Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor

Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor

R40, Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380 South Africa
Traveller (544)
Dining (63)
Pollbereich mit Blick auf eine Wasserstelle im Busch
Pool & Beach (55)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#13 of 71 lodges in Hoedspruit
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Scanning the majestic Northern Drakensberg mountain range, the Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor wooden decked terrace offers a sweeping panoramic view, which will leave you breathless! Khaya Ndlovu is situated in the northern corner of the big game Rietspruit Game Reserve, a stone's throw from the Kruger National Park. Khaya Ndlovu Manor House - more than just a "game lodge experience". Whilst the sun sets on a dreamy day, sip on a sundowner chosen from our well stocked bar, before enjoying the four course dinner offered every night. As South Africa is home to a host of different cultures, our trained chefs provide a tempting sampler of the rich assortment of culinary traditions. Special requirements are catered for. Retreat to an intimate haven of relaxation and indulge in one of the many treatments offered by our mini spa. Listen to the sounds of the African bush whilst our trained therapist spoils you rotten! We also offer a host of activities for non-residents and overnight guests such as BIG 5 game drives, trips into Kruger in open or closed vehicles, explore the Panorama Route and Blyde Canyon and much more! This is your perfect luxurious base to explore the Greater Kruger area and all the treasures to be discovered!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Patio
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Butler service
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
519Reviews6Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 446
  • 59
  • 9
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
tigermomma2017 wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Altos, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the privilege of staying in this beautiful manor house in Hoedspruit. The manor house is owned by the gentlemen who owns quite a bit of land in the area and he happened to be on site when we were there. We were welcomed with a delicious juice with a splash of grenadine (my daughter’s new favorite drink). We were literally staying in this gentlemen’s home that he has turned into a lodge. It is beautifully decorated and as you walk through the home onto the deck, facing the infinity pool that looks out over the veld and the mountains, it was definitely a ‘wow’ moment. We saw zebra and impala at the watering hole within minutes of arriving. Not sure how many people were staying there but it didn’t seem crowded at all. We had our own table for meals. We paid for the afternoon game drive and were in a truck with one other local couple. Though the reserve is not very large, we saw rhino, lions, zebra and giraffe. The game drive was very reasonably priced. If your main priority is wildlife viewing, I don’t think that you need to stay here more than one evening; our game viewing in Sabi Sand and Kruger was much more diverse but this was a great introduction. All the meals were very good with very large portions. Of all the places we stayed we think that the food at Khaya Ndlovu was the best. I believe that their restaurant is also available for reservations to locals in town. The service is very personal and intimate. We had two rooms in a separate wing of the house that had its own sitting area and a shared bathroom. The bathroom was very nice and the beds had mosquito netting over them that were drawn down for us in the evenings. We didn’t see any mosquitos but it was fun to sleep under a mosquito net for the first time. Wi-Fi was strong. This was a great way to officially start our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taylor_Fun wrote a review Sept 2022
St. John's
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The lodge is absolutely stunning, and the view from the main deck and infinity pool was breathtaking, we saw wild life every day. The staff was very welcoming, helpful and kind, they made you feel like you were at home. Ronald was our main person who helped us during our two night stay and he provided exceptional service. The chef was very personable and came out to mingle with the guests. The staff took care of everything helping us to arrange airport transfers and tours. The grounds and rooms were well kept and beautifully appointed, there is two resident cats who were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rinus Steyn wrote a review Mar 2020
Pretoria, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Kaya Ndlovo, a luxury nature experience in it's own class.

Arive to beautiful gardens and greeted by a picture perfect panoramic view of the Drakensberg Mountains ,with the African bush at it's footsteps from the wood deck where the world class chef's present their exeptional four course art under the stars. Only a stone's throw from the Kruger National Park they offer amazing Big 5 game drives like none other. Beutifull luxurious air conditioned rooms, out in nature spa and a wedding venue that can accommodate up to 70 guests.
After a day of experiencing Africa, treat yourself to a sundowner at the pools edge from their fully stocked bar served by their friendly and attentive staff while another day in paradise comes to an end.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean S wrote a review Sept 2020
Durban, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked into Khaya Ndlovu Manor House as an overnight en route to the Kruger Park having flown into OR Tambo and driven through. The venue was welcoming following a heavy down pour that has ensued most of the trip and with intermittent load shedding.

