Regal Inn Ballito

Regal Inn Ballito

Saayman Close Corner Stewart Road, Ballito 4420 South Africa
My mom getting ready for tea in a standard double
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#6 of 7 hotels in Ballito
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
We’re just 10 minutes away from King Shaka International Airport and on the doorstep of the Zimbali Golf Club, one of Durban’s premier golf venues. Ballito boasts the finest “blue flag” beaches & tidal pools in South Africa. The nearby King Shaka Heritage site is a must, where one can view King Shaka Tomb Stone and Execution Rock. Our convenient location is surrounded by all the amenities you ‘ll need from luxury shopping to trendy bars and restaurants. You’ll find more than you would expect from this affordably priced hotel. Ranging from flat screen TV’s with to coffee and breakfast to get you started. Our fully air conditioned conference venue is flexible to your business needs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business

Location

Saayman Close Corner Stewart Road, Ballito 4420 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
King Shaka Intl Airport
12.3 km
See all flights
Pietermaritzburg Airport
78.5 km
See all flights
56Reviews4Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 20
  • 11
  • 3
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
787robertgraham wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Was billed but didn't check in.

Dont think I would recommend to anyone. Front desk was rude unfriendly, TV selection was not as promised, no internet as I needed to work, did see the network but nobody offered any assistance.

Goodluck and all the best. You going to need it.

Kind Regards

Robert Graham
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CraigEdmondson wrote a review Feb 2024
Midrand, South Africa101 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Was pleasantly suprised that this facility was as good as the others I had stayed in in the Regal Group. Nice rooms and friendly service, at a very reasonable price. Not on the beach for the Beach Person, but close to all amenities and easy to in and out. Probably need better road directions cos the easiest and maps directed route, has a blocked access.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GeeEf wrote a review Sept 2013
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa15 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Regal Inn Ballito for two night, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for neat and clean accommodation on a tight budget. They may be a no- frills establishment, but you get a decent, air conditioned room. The gentleman who was on night duty, Raymond, went out of his way to make my stay a good one. I didn't experience any bad attitude at all. It helps a lot that it's about 10 minutes from the airport, especially if you need to catch an early flight.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sarikamungar wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Good day,

I found the room extremely small and the view was of the back of a parking lot of a factory. It was not scenic and quite deary. With regards to the room itself, the bed sheet did not fit the bed and kept coming off which I found extremely annoying and uncomfortable. For the three day stay, the same bed sheet was used which meant that the bedding was not changed. Upon request, there was no ice dispenser nor any tissues in the room. I also found that one movie channel was unacceptable. Basic necessities were only provided such as two towels and one soap only. I did not find that the room was value for money.

I did not enjoy the stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Relax03114780760 wrote a review Apr 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Tried to cancel my accommodation... still got emails welcoming me to the venue on the wrong dates of original booking....

Many days of reaching out... poor communication and lack of feedback.

Requested a refund, Many weeks later I'm am still waiting.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Excursion00740031596 wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The noise of the learners was unbearable. They were continuously knocking at our door looking for their friends. I was unable to study because of them. I called the reception area but no resolution. I suggest that learners should not be allocated to the same floor as the rest of the guests because they normally come in numbers.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tania S wrote a review Dec 2012
Randburg, South Africa4 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible. R 500.00 breakage deposit per person. They charge you to clean your bedding. They charge you to unlock your room if you locked your key inside! This is disgusting. Very rude people at reception.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MandyG204, General Manager at Regal Inn Ballito
Responded 03 Sept 2015
Dear Madam You were never booked into our establishment,instead your son was booked by G and G productions for the Matric Rage.A deposit of R500.00 is a small amount to ask for as during our past Rage experience we suffered huge losses. A copy of our terms and conditions was supplied to you by the company hosting the Matric Rage and indicated that the R500.00 would be refunded if all was well in the room upon departure. There is no breakage deposit charged to normal guests. We do not charge to clean your linen,however should you burn or stain linen that cannot be brought back to its original state,a replacement fee will be charged. In this incident,your sons had used new white bath towels to clean trainers that was messed with mud.The towels were so badly damaged that despite being laundered several times could not be used again. They were offered to you,to take with you upon your children's departure. No one was charged to open their room doors as you have indicated.A sign was put up after the receptionist spent an entire night running around to open rooms,as the matriculants were locking their keycards in their rooms and demanding that the receptionist leave his work station to open up their rooms.The notice served as a deterrent,and worked wonderfully in teaching these young adults a sense of responsibility. All of this was explained to you at the reception desk but sadly you chose to only listen to your children.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack C wrote a review Apr 2016
Crawley, United Kingdom26 contributions47 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms were clean, no bad reviews regarding this however that is where the good comments stop.

The Hotel had no:
Pool
Restaurant
Bar
Room Safe
Mini bar
Decent space for luggage (no drawers and only three coat hangers for my wife and I in an exeedingly small wardrobe)
No lounge where one could sit and chat with friends (Two chairs and a settee in the check-in desk area)
Chatting and laughing after 2100 was forbidden and resulted in being told to make less noise on the one occasion that we transgressed. At my age of 80 I don't make much noise in any case.
Located at the bottom of a Mt. Everest type climb to any restaurants other than a fish and chip shop opposite the hotel, not a good combination for eating and walking for a person of my age.
There is one other good feature of its location and that is its proximity to a hotel about 400 metres away which does have a bar and a pool and there is no mountain to climb to get there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Toss a coin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MandyG204, General Manager at Regal Inn Ballito
Responded 14 Apr 2016
Dear Mr Jack C, I thank you for your review of our hotel and am sorry that you were not impressed by what we have on offer. At a rate of R480.00 per room per night ( sleeping 2 persons) in a clean, comfortable room our target market is for the lower to middle income group . The hotel that you mention charges more than twice our rate and one has to still climb up a hill to get to the shops and restaurants. Details of what is on offer, our location and pictures of our establishment are displayed on our website and may be viewed before a reservation is made. I was on duty for most of the nights during your stay and witnessed you ,together with your friends, having your supper and drinks in the dining room . On more than one occasion it got very loud. We have a strict no noise policy after 10pm and ask guests to be considerate of other guests who are resting at this time. Being school holidays, a lot of parents booked into our establishment with young children. Our policy is listed on our terms and conditions which is presented to guests upon arrival at our establishment. Should any person deem this unsuitable to their needs ,they are most welcome to seek alternate accommodation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niels V wrote a review Apr 2015
15 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Close to airport, cheap and clean, but that are all possible positive aspects of the place I can think off. Matras is hard like a rock, room is not inspiring with the lack of decoration, mini tv, ugly curtains, room smells like dull air freshner... And so on...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadine S wrote a review Aug 2018
Richards Bay, South Africa25 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean but very disappointing. There was an awful musty smell that was an immediate put off when entering the room. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the headboard hit the wall every time we shifted position on the bed. There was no bottled water provided and the WIFI did not work. I could not get a clear signal.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from krigers_naidoo, Guest Relations at Regal Inn Ballito
Responded 19 Feb 2019
Dear nadinesingh2017 We appreciate your candid feedback. We strive to ensure our guests stay is comfortable and pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you again to demonstrate our strong values and commitment to you to enjoy your stay as our guest.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danzo2222 asked a question Aug 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa61 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi Is there a restaurant at the hotel? Are the safes in the room?
Answer from MandyG204
Ballito, South Africa7 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi. We don't have safes at the moment. We serve breakfast only but we are situated right behind 2 major shopping malls
287zipporahb asked a question Jan 2018
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
is there a mini fridge in the room
287zipporahb asked a question Jan 2018
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
I would like to know if you have a mini bar fridge in the room
Answer from MandyG204
Ballito, South Africa7 contributions2 helpful votes
Good day Unfortunately we do not have fridges in the rooms, however guests provisions are tagged and stored in our kitchen fridge.
Answer from Mohamed R
Cape Town Central, South Africa63 contributions11 helpful votes
I only had a shower available in my room.
micfranmf wrote a tip Dec 2018
Phinda Private Game Reserve, South Africa158 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No elevators"
Read full review
siphumelelez wrote a tip Jul 2017
Durban, South Africa3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor rooms are better in terma of accessibility as there are no lifts"
Read full review
firemangp wrote a tip May 2017
77 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no elevators so choose a low level room if walking up stairs is a problem."
Read full review
Mohamed R wrote a tip Mar 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa63 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a lower floor (Not third floor) as it can be very noisy when it rains. also remember- no lift!!"
Read full review
Jack C wrote a tip Apr 2016
Crawley, United Kingdom26 contributions47 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Toss a coin"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ballito area.
PRICE RANGE
R 587 - R 807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalBallito
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

REGAL INN BALLITO - Now R 588 (Was R̶ ̶8̶6̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Regal Inn Ballito
Which popular attractions are close to Regal Inn Ballito?
Nearby attractions include Quarter Boutique Shopping Centre (0.08 km), The Karat Guy (0.2 km), and Surreal Tattoos (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Regal Inn Ballito?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a fitness centre, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Regal Inn Ballito?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Regal Inn Ballito?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Regal Inn Ballito?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beira Alta, Zaras Cafe, and Peron Peron.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Regal Inn Ballito?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
All Ballito HotelsBallito Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BallitoHotels near Regal Inn Ballito
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire