We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
100 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4399 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Official Hotel
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (207)
Room & Suite (147)
Pool & Beach (38)

About

#5 of 29 Speciality lodging in Ballito
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With pole position on Ballito’s main swimming beach, La Montagne boasts 120 luxury terraced 1, 2 and 3-bedroom self-catering apartments with breath-taking sea views. This resort is famous for best holiday memories and also provides exceptional conferences, events and weddings. On-site facilities include; WiFi, restaurants, bar, Pool Side Bar, Coffee Shop, in-room service, Wellness spa, theatre club, squash courts, swimming pool, magnificent seaside sun deck, daily entertainment, kids club, Beach, Swimming Pool, Fishing, Bicycle Hire, Squash, Kid's Club, Board Games, Games Arcade, Trampoline, Braai area, Shuttle Service, Car Rental, Business Centre Nearby attractions include; shopping, restaurants and bars, animal and crocodile farms, jump parks, cable ski park, game farms, micro-lighting, beaches, water sports, scuba diving, fishing, golf courses, horse riding.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Breakfast available
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Outdoor pool
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
710Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 204
  • 134
  • 78
  • 83
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nicos P wrote a review Yesterday
14 contributions
+1
Not what we expected at all. First impressions were “when was the last time these rooms were properly cleaned”. Furniture is probably 20 years old, table tops seem to be peeling. Wanted to get into bed, only because we had to, only to find dirty sheets and hair in the bed. Television was also not even working. Completely over priced. Will never even consider returning. Reported the dirty linen to reception and they sent someone up to change it, only for him to leave with the dirty linen telling us it will take 20 minutes for the new linen to dry as they do not have clean linen ready. Seriously, a hotel that does not have clean linen on hand? It’s now 00h20 and we’re still waiting for a clean bed to sleep in... My pregnant wife is struggling to keep her eyes open. Absolutely appalling. Can’t believe this place is still operational.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Roxann wrote a review 14 Feb
Alberton, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
The place is in need of a serious revamp. It’s outdated and poorly maintained. We stayed in the “newly renovated” superior sea view two bedroom apartment which was very disappointing. When we entered our room it didn’t have the COVID cleaning seal and didn’t smell like it had been cleaned. The shower door still had soap spuds on it. We asked for the room to be cleaned and thankfully they cleaned it sufficiently. The room had a small kitchenette with a two plate stove and a bar fridge. The bar fridge smelled like a fish bait fridge, didn’t seal well and had a few parts missing or broken. The microwave also smelled terrible and was not cleaned well when we arrived. Definitely not sufficient for self catering. The sea view and the pool are the only things keeping this place afloat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Norhes wrote a review 08 Feb
Bryanston, South Africa30 contributions4 helpful votes
The place is pretty much Ok however there is vast room for improvement. The infrastructure is old and basically worn out. The entire property needs refurbishment. The pub is closed but understandable in the COVID 19 times. Pipes leak water and teh WIFI is horrible and non functional for all practical purposes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Stephan wrote a review Jan 2021
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
What a horrible stay, after looking forward for 4 Years to go to this place....... On arrival, bad service, we have to ask for direction to our unit. In unit, the unit was smaller than a double garage, for 4 Adults... A bar-fridge for meat, food and drinks for four adults. One 1 liter pot to cook for four adults. Aircon not working. Braai outside not working. On the second day they collected it, only returning and said there is nothing wrong, but it is tripping the power and it shocked my stepdaughter....., How is that for health and safety of their guests... The curtain in the second bedroom could not even cover the window in whole..... The door of the main bedroom could not lock...... What a dump-hole, not even worth one star.... Shame on you La Montagne.....😔🤬😔🤬😔
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shamini Pather, General Manager at La Montagne
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the poor experience you had. I assure you that measures will be taken to ensure improvement.
Read more
Precious wrote a review Dec 2020
7 contributions
+1
We stayed in room 707,firstly they cut off the phone so that we don't bother them with anything, the floor itself was dirty, the door did not lock very unsafe we had to move with our personal belongings everywhere, overall treatment by staff was rude it's like we didn't pay to stay here. Don't even bother complaining cos no one cared, the room is old not well maintained, no basic self catering items where available, no iron, bowls, tin openers nothing. It was soo horrible had I known I would have canceled this trip!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Shamini Pather, General Manager at La Montagne
Responded 01 Jan 2021
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the poor experience you had. I assure you that this is not the normal standard of service offered. I would also like to take this opportunity to advise you that we are currently in the process of refurbishing the remainder of our rooms.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la montagne hotel ballito
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalBallito
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Montagne
Which popular attractions are close to La Montagne?
Nearby attractions include Thompson's Bay Beach (1.2 km), Sugar Rush Park (1.1 km), and Willard Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Montagne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at La Montagne?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at La Montagne?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Montagne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fiamma Grill, Mozambik Ballito, and Al Pescatore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Montagne?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does La Montagne have an airport shuttle?
Yes, La Montagne offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at La Montagne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does La Montagne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does La Montagne have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.