The view from the main dining area is spectacular and the flow of the lounge to the dining area onto the deck and pool is most pleasing. The staff were warm and welcoming and dinner was of a good quality. Despite the load shedding the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable.

The rooms dotted around the main area are comfortable but a bit small.

Breakfast the following morning was good and we enjoyed our brief stay, rested we drove on to the park.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
linda wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
my wife and i had been recommended to spend our last three nights at Khaya Ndlovu.
we arrived with open minds to find this amazing manor House, beautiful gardens, an amazing homely property. the staff were so friendly and helpful. in no time we felt we were surrounded by friends,meals were so perfect, so much to do , and such beautiful views over the Deakensburg Mountains, the water hole with so many animals visiting all day. a beautiful swimming pool overlooking the whole view. just all magic. The game drives were fascinating in the reserve, three big lions, !!!
we hated leaving. Thank you to everyone, Kirsty, Gabriel, Bri, Victory , Lily, and everyone else. you could not have made our stay more memorable.
jack and lInda
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: i am sure all rooms are of a high standard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah A wrote a review Feb 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were booked in for one night as our safari lodge had flood issues.
Unfortunately we had to endure the most appalling valentines dinner- extremely long wait for v sub standard food & 40 minutes even for a glass of wine. Understand that was a one off badly planned evening. Awful.
However our room smelt damp. The bathroom floor was much in need of an up date.
The milk in our fridge was sour. We waited for 15 minutes for coffee at breakfast.
Altogether a very expensive disappointing experience. And horrendously expensive for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: sure they have better rooms than ours was
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shannon Maclean, Marketing at Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor
Responded 27 Feb 2023
Dear Sarah, We were disappointed to receive this review, however, we are not sure if you are aware that we had 160 mm's of rain in the three days prior to your last-minute arrival. The thatched roof in the room that you were booked into had developed a leak and the room had been closed off for maintenance. However, due to the widespread flooding in the Hoedspruit surrounds, accommodation options in the area were scarce, which is why we opened our doors to help the travellers that were stranded and could not get to the outlying lodges. Understandably, the damp smell that you refer to had not had a chance to dissipate with the continuous drizzle falling on the thatch roof. You will recall that after informing one of our service personnel that you were exhausted, you were offered the opportunity to dine apart from the Valentine celebrators, but you chose to join the party. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the celebration on the sky deck to the extent that the other 52 guests did, with most of them remarking on how much they appreciated the affordable four-course meal, as well as the easy-going, relaxed and romantic ambience that was created for the evening. We have spoken to the chef on duty regarding the very sub-standard food that you speak of, and she informs me that your husband did in fact ask her how she prepared the gnocchi so we take some comfort in knowing that your husband obviously enjoyed his meal. We are surprised to hear about the milk in your room being sour, as we use long-life milk for the tea and coffee stations. Had you asked for a replacement jug, the housekeepers would have helped you. We have taken up the breakfast coffee delay with the waitress who served you. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We wish you all the best! Kindest Regards, The Khaya Ndlovu Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim P wrote a review Sept 2020
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently celebrated a special occasion at Khaya Ndlovu. We decided to go for the brunch option. What a lovely experience, from dealing with Shannon to arrange the special day, to Gabrielle, Ashleigh and Surprise who attended to us on the day. The setting is stunning, the food was amazing & the attention to detail impressive. They were so accommodating of the kids, who were able to even cool off in the pool after breakfast. You cannot help leaving feeling uplifting and relaxed. Really special little spot.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ilse wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Because of our wedding anniversary we wanted to go to a special place to have a dinner for 2. We started watching the sun going down, drinking a lovely G&T, served by very friendly waiters. The 3 course dinner was delicious, we could make our choice of different options, all served on beautiful crockery under a full starred moon. The location is amazing, the food very nice and the vibe great. We had a perfect evening and will be back for sure
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dee S wrote a review Oct 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Khaya does not disappoint on any level. Visited with my niece and went on the most amazing game drive. Her eyes were on stalks as we were treated to one amazing sighting after another. The skills and knowledge of our guide and tracker were second to none. She returns to the UK, a very happy girl, with her new found facts of the Big, the Small and the Ugly 5!!!! Sundowners were particularly special as we saw the sun dip down behind the mountains as we enjoyed our respective cokes and G&T's whilst located next to a small watering hole. The resident hippo was kind enough to wait until we finished before exiting the water to graze. My niece will enjoy looking at the many hundreds of photos that were taken of a truly magical few hours in the bush.
Our day had earlier started with the best breakfast. Huge choice from the buffet of cereals, fruits, cheese and pastries followed by a freshly cooked option of smoked trout with poached eggs on a rosti. It more than set us up for our day as we prepared for the game drive with relaxation for a few hours around the pool and stunning sky deck. Strawberry daiquiris were taken whilst we watched game come and go at the watering hole that the lodge overlooks. This really is a special view and not to be missed.
My niece was treated like a Princess by all she met ay Khaya. Thank you for giving her memories that she will never forget.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't miss sun down on the sky deck. Simply stunning views from a special vantage point.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Montjos wrote a review Oct 2022
Midrand, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Celebrated our anniversary here and it was a beautiful experience. Started with a Sundowner then had dinner in a tree restaurant, we experienced loadshedding but the place was prepared for all of that that we did not even feel like we had no electricity.

