coming back to ur lodge!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge
Responded 24 Apr 2015
At Bushriver Lodge we pride ourselves in outstanding service and hospitality, as any of our past guests, and more so, returning guests will vow for. Sometimes things does not go according to plan and when so, regardless the circumstances, we ensure as little to no inconvenience to our valued guests. You are one of our valued guests and it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay here as that was not the impression I had when you were here. Needless to say, your review came as a surprice to me, and hence, I feel obliged to state the correct facts. I personally phoned you around seven o' clock to find out where you are as it was getting late, we were concerned, and there was no communication prior that you would be checking in late. You assured me that you are not far away, however when I asked you, you refused to tell me where you are. We tried many times after that to call you but could not get hold of you again on the phone. I personally wait up for you until 02H00 in the morning. You arrived at the lodge at 6H30 the next morning. Natali said to you it would have been appreciated had you let us know that you are not coming the previous night. As for the garden. There is a double car-port where you could park, but for some reason, you drove, not only once, but repetitively, onto the wet lawn leaving deep tyre marks. You even removed a log we put there to prevent you continuing to do so. As always, feel free to contact me should you feel the need to discuss this or if there is anything we could do. Kind regards. Wessel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clarissa Z asked a question Apr 2018
2 contributions
Is the food and drink included in the room price?
Answer from Wessel-Bushriver
Hoedspruit, South Africa
No it is not
Answer from Wessel-Bushriver
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Good afternoon. Unfortunately we cannot allow fishing as this is a conservation area and further also very dangerous with the crocodiles and hippo's.
Answer from Wessel-Bushriver
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Good afternoon. Eastgate airport at Hoedspruit is closest. Yes we do have a restaurant on the premises. You should just let us know beforehand if you want to include meals. Kind regards Wessel
Answer from Wessel-Bushriver
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Good evening. I can arrange walks in the Kruger and will have transport for you to go there. I can also assist with town trips in order to buy food etc. If you stay in the main lodge we can cater for you. Please feel free to contact me directly. Kind regards Wessel
Answer from Wessel-Bushriver
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Hi There. Thank you for your interest. As mentioned above, the Panorama route, (Blyde canyon), is a must. You can easily do day-trips to the Kruger Park, and then also visit the Moholoholo sanctuary, the Endangered species centre, the silk farm, etc. On the farm you can also do long and short hikes and mountain biking. I trust this helps a little bit. Regards Wessel
Karin S wrote a tip Jan 2023
Amsterdam, The Netherlands13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had room 2 . Was for 4 persons, we were with 3 . You don't want to ly on the attic because of the heat . So perfect for 3 persons."
Read full review
Lauren wrote a tip Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room up the stairs has a lot of space and a cute balcony for morning coffee"
Read full review
Bryony Kate Howard wrote a tip Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom193 contributions178 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 5 more expensive but worth it!"
Read full review
maropeng wrote a tip Aug 2019
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms next to the dining are very safe, not easily accesed by hippos"
Read full review
752tanjap wrote a tip Dec 2018
Durban, South Africa33 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 5 is gorgeous"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hoedspruit area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,547 - R 1,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKruger National ParkHoedspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUSHRIVER LODGE | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Hoedspruit, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bushriver Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Bushriver Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Bushriver Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Bushriver Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Bushriver Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bushriver Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bushriver Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bushriver Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Portuguese, Dutch, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Does Bushriver Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
All Hoedspruit HotelsHoedspruit Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HoedspruitHotels near Bushriver Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire