We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Boathouse

Save
Share
33 Compensation Beach Road PO Box 1166, Ballito 4399 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/06/19
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/06/19
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (111)
Pool & Beach (16)
Room & Suite (14)

About

#8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to The Boathouse, your Ballito “home away from home.” The Boathouse aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

As your “home away from home,” the guest house rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free internet access available.

Guests have access to room service while staying at The Boathouse. In addition, The Boathouse offers a pool and free breakfast, which will help make your Ballito trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While in Ballito, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from The Boathouse, including Fiamma Grill (0.6 mi), Al Pescatore (0.4 mi), and Nikos Coalgrill Greek (0.2 mi).

If you are interested in exploring Ballito, check out a park, such as Sugar Rush Park.

The Boathouse puts the best of Ballito at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View

Location

Full view
45Car recommended
Grade: 45 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
139Reviews1Q+A34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 37
  • 30
  • 20
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Maxfram wrote a review Dec 2021
Knysna, South Africa15 contributions5 helpful votes
We would like to thank the staff for making our Christmas lunch so memorable, the quality of the food and presentation was excellent. The buffet as advertised was a blend of Indian and Continental dishes and that was what's produced, the taste of each dish was a compliment to the chef and his staff. Sitting on the verandah, with the ocean 100 metres away, could one ask for more, and the value for money could not be faulted. In the 6 weeks that we've been in Ballito this was our third visit, and have never been disappointed, the staff know what they are doing. Thanks again guys!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Didn't stay there, but looks good, don't miss out on the restaurantif you like Indian...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The Boathouse Guest House, General Manager at The Boathouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear valued guest Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Thank you
Read more
Varishka Singh wrote a review Dec 2021
Durban, South Africa7 contributions
We chose Boathouse as our wedding venue as their staff was so friendly and accommodating and they are a package deal , from the venue to catering, flowers etc. On the wedding day they went out of Their way to ensure our day was special. They delivered as they promised from my personalised requests to the amazing food which is always up to std and their pricing is fair. The resident dj , Rishi from disco sonic is the most supportive as well. Vireshka and Irene are so accommodating meeting all your wedding requests. All our guests only had good things to mention about our wedding. Thank you boathouse ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The Boathouse Guest House, General Manager at The Boathouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Varishka It was a joy and honour to work with you to plan your wedding. Thank you for putting your trust in my team and myself. I am thrilled that your experience was an unforgettable one. Take care
Read more
Kirsten wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The experience to deal with all staff members for this to be the venue was great. From the very first query, to the effects put in on the day has been exceptional. Very professional, upmarket and hassle free was what i experienced with the Boathouse.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from The Boathouse Guest House, General Manager at The Boathouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kirsten Thank you so much for your kind words and for your continuous support. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Thank you
Read more
Jesh1 wrote a review Nov 2021
london53 contributions18 helpful votes
I am staying here for a wedding. When we arrived the receptionist was adequately helpful, a welcome to the place would have been nice. We were charged 100 rand an hour as we checked in at 13h00 notes dot 14h00. I did not mind this. However, our room was directly above the entertainment area. When we entered there was Bingo being played, so my initial thoughts were that we were in a nursing home. This soon turned into a disco with old music for the next few hours. Internet: There is NO Internet. I had two international business meetings which I had scheduled, I had to unfortunately reschedule as the female manager tried to help by letting me use their boardroom which was a little quieter but it is impossible to run a zoom meeting without internet. I couldn't get enough reception to hotspot. My biggest problem was being above a disco, it was incredibly noisy but I am assured its only for a few more hours. The rooms on the quieter side of hotel have plumbing problems. The sea views are amazing. The room is clean and has enough space to move around. Very good location. If it wasn't for the noise and lack of internet, then it's worth staying in for the spectacular sea views and proximity to the beach. Female manager is very friendly and tries to accommodate you as best as she can. Staff at reception may benefit from a little improvement in customer skills and signposting guests. I had no idea of what facilities available, had to ask repeatedly for wifi which didn't work so that was a waste of my time.Hotel is not 4 star by international standards but it is located directly on the beach and very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: all rooms have very good sea views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The Boathouse Guest House, General Manager at The Boathouse
Responded 09 Dec 2021
Dear Guest We thank you for taking the time to post a review of our accommodation/function venue. Our goal is to always try our best exceed our guests expectations, while I wish, you had a better experience. As you are aware that we are a function venue and you booked to stay with because you attended a function at our venue. I am aware that you did have some internet connection problems, however we did try to accommodate you in our boardroom. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our hotel! warm regards
Read more
Daniel M wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
The room is nice and clean with a shower, very quite and cool. The place is in the beach front and has nice background. The food is also good and tasty. Nice area for weddings and events also. I enjoyed my stay thank you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Best sea view on the balcony, close to shopping centre
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The Boathouse Guest House, General Manager at The Boathouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest We thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed you stay. thank you and take care
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
the boathouse hotel ballito
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalBallito
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Boathouse
Which popular attractions are close to The Boathouse?
Nearby attractions include Sugar Rush Park (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Boathouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Boathouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Boathouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Boathouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fiamma Grill, Al Pescatore, and Thava Indian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Boathouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Boathouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.