Terrence was amazing and made sure he informed us with all that the place has to offer. We are definitely coming back for a stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try and arrive at 17H30 to catch an amazing Sunset. Dinner starts at 19h00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Karen B
Helena, Montana30 contributions5 helpful votes
The planes hold 50 or so. Nice flight. Hoedspruit airport is enjoyable with an open air garden in the center with tables and umbrellas. I wouldn’t hesitate to fly in or out on SA.
Christo60 asked a question May 2019
Ottawa, Canada233 contributions147 helpful votes
How much are game drives and why is this not shown on the website ?
Answer from Raymond S
25 contributions3 helpful votes
Morning Christo, 3 people or more R450 per head, 2 people R675, includes drinks and snacks and a knowledgable guide. Lots to see on the reservation,all the big cats, wild dogs no eleies. It's a very special place and if you are lucky enough on the day Trevor the owner will take you on a drive. They will also arrange a Kruger drive, a helicopter flip from their helipad can be arranged to see the Blyde River Kanyon and a whole lot more.
itsMeKmC asked a question Oct 2017
Denver, Colorado133 contributions45 helpful votes
Are game drives included in the stay?
Answer from moga454
Weybridge, United Kingdom64 contributions35 helpful votes
One per day was included in ours...brilliantly engaging! Miss it everyday.
Answer from KhayaNMH
Hoedspruit, South Africa1 contribution
Good day, Thank you for contacting us. Please will you direct your guests as follows: Continue to R40 main road, take road right (towards Hoedspruit) Continue on R40, a few kilometers before you get to Hoedspruit town, they will see us on their left. If they need any further directions they are welcome to contact me; 073 301 1913 Kind regards Cindy Koen General Manager
MarikaGilmore91 asked a question Aug 2018
Materdomini, Italy6 contributions1 helpful vote
is it possible to organize a Safari at the National Kruger Park from this structure?
Answer from jotasa1977
Swiss Alps, Switzerland40 contributions55 helpful votes
Yes it is possible
Pretoria, South Africa5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I can highly recommend ALL of the rooms. Every single room is beautiful."
Read full review
Dee S wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't miss sun down on the sky deck. Simply stunning views from a special vantage point. "
Read full review
Roo S wrote a tip Sept 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a truly beautiful place."
Read full review
cindy n wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid over rated over priced"
Read full review
Jake H wrote a tip May 2023
Kunshan, China20 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be wary of privacy issues if you are staying during peak travel seasons. It is an open, sprawling property -- was once a home and has since been expanded into a lodge."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hoedspruit area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,716 - R 4,982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
LOCATION
South AfricaKruger National ParkHoedspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KHAYA NDLOVU SAFARI MANOR - Now R 3 227 (Was R̶ ̶5̶ ̶4̶6̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Hoedspruit, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor
What are some of the property amenities at Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor?
Top room amenities include a desk, a seating area, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor have airport transportation?
Yes, Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Hoedspruit HotelsHoedspruit Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HoedspruitHotels near Khaya Ndlovu Safari Manor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire