Bushman's Nek

22 Bushmans Nek Road Southern Drakensburg, Underberg 3257 South Africa
Traveller (289)
View from our patio
Room & Suite (154)
Pool & Beach (51)

View prices for your travel dates

R 1 026
Get rewarded with One Key
R 1 026
Get rewarded with One Key
R 990
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 4 hotels in Underberg
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Bushman’s Nek Berg and Trout Resort, situated in the picture-perfect foothills of the Southern Drakensberg, offers a selection of luxury hotel rooms, self-catering apartments and charming log cabins. Besides being the perfect family resort, Bushman’s Nek is also ideal for country weddings, conferencing and teambuilding. Onsite facilities include; WiFi, restaurant, bar, in-room dining, kiddies playground, wellness spa, sauna, Jacuzzi, magnificent rock-hewn swimming pool, heated pools, slides, adventure golf, games rooms, squash, horse riding, paintball, archery, bicycle hire, hiking, fly fishing, bowls and tennis.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Internet
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Charming

Location

22 Bushmans Nek Road Southern Drakensburg, Underberg 3257 South Africa
Getting there
King Shaka Intl Airport
562Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 246
  • 202
  • 65
  • 25
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
aurquh649390 wrote a review Jan 2020
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The food was not good at all, very glad I had a kitchen in my room. Braai facility gets cleaned very early in the morning which is annoying as we cant sleep in.
The hotel had fun activities and the views are amazing. pool is the best
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohanLabuschagne, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear Aurquh, Your review is highly appreciated and seen as a big help in ensuring we as a team improve on the valued services we offer. We are so glad the entertainment team made the stay magical and yes our superb pool is truly inspiring. Till we welcome you back very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Byron Boshoff wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the honeymoon suite this past weekend and our stay was nothing less than amazing and unforgettable. It was quite chilly in the evening so we got quite attached to a fluffy blanket provided by the hotel, however one evening as we were preparing for bed, we couldn't find the fluffy blanket, high and low we searched but defeated we gave up on the case of the missing fluffy blanket, we then made our way to bed, peeled the duvet back only to find that housekeeping had incorporated the fluffy blanket while making the bed, this shows that they care about their guests so much that they went above and beyond to make us as comfortable as possible. That level of attention to detail shows how the staff take their jobs seriously, I really would like to visit again. I miss the tranquility and calm atmosphere.

The couples massage was a wonderful treat, the horse ride was a fun way to experience the beautiful scenery.

We had dinner there on our first night, I had the trout which was cooked to perfection, the chef captured not only the dish's natural beauty but flavours and fragrances that made my mouth water with delight.

Definitely do yourselves a favour and go visit the Bushmans nek hotel, it's a heavenly oasis that will have you coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Rennison, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 02 May 2022
Hi Byron. Thank you for your wonderful review and for letting us know about our fantastic staff member who went out of her way to make you comfortable. We look forward to your next visit to Bushmans Nek. Kind regards, Leon, General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine G wrote a review Jul 2022
Durban, South Africa27 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Set at the base of the mountain a beautiful scenic view. I booked a studio self catering room, it was short of nothing. From pots to pans, cutlery and even an espresso machine and hairdryer- very comfortable and cozy. A fireplace in the room and a braai station outside . Housekeeping kept the room tidy. The only thing was I felt the blanket a bit dusty but housekeeping immediately cleaned that up.

The downside, it loadshed every day but there was back up generator except for the one night it stayed off and I couldn't even see my own fingers.

The restaurant meal was tasty, really enjoyed it. There's is a game room and outside activities for kids. A rock heated pool and going in the dead of winter and with loadshedding guests didn't swim. The spa was an added advantage with guest vouchers. It will make a lovely holiday for kids.

Horse riding is 5minutes away with an hours trail to the border post and waterfall. Great place for a picnic. Paintball is also at the same venue.

Besides hiking ,horse riding and taking in the mountain views it's a nice place to relax.

