We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg 3257 South Africa
E-mail hotel
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (350)
Room & Suite (42)
Pool & Beach (7)

About

#1 of 26 Speciality lodging in Underberg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated in a valley at the foot of the Southern Drakensberg Mountains in a World Heritage Site, we offer top-class self catering serviced cottages situated on our 2 Lakes with Magnificent views of the Mountains and Lake. The mountain peaks create magical dimensions to the breathtaking outcrops. We offer Swimming, Tennis,Boating and fly fishing in the dams which provide hours of entertainment for young and old. Walks, hikes (varying in difficulty, mountain biking and our un-forgettable horse-riding which takes you out on a 1 hr out-ride down to a river and into the Mountains.We have restaurants and a Golf course within a 3km drive or walk. We offer a place where dreams become reality.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Hiking
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg 3257 South Africa
Getting there
Pietermaritzburg Airport110 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1 070Reviews4Q+A61Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 837
  • 205
  • 21
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
janprinsloo wrote a review 15 Feb
1 contribution
The cottage was well equipped but the Blackwattle logs supplied were wet and useless as firewood The thatched roof was urgently in need of maintenance and leaked like a sive during the two downpours we had during our stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rohan Charmaine Pete Chere The-Team, General Manager at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for visiting Lake Naverone. We are regretful for the negative experience you had, However we have resolved the problem as per the video that I sent you. It would be wonderful if you could come and visit again to see and experience what we are really about.
Read more
ruandsu2019 wrote a review Feb 2020
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa2 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
One of our most favourite family get-aways. The surroundings leave one with no choice but to relax and soak up the beauty. Very clean and cosy cottages and the hosts are super-friendly and helpful. We have been back many times since our boys were small, and as young adults they still love to go there too. Whether you are after fly-fishing, hiking, exploring the beautiful river or just relaxing with a magnificent backdrop, you have to visit lake Naverone!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from lakenaverone2020, Manager at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Responded 04 Feb 2020
What a wonderful review. Thank you so much.
Read more
Departure39755760683 wrote a review 14 Feb
1 contribution
First stay at Lake Naverone and I believe the place lives up to its reputation. We had a wonderful stay. It is that kind of place where you intend doing 5 activities a day and end up doing just next to nothing!!! Just because it is enough to enjoy a good read by the lake peacefully.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rohan Charmaine Pete Chere The-Team, General Manager at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Responded 1 week ago
What a lovely review, thank you. You have captured the essence of Lake Naverone.
Read more
carl liebenberg wrote a review 12 Feb
Durban, South Africa3 contributions
Top management team, always there to assist. Cleaning staff are great and very helpful. Exceptional views of the berg. Spacious bathroom and the cottage was very cozy. Perfect R & R spot. Really enjoyed my 5 day stay. I WILL BE BACK FOR MY 6TH VISIT.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
chanelleprotheroe wrote a review 08 Feb
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
What a beautiful break away for a family! This location offers so much of which we did everything - horse riding, tennis, fly fishing, paddling in the boat, swimming in the lake, hiking along the stream, drinking from the stream ... braai’ing on the patio with beautiful mountain views ... We would have like a coffee machine or coffee plunger for our morning coffee and rusks in the crisp air and also the main bedroom bed was super uncomfortable. The single beds were amazing though !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDrakensberg RegionUnderberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
What are some of the property amenities at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.