We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Timbavati Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Timbavati Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Timbavati Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Great place to stay.just a short trip to The gate at Kruger .we vissit every year just to relax and enjoy.the food is great there is a good chef.we also enjoy the game drives and spending time at the bar

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evertvanmelis
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Evert, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Its great to have returning guests and even better that they enjoy it more every time to return again. We look forward to your next stay.

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This is a very classy lodge, with good food and friendly staff, however, no aircorn in the summer in the Timbevati, that was no fun. The bar prices war average. It reminds you that you are actually in the bush - there is wild drives and kudus roaming the grounds.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crizel V
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Crizel, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Its great to hear you got a feeling of being in the bush and enjoyed the food and friendly staff.

Reviewed 31 January 2016

We staid with a group on the camp site of Timbavati. It was a great experience with wild animals walking around our tents. Facilities were perfect, clean toilets and showers with enough hot water. Nice bar and swimming pool, though the water was a little bit cold. I can highly recommend the diner buffet. It was very tasty and if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank v
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Frank, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. The team are glad to hear you had a great experience and wee look forward to seeing you again.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 23 January 2016

I have been visiting Timbavati Safari Lodge on a regular basis for the past 10 years. For me, this is one of my favourite lodges. It is casually laid back in style, but make no mistake, there is nothing laid back about the efficiency, friendliness and helpfulness of Ryan, Kylie and Rob and their entire team. The rondavels are comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan v
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you for writing a review on your recent returning visit. We are so glad after 10 years, and im sure many lodge experiences we are one of your favourite. Laid back and Efficient is what we are always striving for :) We look forward to your next visit!

London
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Wart hog with babies; mongoose family - all outside our room. Close to Kruger park but more importantly able to give safaris to private reserves where we could get close - in 3 days saw the big 5, lions with a kill; leopard just after starting to eat; lionesses with their v young Cubs - elephants galore - so amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonHappyGuy
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear LondonHappyGuy, Wow what incredible sightings in just 3 days!! Thank you for letting our future guests know what possibilities there are to see so many animals on our safaris, but I must add you guys were very very lucky!!! We all look forward to your next visit.

Hoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed from November 23 to November 25 at the Lodge. The receipt by Kylie was perfect. The Lodges are situated nicely and neatly furnished. We found only personally the bed a bit narrow because we ourselves two single mattresses are 90 wide. But as I said that's personal. It is a pleasure to stay at this lodge and also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in November. The team are proud to hear you enjoyed your welcome, the lodge and the meals. We look forward to your next visit.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We were visiting the Kruger during the recent Reconciliation Day holiday period. Accommodation was booked solid throughout the park, so we needed to leave for the night to find an alternative place to stay. We exited the park through Orpen Gate and most places we found were also booked out, however, Timbavati Safari Lodge was able to accommodate us. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanna211
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Alanna, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 'surprise' stay with us. We are glad to hear we could be of assistance last minute and more so that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be back to visit soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 4 days and it was delightful to sit on our veranda early evening and watch animals wander by. Breakfast was okay and the dinners were excellent. Our major complaint is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms, despite TripAdvisor comment going back to February2013 in which the owners/manager advised that air-con units...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneJhbSA
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge. The team are glad you enjoyed your meals and were able to take the time to relax on your veranda and enjoy your surroundings. I do apologize for the miss-leading information, we had planned on air-cons and due to other circumstances these were unable to be installed....

San Clemente, California, Usa
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Lodge was very clean and nice. Seems to cater primarily to tour groups. Not so much independent travelers. Food buffet style, not our preference. Staff very helpful. If want safari experience, stay inside Kruger Park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeannineS275
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jeannine, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your visit on your stop over with us on your way to Kruger.

Reviewed 1 December 2015

An amazing lodge that offers a truly authentic African experience. The staff are amazingly friendly and make you feel like you are home away from home. You can see that the ground are taken care with much attention to detail and care. Very close to the Kruger and loads of activities on offer from the ease of the lodge. Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRoyHarris
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The team are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and were bale to enjoy not only the lodge but its surroundings also. We all look forward to your next visit.

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Address: (R 531) Orpen Road | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: R1 433 - R1 657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Timbavati Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Timbavati Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
England
7 months ago
Wolcottville, Indiana
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Timbavati Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Airconditioner would be nice.”
cherylpincus, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“New luxury tents going in soon to complement the rondavels. Rooms further from the restaurant and pool/bar area have weaker WiFi.”
LaurCapeTown, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room backing onto the bush that way you will see wildlife in the early morning”
paulcZ8287JN, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“On the edge near the animal track”
JazboOttawa, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“The window screens were not well-fastened, risking mosquito incursion if you open the windows.”
0913foxglove, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5