The staff are very friendly and they keep you updated on events or even remind you to order your meals.

Interaction is great even with other guests.

I had a splendid break.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Rennison, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Hi Lorraine. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at Bushmans Nek. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Leon, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Duncan L wrote a review Sept 2020
Randburg, South Africa5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Bushmans Nek from the 4-7 September 2020 and it was not a pleasant stay. Once you turn off the main road you have to drive 37km on an awful dirt road, that is really only suitable for an SUV. We were not notified how bad the road was before the journey. All three night we had extremely loud neighbours that continued to party and scream until 1am each night. If it was just 1 night that would have been fine, but it was every night. No one answered the phone if you called reception, which begs you to think what would happen if there was an emergency.
Our unit, although run down was quite clean. However basic things were missing such an oven rack, meaning we could not cook in it. Light bulbs did not work, and the main bathroom was grimy. The beds however, were very comfortable. We were in good spirits to spend the Saturday by the pool, only to realise that the resort was performing alterations on a unit close to the pool. So instead of listening to nature we listened to angle grinders and circular saws. Also there was only 1 waiter serving the deck and pool area, meaning guests had to queue to place orders. Alcohol on the menu was not available leaving us with very limited choice but a plan was made.

We decided to enjoy a breakfast at the restaurant on Sunday morning. Well unfortunately that was not enjoyable. Again, DJ, the waiter was the only staff member on duty. He was serving 4 tables. After atleast 40 min table behind us received their food before their order of Tea and coffee. We also waited a long time for our food and we did not want to order drinks because we knew how long it would take to arrive. There was a couple at a table close to us that did complain to Charmaine about the service, she proceeded to give them a 15 minute rundown about why it was so bad. They were not interested, they just wanted their food. 1 of the excused used was that self catering guest were coming to the restaurant, bear in mind there were only 4 tables occupied out of atleast 25 (including the deck) If Bushman's does not want the self catering guest to use the restaurant they need to let them know, otherwise they should have the correct amount of staff to serve the tables. Charmaine also said it was the first weekend open in 5 months, but then why was the resort not better prepared. There was atleast a month to stock up on booze, fix the units and ensure all units were clean and adequately equipped.

It was embarrassing bringing my friends to this resort. The receptionist who's name I cant remember was lovely and I am told the spa treatments were also great. However the rest of the resort was memorable for all the wrong reasons.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juandre Marais, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Good Day Duncan, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. It is very unfortunate to hear that we have not met or exceeded your expectations. We agree that in these trying and highly regulated times, we have some limitations on service and activities, we really do hope that everything will get back to normal soon. We pride ourselves on ensuring the best guest experience and all staff makes an effort to go out of our way to accommodate everyone where we can. We have noted and addressed all your points mentioned. We will be sure to use your feedback to continuously improve on guest experience at our resort. We hope to welcome you back again in future to experience more of what our resort has to offer. Kind Regards, Juandre Marais, General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SweetPiment0 wrote a review May 2021
Winterton, South Africa70 contributions54 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to inform you of our complete disappointment with the level of service and communication offered at bushmansnek.

We were four adults and one small child who stayed as guests for three nights.

Upon arrival there was no water, we reported this several times and maintenance only tried to fix this the first evening.

We had no water for three days. What is worse is that no one communicated with us, returned calls, or made alternate provisions for water supply. It is totally unacceptable.

The service at the bar and restaurant was terribly slow and menu very limited.

The rooms were freezing cold with no working heaters.

