We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shikwari Nature Reserve

Save
Share
R36 JG Strydom / Lydenburg Tunnel Road Valley of Olifants, Mopani District, Hoedspruit 1380 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/07/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Shikwari Nature Reserve
Updated 21/07/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hoedspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shikwari Nature Reserve There are two camps on the reserve which is close to Kruger Park & the Panorama Route. The reserve has Giraffe, Zebra, Wildebeest, Kudu, Impala, Nyala, Waterbuck, Bush Buck, Duiker. Steenbok & Ostrich plus many birds. Enjoy friendly relaxed service in amazing surroundings. Dinner & full Breakfast is offered; usually served al fresco on the veranda or deck boma. Enjoy friendly service in amazing surroundings. Shikwari Suites TGCSA 4 Star Rated Camp offers a fully licensed bar & Premium DSTV & Free Wi-Fi is available to all guest in the lounge/veranda area. Relax on the shady lodge veranda taking in the view & cool off in the pool with an amazing view. This camp offer Dinner Bed & Breakfast only. Six luxury thatched suites are tucked into the natural bush; with private bathrooms & outdoor showers, a small patio & decorated with stylish furniture, a mini fridge stocked on request & choice of beds with percale linen. Enjoy the Hospitality Tray with fresh ground coffee, French coffee press, a choice of quality teas & homemade cookies. There is also a Turndown service with homemade sweets and a paid laundry service. Pangolin Rondavels A comfortable budget option camp. This camp offer B&B or Half Board. There are 4 traditional thatched rondavels consisting of 2 rondavels with a “Bush Bathroom” - outdoor shower, covered toilet & basin plus 2 rondavels who share a separately built bathroom & outdoor shower. Beds offer percale linen & towels are supplied. All rooms have a wardrobe, seating, & hospitality trays with kettle, milk, coffee & teas and ceiling fans. A boma is available for braais; guests need to bring their own braai tools, tableware & charcoal. There is a pool to cool off in after a days sightseeing. There is also a communal lounge where guests can relax in cooler or wet weather days. The Breakfast and/or the Dinner especially prepared for guests; depending on the meal option booked is taken at the main Shikwari Suites camp. Activities. Guided Game drives & walks available at the lodge and trips to Kruger Park with a FGASA guide in an open game vehicle. The reserve is also close many other exciting day trips such as the Panorama and the Graskop Gorge Lift, Blyde boat cruise, Jessica Hippo, Moholoholo and Echo Caves plus some exciting adventure options such as quad biking, paintball and abseiling. Please note: We are unable to accept Day Visitors. Child Rules: Children welcome - 5yrs -12yrs old are accommodated parents at 50% of the Adult sharing rate. Teens 13 -18yrs accommodated at 100% of the adult sharing rate in own room or with one other adult and/or 2 younger siblings. This applies to both camps.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool with view
Bar / lounge
Boating
Hiking
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Banquet room
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
R36 JG Strydom / Lydenburg Tunnel Road Valley of Olifants, Mopani District, Hoedspruit 1380 South Africa
Getting there
Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport119 kmSee all flights
Hoedspruit Airport40 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
83Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 20
  • 11
  • 9
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Explore13991390683 wrote a review Jun 2021
Sandton, South Africa1 contribution
Sue and her small team made our trip very favourable! From the communication leading up to the trip and the experience itself, it was lovely! Attention to detail was a big plus. The room was clean and made up everyday, which was appreciated. Breakfast and dinner were included, and I liked the options of both English and continental breakfasts. The location is about 35kms from the nearest town, not too bad. The outside shower was a treat! The kids enjoyed the pool. My best memory was Sue personally making my son a birthday cake on the Sunday of his birthday!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 25 Jun 2021
Thankyou for your valued review.We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope the you will visit again in the near future.
Read more
Tshilidzi Motau wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
What a great place. Great souls. A place to let down all and feel selfless. Both be and my fiance were reminded and agreed that we are all just animals. Thank you Sue (Its amazing how food taste different when you put in a little of your love) Thank you Anne (Hospitality with more artistic TLC custom to client) Thanks to the caring stuff (Quick respons, patience and on point hygiene) Thanks to Sue's husband (how did he get all those wild animals to like him?) God bless You
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 15 Jun 2021
The much for your valued review. It so appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Be safe & keep well.
