We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort

Save
Share
Traveller (244)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (15)
Overview
Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg 3257 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Public Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Suites
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
68
77
45
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
68
77
45
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrakensberg gardensthe vinebuffet styleadventure parkview restauranthorse ridingunderfloor heatingtennis courtstime shareself cateringfamily resortthe general managerzip lineheated poolhiking trailswhole familyanimal farm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

There were extremely noisy guests who played very loud music through out the night. Complained to reception continuously but nothing was done. The phone in the room was not working had to call via our cell. In the morning when complaining to management he was...More

Thank Liane365
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It would be nice if the resort got an update, the food is delicious but the bars, rooms, tennis courts need an upgrade and the petting zoo is absolutely revolting! Such bad living conditions - rabbits have bite marks and are probably very cold with...More

Thank kznjulia
Response from Peter M, General Manager at Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa ResortResponded 1 week ago

Dear Julia, Thank you for your review. We upgrade blocks of rooms / units every year, with this and next year being the same. Our tennis courts are being redone this month - every 5 years as a standard. Our farm is due to be...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful fun family holiday destination! Definitely a must with the kids! Never get bored! Kids club could have more indoor activities for days with rain, but Sani is close. We were in snow the 1 day and swimming the next!More

Thank Tarryn13
Response from Peter M, General Manager at Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tarryn13 Thank you kindly for your review of our resort.We will certainly look at more indoor activities when the weather turns. We are happy the family had lots of fun here, we hope to keep everyone busy with our adventure and activities. And, that...More

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

The unit we stayed in was 116 Fairways. The unit is very basic and extremely cold. There is a fire place in the lounge that was very ineffective to heat up the area and a small 6fin oil heater in the main bedroom that was...More

Thank Pioneer705525
Response from Peter M, General Manager at Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa ResortResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Tripadvisor member, Thank you for the review. Agreed, we have some very cold winters here, and this was the first "real" snow in a few years. Glad the kids enjoyed it. Our Fairways is a Gold Crown Resort, usually in the top 5 in...More

Reviewed 7 August 2018

It's a long drive from Durban to Drak Gardens as it's called here so It is preferable to stay there overnight at least. The Hotel is okay. In my opinion the amenities are best enjoyed if the experience is shared with a group. I don't...More

Thank Dimension1986
Response from Peter M, General Manager at Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa ResortResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Dimension1986, Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed the trails and walks in the shadow of the mountains here. We hope you managed to do some of the Park's hikes on our doorstep - some really amazing scenery in...More

View more reviews
About
Description
A Resort in the Drakensberg mountains with breathtaking views, set on 860Ha in a World Heritage Site, our aim is to ensure there is always something to do. Activities include an 18 hole NGU rated golf ...More course, full Wellness Centre and Spa, Mountain biking trail and BMX tracks, horse riding, hiking, bowls, tennis, squash, Adventure golf, Discovery Park and flyfishing. Our Entertainment program runs all year round, day and night, for all age groups, from facepainting to bowls competitions, to quizzes and karaoke. The 5 restaurants open at various times, giving you options from light Bistro meals, to A la Carte variety and buffet/carvery Dinners. The bars range from sports type with big screens, to epic golfing views over the dam and mountains, and relaxed cocktail lounge experiences. We have 3 Conference venues, and beautiful gazebos or venues to plan that Wedding in the berg, a memorable location. Recently built is a zipline, Archery range and adventure park for all ages. A waterslide for the kids and a heated pool, "The Cove" provides extra swimming facilities all year round. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Golf Course
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
88
Price range
US$91 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Drakensberg Gardens Golf And Leisure Resort
,
Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Leisure Hotel Underberg
,
Drakensberg Gardens Hotel Leisure
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
88
Price range
US$91 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Drakensberg Gardens Golf And Leisure Resort
,
Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Leisure Hotel Underberg
,
Drakensberg Gardens Hotel Leisure
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Photos
Traveller (244)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (15)
Pool & Beach (9)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Castleburn Leisure Resort
222 reviews
6.04 km away
Sani Valley Nature Lodges
222 reviews
23.08 km away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
134 reviews
26.34 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
353 reviews
63.56 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 13 restaurants in Underberg
Giant's Cup Cafe
9 reviews
22.65 km away
Lemon Tree Bistro
535 reviews
25.01 km away
Moorcroft Manor Restaurant
110 reviews
26.76 km away
Nip Inn
7 reviews
51.22 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 22 attractions in Underberg
Sani Pass
563 reviews
19.25 km away
The Himeville Museum
72 reviews
26.30 km away
Wild Sky Paragliding
7 reviews
52.87 km away
Stormy Hill Trails & Tails
33 reviews
69.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NomthyK
13 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Peter M | Property representative |
Good day, Please refer to our website and property for all the information you need on your query. Gooderson Leisure search will take you there. Kind Regards
0
Votes
QuintonJ27
18 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Peter M | Property representative |
Good Morning, We charge a rate of R65 per person per day for use of the gym facility, and strictly No Under 16s allowed in the Wellness Centre at any time. There is also a refundable cover charge at the gate, per... More
0
Votes
Explore725459
8 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Peter M | Property representative |
Good Morning, Yes, we do have heating at the slide pool, as well as "the Cove", an outdoor heated pool, free for all to use. It can be a challenge in winter to maintain high temperatures here though. The Wellness Centre... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Always ask if the room has heated floors. Winters are hectic there."
Read review
"Rooms are spacious and have excellent views, the Cyprus rooms are very luxurious."
Read review
"mountains view."
Read review
"Fairways have super rooms and views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing