We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Southside Road, Wilderness 6560 South Africa
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Destinia.com
View all 7 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (320)
Dining (21)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#13 of 81 in Wilderness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Horseback riding
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, German
891Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 687
  • 157
  • 30
  • 12
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
morganpj14 wrote a review 17 May
1 contribution
This was our second stay at Moontide and it was as delightful as always! The setting is perfect for a very relaxing getaway. Plenty to see and do in one of the most beautiful parts of our country. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
MANINAFRICA wrote a review Mar 2022
LEEDS UK179 contributions53 helpful votes
A really superb location in Wildreness. We were treated to a super treetop room with outside shower. The room was well appointed but the bed was little bit uncomfortable...mattress maybe needs upgrade. The view was awesome.. breakfast great and staff super friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Maureen Mansfield, Owner at Moontide Guest Lodge
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Dear MANINAFRICA We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Also, we would like to apologize for your discomfort in our bed and we will definitely look into it. Hope to see you on your next trip again, safe travels. Moontide Team
Read more
Darryn D wrote a review Jan 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa6 contributions1 helpful vote
What a sad place. I have a feeling it was once lovely and looked after (about the time the promotional pics were taken). And the location is outstanding. On the lagoon, ancient milkwoods, tons of birds. But sadly it was dirty, ramshackle in a neglected way and2 of the rooms I stayed in required significant maintenance. There were no staff after about 6pm which made me feel a little insecure. Moontide does not meet the expectations their marketing sets and as a result I felt I paid about 45% more than I should have been billed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Maureen Mansfield, Owner at Moontide Guest Lodge
Responded 28 Mar 2022
It is with distress that we read this review. That we failed to meet Mr Dunro’s exceedingly high expectations is apparent, but we do not feel it is a correct or fair to describe the entire Moontide as dirty or neglected. Mr Dunro insisted on checking into The Boathouse - this is one of the most popular rooms, due to its location right on the water, and has been scheduled for maintenance just as soon as there was a big enough gap in its booking schedule.We have since brought this forward: the room is currently blocked for painting, recovering of chairs and updating wall hangings .(Which has been done now) With regards staff hours: Moontide is a B&B, not a full service hotel. The manager lives within walking distance and the assistant manager lives on the property; an after hours telephone number is provided in the room should guests require assistance in the evening. When Mr Dunro decided - at around 6.40 pm - that The Boathouse was not suitable, the Stone Cottage was made available within minutes. Stone Cottage has recently had a kitchenette added, and the second bedroom enlarged. There is no maintenance that we are aware of required for this room, and Mr Dunro provides no constructive criticism. As he points out, the location is outstanding. Our promotional pictures were all taken during lockdown, when the guest house was for the first time not too busy to host a shoot. The staff did their best to make him comfortable. The rooms are cleaned and checked daily - there is no dirt. That said, we deeply regret that Mr Dunro did not value his stay.
Read more
katherinetripppr2020 wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
Moontide is a beautiful & private destination to escape to - a home away from home. The service is personal and caring, and the location is spectacular. A perfect place to go if you like to escape from the fast pace city life, and are looking for a tranquil place to unwind.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
sbuchanan2021 wrote a review Sep 2021
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
It's the 3rd time we have stayed at Moontide and we were not disappointed! The service was even better than before. We we upgraded to the treetops suite as we arrived. The owner and staff were very friendly. Breakfast was great. They are in the process of adding some self catering options to the accommodation, which will be great for families. Well worth a visit!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moontide guest house hotel wilderness
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeWilderness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Moontide Guest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Moontide Guest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Wilderness Lagoon (0.2 km), Pharoah Art Gallery (1.1 km), and Tiny Shop (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moontide Guest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Moontide Guest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Moontide Guest Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moontide Guest Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Serendipity Restaurant, Joplins Steak Bar, and The Girl's On The Square.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moontide Guest Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Moontide Guest Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Moontide Guest Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Moontide Guest Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Slave Tree (12.4 km).
Does Moontide Guest Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lagoon view available here.