We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
47 David Place South 29˚32'43 // East 31˚12'42, Ballito 4399 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$95
View deal
PricelineUS$111
eDreamsUS$95
ZenHotels.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (33)

About

#2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built 2012 with you and Our planet in mind, this 4 Star (Tourism Grading Council of S.A.) And Superior Eco Sensitive Guesthouse is 70 m above and 200 m from Salmon Bay. Seascapes extend 35km to the horizon, North and South. The heartiest eat-as-much-as-you-like breakfasts are prepared before you whilst you have the sensation of being at Sea ... The best Value & Comfort you deserve! " You'll call it hospitality - we call it service! "
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming

Location

Full view
45Car recommended
Grade: 45 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
328Reviews3Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 283
  • 26
  • 12
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
morne v wrote a review Mar 2021
Pretoria, South Africa18 contributions10 helpful votes
Thank you Sthe (manager of the lodge). You are a real asset to this lodge. We were treated like royalty and always with a smile. The rooms are neat ( The headboard in Baffalo needs to be replaced asap) but otherwise this place is a gem. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laetitia Vollmer, Travel Blogger wrote a review Oct 2019
Cape Town, South Africa39 contributions12 helpful votes
Still traumatised from a break in at guest house, this place s not safe and we were told safe, alarm working etc, guests in room next to me woke up with intruder in their room stealing handbag and cellphone, happened 4 in the morning, no functional alarm, n0 cctv carm, gate that remains open 24/7. We slept on the top floor and intruder climb to top balcony because no sensor to detect movement, The response from manager shocking as none of them shown any compensation as we were all traumatised. They did not even offered to maybe hire a security guard to patrol the evening as most of us were booked in another day. We all slept with fear that night Please dont book, your safety is of highest priority, its sad the a guest house gets managed like that and guest house looses all its beautifull view because of this.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from BongNoks, General Manager at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Responded 30 Oct 2019
Dear Laetitia V It is a shame that you dramatise something which is none of your business and lies. We aware of the alleged incident we spoke to the guest's even owners of the property had a meeting with them same day. After a thorough investigation by our security expert it has been found that the sliding door was not closed or locked as you can see nothing is broken or forced entry. Always we do advise our clients that they should lock their rooms and cars although our establishment is safety. No incident like that happened before since this guesthouse operational you will see all the reviews nothing. The safety of our guests is the first priority and we will continue to beef up security systems. The alarm is functional as you know we give all the guests keys with alarm remote to make sure that they even switch on and off the alarm themselves. There's panic button on it you can press anytime to get help. No one else feels that way except you which make us to come to the conclusion of that you have an alterior motive to damage the image of our guest house, remember lies has got shot legs. Please don't dramatise lies to the public we do care for the safety of our clients,their safety is our priority. We do host guests from local and international all of them feel safe here and we will continue to make sure that they are safe and enjoy their stay here. Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse is safest place to be during vacation and holidays. Again the safety of guests is our priority. So don't preach lies and good luck to your next destination. Regards
Read more
NatashaDawson wrote a review Feb 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa495 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
I loved this place from the moment I walked into the door. The management and staff went out of their way to ensure that our our need was met. Check-in was simple and efficient, the room was fabulous, clean and comfortable. The facilities were awesome, a microwave, bowls, plates, cutlery, mugs, cups, a small fridge stocked with water and drinks for your convenience, at a very reasonable price too. They add extra touches like chocolates when you arrive; they have double plugs in your room and round plug points for hairdryers. Umbrellas are also available! The view is outstanding from every room. All common areas were very clean and well maintained. Breakfasts are the highlight of your stay and the view while you eat is second to none. The best bed and breakfast place I have ever stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BongNoks, Owner at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Responded 06 Mar 2019
Dear Natasha Thank you so much for your feedback it means a lot to us. We are glad to hear that you did enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you guys. We will continue to try go extra mile so that our guests feel at home and treated like King and Queens. We will continue to improve our services now we just added braai area and jaccuzi next time if you come back you will explore this new facilities. We are looking forward to host you again. Warm regards
Read more
LIzelsteele wrote a review Dec 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Guesthouse is well situated near restaurants, clean and has great views of the ocean. The rooms are comfortable but the bathroom is very small. The breakfast is excellent but you are very limited to the tome tou can have breakfast as it is only served for one hour in the morning and staff is not flexible to change this. (Even if you need an early check out). Management and staff really let this place down because they are inflexible, unhelpful and frankly out of their depth in running a guesthouse. We (and other guests) were left outside without anyone to open the door for us to check in. Out room was not cleaned on a day staff left early- without them letting us know. Manager couldn’t recommend a good doctor to a sick guest. We asked for a 30min earlier breakfast but the Manager wasn’t happy to assist us. No one offered to help with our luggage (although there are so many steps)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BongNoks, General Manager at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Responded 02 Jan 2019
Dear Lizel Thank you for your feedback, we do accept positive and negative reviews however every guest should speak the truth. It only you who had a problem with everything here other guests knew how we work. You cannot sit in the room the whole day on weekend and expect the room to be clean at your own time. The staff has working hours once it time to knock off they go. On breakfast issue you cannot tell us in the morning same day that you need breakfast early it is not fair you suppose to tell us in advance or a day before so that we can prepare. Regarding luggage we do help unfortunately as you said that you left early we were busy preparing breakfast . And you failed to mentioned that when you check in we assisted you with the luggage and we accommodate you with the baby while we suppose not to do so it seems you don't appreciate.
Read more
sunsetfrog wrote a review Aug 2018
30 contributions30 helpful votes
There are much better places to stay in Ballito. The manager came across as unwelcoming and unfriendly. Some basic training in hospitality might be in order. It was clean and reasonably comfortable. However, we’ve stayed at much better places in Ballito. If your considering this place, do consider passing on it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BongNoks, General Manager at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Responded 20 Aug 2018
Dear Sunsetfrog It seems you were in the wrong guesthouse not here at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse always we welcome our guests warmly and even help them with their luggage. Always as a manager I open the doors for our guests I never been unwelcoming and unfriendly you are cooking up a story all the guests who come here can tell you about me what I do when welcoming them. It is sad to see someone like you telling the world lies if you had something you didn't like you should have raised it to me. Anyway enjoy your "much better places". Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse will continue to serve our guests with dignity and respect they deserve. Always we improve our hospitality towards guests. Warm regards The Management
Read more
BWM55 wrote a review Apr 2018
Durbanville, South Africa177 contributions45 helpful votes
Lovely position and close to restaurants and the beach. The driveway to the property is horrendous and you must expect a lot of wheel spinning and sceeching of tyres to reach the parking. Room was lovely with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Breakfasts are well catered, if the cook is not off sick. Otherwise you have to travel to a nearby restaurant to eat as the manager is not trained to even cook an egg. That siad he is very pleasant and helpful and we felt sorry for him as he seems to be on duty 24/7 with no staff to provide him off time or days off. Whilst we were there he had to constantly rush back from shopping or some time off to sort out soemthing at the house. NOT satisfactory at all. A sour note was that on booking out and paying the manager managed somehow to have my credit card locked and I had to then pay to phone UK to have them unlock the card again so we could continue our travels!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level provide best views. Lower level open on to the pool.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BongNoks, General Manager at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Responded 17 Apr 2018
Dear Sir Thank you for you feedback we really appreciate it. We will try to improve in all our weaknesses including the parking. But if you were here before you will noticed that now it little bit better (driveway). We are on plans to try and drop it again so that it will be easier for everybody.Regarding the card we don't know what happened because many other guests can attest that we charge them with our machines no one ever complain about that anyway we apologise for any inconvenience that occurred. Again thank you for visiting us. Warm regards
Read more
John C wrote a review Apr 2018
42 contributions12 helpful votes
The road entrance is a steep ramp on a slant that will damage your car. Built on the side of a hill there are lots of stairs. The decor is fussy and not practical. The bathroom was cramped and dark. Not good for kids or business travelers. The only positive was breakfast which was great. Overall .... keep looking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BongNoks, General Manager at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Responded 17 Apr 2018
Dear John Thank you for you feedback.Firstly there's nothing we can do about the building having stairs engineers passed that no lift should be in the building as you saw Ballito has a lot of mole hills. Secondly regarding bathroom it is sad that you stayed here several days but you never tell us the problem but I can assure you everything was fine the room you were in is the best even if you look on our website. Everything was functioning you supposed to ask for help if you needed any. Anyway thank you for visiting us. Warm regards
Read more
Anliaduplessis wrote a review Mar 2018
Pretoria, South Africa6 contributions1 helpful vote
My mom and I stayed at this guesthouse over the weekend and really enjoyed it. Nice, clean room, very comfortable bed and the view is absolutely stunning. Breakfast was a treat each morning. Will definitely recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BongNoks, General Manager at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Responded 28 Mar 2018
Dear Anlia Thank you so much for your positive feedback we really appreciate it. We are glad if you enjoyed your stay here. Always we will try to improve our services to clients. We hope you will come back with friends book more rooms and stay little bit longer. Again thank you for visiting us. Warm regards
Read more
Steve wrote a review Mar 2018
Manchester, United Kingdom85 contributions86 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights in the Buffalo room early February. We were met by the manager Sthe who was polite, friendly and a pleasure to meet each morning at breakfast. Our room was clean, spacious,comfy bed,fridge,plenty of storage space, free WiFi and a balcony with amazing views out to sea and beach. There was a Tv but not sure of the channels as we didn’t turn it on. The guesthouse is in a safe area and a few minutes walk to shops,restaurants and bars,safe to walk back at night. Breakfast was excellent served on the patio looking out to sea. The communial areas are excellent with a lovely swimming pool. The staff we met were friendly and helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again, thanks for being part of our fantastic trip to SA.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BongNoks, General Manager at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Responded 28 Mar 2018
Dear Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It was a pleasure hosting you here as our guests. The TV is ok it working has got channels. We are looking forward to host you here again. Warm regards
Read more
Robert M wrote a review Dec 2017
Telford, United Kingdom229 contributions107 helpful votes
I really don't understand some of the negative reviews I have seen. Whilst I accept that the driveway is a mission, everything else was excellent. A very warm welcome, and lots of happy friendly staff. We had a good size room, with a well equipped bathroom - large walk-in and walk-around shower, bidet, toilet and sink. There was a shelf for some bits and a window ledge in the shower. The bed was large and comfy, and the bedding and towels were very clean. There were plenty of towels and toiletries. The kitchenette area, like the rest of the establishment was clean. The fridge was well stocked and the prices were the lowest we came across in any of the places we stayed in South Africa over our month (ten B&Bs from St Lucia to Cape Town). The stock of tea and coffee was good, and included chocolate drink sachets and biscuits. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of hot and cold, plenty of hot coffee and enough toasters for everyone to get hot toast together (unlike one place we stayed with 4 toasting slots for 70 guests). The view from the room and pool balconies was great; and you can eat breakfast whilst viewing the sea. On the second morning we drank our coffee whilst watching dolphins playing in the bay. By the time we returned from breakfast to our room it had been serviced each day. There is a large lounge with comfortable seating; again with great views. The owner told us the WiFi is best in the reception area, which is correct. However, we had a room above the dining area and it was fine there for most things. It is a fairly short walk to the nearest shops and restaurants, and most things you might need on holiday are there. The beach is very clean, and the boardwalk along it makes it easy to enjoy a walk along the beach front. The proximity of Ballito to the airport made this an excellent place to stay at the end of a trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms at the front have best views and better WiFi
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BongNoks, General Manager at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Responded 23 Dec 2017
Dear Bob Thank you so much we really appreciate your postive feedback , we will always try our best to improve so that everyone can enjoy to stay with us. We are looking forward to host you again here as our guest. Warm regards The Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalBallito
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Sugar Rush Park (0.6 km) and Ace Karting (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fiamma Grill, Al Pescatore, and Thava Indian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.