The tv wall unit dismantled and almost fell

The tv in main room was not working

Tea, coffee, towels and soaps were not replenished daily.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Rennison, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 26 May 2021
Hi SweetPiment0. Thank you for your patience over the weekend while my team and I were frantically trying to restore the water problems you experienced during your stay with us. It is understandable that the lack of water/hot water would have negatively affected your experience of Bushmans Nek and for this inconvenience, we would like to apologise. Thank for your comments, they have been used to make Bushmans Nek a better property, ready for your next visit. Kind regards, Leon Rennison, General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandi wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT USE THIS RESORT

I found First Group Bushman's Nek via the Agoda site when I searched for Pet Friendly accommodation with their Filter. I was overjoyed to find accommodation at this beautiful lodge with my search filters and immediately booked the accommodation for the next day January 03, 2021 to January 04, 2021.
On January, 03 we departed from Johannesburg. Having had trouble with online bookings before, I frantically tried to contact the venue to confirm our booking. After 17 unanswered/missed calls to the venue(see screenshot), I finally got through to the venue, who then continued to advise me that "No, the venue is not pet friendly. And we cannot stay there."
By this time were at Harrismith with our dogs already... With no accommodation, and nowhere to go.
Since this seems to be a systems error, it is understandable, and after another few unanswered phone calls, I finally spoke to a lady named Charmaine who was very friendly and understood our frustration and indicated that the accounts lady would contact me soon to arrange a refund.
After 14 days nobody had contacted me yet. I have left several messages with reception, but nobody has returned any of these calls either. All I want is for them to refund me a promised.
On the 17th I finally got hold of the manager Juandre Marais, and he blatantly refused to refund me - no compromise. Thus they took my money for no services rendered, nor any received.
I am very disappointed in their unprofessional conduct.

It was a misunderstanding on the Agoda system. I am outraged that they took my money and refuse to refund me as promised. Basically they stole my money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juandre Marais, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 18 Feb 2021
Good day Mrs Bothma, Thank you for your feedback it is most welcomed. It was very unfortunate that you did not have the opportunity to come and visit us at Bushman’s Nek on the 3rd of January 2021, due to the misunderstanding on the AGODA website regarding us not being a pet-friendly Resort. Unfortunately when you enquired about this on your way to the resort, we informed you about the pet not allowed but it was unfortunately too late to cancel the 1 night booking a couple of hours before check-in. Your booking was made on a lowered rate (which does not allow for refund within 30 days prior to arrival date). Again I do want to apologize for this inconvenience this has caused you. We remain hopeful that you will come and visit us in the nearest future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan Leeds wrote a review Apr 2021
Flic En Flac48 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we luckily managed to get a last minute booking. I admit I didn't do my research before. After a not so pleasant 38km dirt road we reach Bushman's Nek and it was beyond my wildest expectations. Coming into autumn, the trees were changing color, a real feast for the eyes. All the staff were beyond amazing, but especially Thulani, he continually went out of his way to make our trip enjoyable, and we were even lucky enough to go for a hike with him.
The rooms were flawless, the only slight issue we had was that they did not supply bath towels, but within a few minutes of asking at reception, they were delivered to our chalet.
There are so many activities to keep you busy, that I might need to go again to fully experience it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juandre Marais, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 06 May 2021
Hi Ryan. Thank you for your review and rating. I will convey your kind words to the staff and especially Thulani. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Leon Rennison, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NerdyNomad wrote a review Mar 2023
Cape Town, South Africa32 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort is nestled in the mountains with the most amazing views but unfortunately the resort is in dire need of some maintenance and upgrades.

The roof in the bed room was leaking when it is raining. With our suitcase getting wet within the bedroom.

The rooms are cold with no airconditioning available, only a wood fireplace is available in the living room of the chalet.

Some mobile networks does not have reception at the resort and the Wifi was not working most of the week we spend at the resort. This requires guests to travel to areas with reception to be able to receive emails.

With all the power outages we were left a number of times without hot water and only hours later hot water is available again. This is unpleasant when returning from the swimming pool only to find that you cannot have a hor shower.

The only highlight is the fireplace in the lounge and restaurant which is wonderful to spend evenings in front.