Read more
Phindi wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions
Booked for my husband and I for a weekend away for 2 night paid R4200 . Checked in at the lodge at 15h05 to my disappointment the place was not what I expected it was filthy and smelly the pool very murky was not happy due to the conditions nothing seemed to off the standard advertised....asked for refund and the owner Sue refused her daughter Anne said shes struggling to pay her Bill's nd can forget about refund. False advertising,bad treatment was offered an upgrade with an extra fee refused as the standard and conditions were not satisfactory.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Other at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 21 Mar 2021
HI, I am totally not OK with your review. We have very good reviews and have been in business for 11 yrs and we have never scammed anyone. 1. When you complained the room was dirty I had my manager come and check the room, she asked you what was wrong, you couldn't tell her. Then you admitted that you had asthma and could use the pillow we offered you a brand new pillow, you refused. If you had let me know BEFORE arrival I would have suggested you bring you own special pillow. I also had my husband check the room there was no smell and dirt. You continued to swear at Ann and we have witnesses to prove it and photo of the room when you left. 2. Ann was not speaking about the lodge, she was saying that in general she & everyone is struggling that is not the reason for the forfeit of the payment. I was also shocked when you phoned and said I was because "a privileged white person that wanted all the money" I said you were being racist you know nothing about who I am and where I come from. Running a lodge is hard work. I would never think of doing that in reverse!! Our guests , especially in these time are really special. 3.The pool was slightly murky with products that clean the pool and not harmful to anyone and photos have been taken for proof, it was definitely not dirty as it had be vacuumed the day before. 4. We offered you a fee upgrade and surprisingly your refused our offer, I don't why anybody would do that, you wouldn't even look. 5. When one starts a company one has to have rules. One of the rule is our terms and conditions as shown below THE FOLLOWING BOOKING & CANCELLATION RULE APPLY: • Bookings made 8 or more days before arrival require a 50% deposit • Bookings made 7 or less days before arrival require a 100% deposit • Must be paid within 3 days or the booking will be cancelled automatically • There is a 24hr cooling period with no cost to guest.. • The guest can cancel free of charge 8 eight days before arrival. • Guest cancelling 7 or less day will be charged the 50% deposit. • The guest must pay the balance of the total price at the lodge • A No Show will be charged the 50% Deposit. • The guest will forfeit 100% of the booking early departure. • The ONLY exception is medical proof of a Covid- 19 infections. • We encourage guest to postpone rather than cancel at the same rate. Strangely enough we have very happy guest in the SAME room today I am sorry you feel this way but we did try to help and you refused it.
Read more
Paula F F wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions
We had such a lekker weekend. Staff and owners are super friendly and very welcoming. Dinners were delicious and we definitely did not go hungry. The suite was neat and clean and very spacious. We did not get a chance to swim but the other kids there had a blast. It;s so relaxing we even had a zebra come look what was for dinner. It was awesome. It was hot but our room had a fan and aircon so it was very comfortable. The best part was the outside shower.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Lawrie, Owner at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 27 Oct 2020
HI, So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the the near future.
Read more
Nkhensani wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa163 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
My friends and I were booked at this establishment for NYE. The staff is extremely friendly however there are several things the game reserve needs to improve on especially given that they are a 4 star establishment. 1. The managing ‘directors’ who happen to also handle the admin are old. Our bill was 6,4K and on 2 occasions swiped the wrong amounts with the first one being (R64,80c). Similar mistake the second time around I then offered to help her. Imagine if I wasn’t Christian! 2. The premises are dirty (sorry, had to put it like it is). The floors by the pool and dinning area look like they haven’t been mopped in days. The mirror and the basins by the outside bathrooms near the pool unclean. The towel basket by the mirror outside was not Even emptied for the duration of our stay. Is there anyone ensuring the outside showers are also clean? The rooms were however clean. 3. Pool is dirty and slimy. 4. Breakfast is beyond basic! There’s a great need of improvement here. It’s almost as though the premises aren’t being maintained. Please look into how you can make the lodge great again. Highlights: Friendly staff Animals roaming around
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Shikwari, Manager at Shikwari Nature Reserve
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Thank you Kensani for your review. I suggest that you don't go around calling people old, I am definitely NOT Old but I was in great pain with a sprained ankle. it is rude and uncalled for and anybody can make a mistake. I don't think anybody mops around a pool and the veranda was cleaned that morning.. The pool wasn't dirty and not sure why you thought is slimy. It wasn't green! Breakfast consisted of a choice of 3 cereals, choice of 2 yogurts, cold meats, cheeses and fresh fruit. They you had the option of also having 2 rashers of bacon, mushroom, tomato and 2 eggs to order. Is this basis?? I can't believe behind the lovely smiling face you were actually thinking of writing this. And you say you are Christian!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shikwari Game Reserve
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceHoedspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shikwari Nature Reserve
Which popular attractions are close to Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Nearby attractions include Abel Erasmus Pass (7.1 km) and JG Strijdom Tunnel (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Shikwari Nature Reserve have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Shikwari Nature Reserve offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shikwari Nature Reserve?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.