Pig & Pony is within walking distance and worth going on a horse trail.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Rennison, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 25 Mar 2023
Hi Nerdynomad. Due to the massive storms that we have had recently, we have been affected by lengthy power outages due to maintenance required for lines damaged by fallen trees. This in turn affects our communication networks as the Vodacom and MTN towers have no battery back up. Kind regards Leon General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shoaib_Bissessur wrote a review Jan 2020
Durban, South Africa32 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My rating doesnt do justification for this resort but there is one thing which swayed my decision. The facilities were good the rooms neat and spacious however I couldnt come to terms with the flies in the resort. The drive was rough and we travelled in heavy rains so we had to make do with very slippery gravel roads. The staff were courteous and helpful. The use of the sauna and jacuzzi was very reasonable for my family. The rock pool is just lovely whilst the heated pool was a hit. But the flies bring you down. The rooms should have those insect zappers perhaps to help with fly control to control the problem. The surrounds are well manicured and there are daily activities to keep you occupied if need be. The drive to the nearby farm was nice and I was really thrilled to see the river flow strongly after some rains. Hiking is on offer with various routes from easy to hard and fishing to is on offer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohanLabuschagne, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear Mr Shoaib, Thank you for taking the time in writing the review and sharing your experience with us. We do appreciate constructive feedback as this only helps us in improving our service to you our valued guests. Regarding the score we have invested in all kinds of sprays, hanging traps, granules etc. to assist us in this problem we have this year. We are glad to advise that it is much better now. Till we meet again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Petra S wrote a review Nov 2021
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We (15 of us) absolutely LOVED staying at this resort very recently. It exceeded our expectations in terms of everything. The location of this resort is nothing less but spectacular and its pristine amenities is what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The chalets are spacious and very comfortable. Food and drink at he restaurant is good and very reasonably priced. The overall service at this resort was attentive and excellent. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Rennison, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 03 Nov 2021
Hi Petra. Thank you for your review and rating. We are so happy that all 15 of you had a wonderful time at Bushmans Nek. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Leon, General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie A asked a question Jul 2023
Condition of the dirt road
Answer from Bushmans N
Durban, South Africa
Good morning Jackie, both gravel roads are accessible to the resort. We do advise to take the first turn-off coming from Underberg, it is slightly longer but less rocks in the road. Hope this helps and see you soon!! Juandre Marais General Manager
Answer from JohanLabuschagne
Hi Ameeth. There is a fireplace in the lounge, but no heaters in the bedrooms.
Answer from dorette441
Colesberg, South Africa94 contributions22 helpful votes
We went to view the resort in Oct 2016 and were charged no fee.
Answer from JohanLabuschagne
Hi NJC 112, The second road is a gravel road. If you are travelling in a sedan you will be able to drive the road with no major issues. Please note the 2nd road is roughly 21 km outside of the town of Undeberg travelling towards Kokstad. I hope this helps
Moorti wrote a tip Oct 2023
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa13 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Email an get written confirmation. Make sure u confirm restaurant times . "
Read full review
Odyssey18227870213 wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nearest large supermarket (Spar) is in Underberg 40 km away, so make sure you buy your supplies from there on your way. "
Read full review
Ray E wrote a tip Apr 2023
Durban, South Africa254 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t forget Nespresso pods and your hiking boots."
Read full review
Charlene M wrote a tip Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take it slow on the gravel road"
Read full review
Devrajh N wrote a tip Jun 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa28 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with a fireplace as it was quite cold 🥶 20 km road is unpaved and although I have a small sedan, it managed the gravel if driven at a gentle speed. #Potholes ."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Underberg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 882 - R 1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bushmans nek berg & trout hotel underberg, bushmans nek berg and trout resort
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDrakensberg RegionUnderberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUSHMAN'S NEK - Now R 1 019 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶8̶1̶1̶) - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Underberg, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bushman's Nek
What are some of the property amenities at Bushman's Nek?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Bushman's Nek?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bushman's Nek?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bushman's Nek?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Bushman's Nek offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Does Bushman's Nek have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Bushman's Nek accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Underberg HotelsUnderberg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UnderbergHotels near Bushman's Nek
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire