We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bushman's Nek

Save
Share
22 Bushmans Nek Road Southern Drakensburg, Underberg 3257 South Africa
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (235)
Room & Suite (139)
Pool & Beach (23)

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Underberg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Bushman’s Nek Berg and Trout Resort, situated in the picture-perfect foothills of the Southern Drakensberg, offers a selection of luxury hotel rooms, self-catering apartments and charming log cabins. Besides being the perfect family resort, Bushman’s Nek is also ideal for country weddings, conferencing and teambuilding. Onsite facilities include; WiFi, restaurant, bar, in-room dining, kiddies playground, wellness spa, sauna, Jacuzzi, magnificent rock-hewn swimming pool, heated pools, slides, adventure golf, games rooms, squash, horse riding, paintball, archery, bicycle hire, hiking, fly fishing, bowls and tennis.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Internet
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming

Location

Full view
Contact
22 Bushmans Nek Road Southern Drakensburg, Underberg 3257 South Africa
Getting there
Pietermaritzburg Airport115 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
538Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 231
  • 199
  • 64
  • 23
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RodBlondin wrote a review Jan 2021
Pretoria, South Africa35 contributions13 helpful votes
Really beautiful part of the country with a wonderful rock pool "complex" that is a fitting centrepiece to the well kept gardens. The dirt road is not the best and it is worth checking with the hotel first which of the two available routes is the best to use. The chalets are reasonable, but the inventory needs to be checked as not all the items are there. We had an unfortunate noise issue with our neighbours on the first night which should have been addressed on the spot, but Charmaine came to our assistance the next morning with extreme efficiency and changed us out with a much better unit - Charmaine and her staff are friendly and to be commended. The log cabins seem to be better placed as regards the view, but the "front" units are certainly more desirable than the rear units. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, especially the pool and the front unit that was arranged for us after the noise issue.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Juandre Marais, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and that we were able to assist you with your unit. I will definitely share your kind words with the team. I have also discussed your concerns mentioned regarding the inventory with the housekeeping department, who will be sure to use your feedback to continuously improve on guest experience at our resort. It was our great pleasure to have welcomed you to our resort. The team is looking forward to having you visit us again soon!
Read more
Sandi wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
DO NOT USE THIS RESORT I found First Group Bushman's Nek via the Agoda site when I searched for Pet Friendly accommodation with their Filter. I was overjoyed to find accommodation at this beautiful lodge with my search filters and immediately booked the accommodation for the next day January 03, 2021 to January 04, 2021. On January, 03 we departed from Johannesburg. Having had trouble with online bookings before, I frantically tried to contact the venue to confirm our booking. After 17 unanswered/missed calls to the venue(see screenshot), I finally got through to the venue, who then continued to advise me that "No, the venue is not pet friendly. And we cannot stay there." By this time were at Harrismith with our dogs already... With no accommodation, and nowhere to go. Since this seems to be a systems error, it is understandable, and after another few unanswered phone calls, I finally spoke to a lady named Charmaine who was very friendly and understood our frustration and indicated that the accounts lady would contact me soon to arrange a refund. After 14 days nobody had contacted me yet. I have left several messages with reception, but nobody has returned any of these calls either. All I want is for them to refund me a promised. On the 17th I finally got hold of the manager Juandre Marais, and he blatantly refused to refund me - no compromise. Thus they took my money for no services rendered, nor any received. I am very disappointed in their unprofessional conduct. It was a misunderstanding on the Agoda system. I am outraged that they took my money and refuse to refund me as promised. Basically they stole my money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Juandre Marais, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good day Mrs Bothma, Thank you for your feedback it is most welcomed. It was very unfortunate that you did not have the opportunity to come and visit us at Bushman’s Nek on the 3rd of January 2021, due to the misunderstanding on the AGODA website regarding us not being a pet-friendly Resort. Unfortunately when you enquired about this on your way to the resort, we informed you about the pet not allowed but it was unfortunately too late to cancel the 1 night booking a couple of hours before check-in. Your booking was made on a lowered rate (which does not allow for refund within 30 days prior to arrival date). Again I do want to apologize for this inconvenience this has caused you. We remain hopeful that you will come and visit us in the nearest future.
Read more
Nadine L wrote a review Jan 2021
Kroondal, North-West, South Africa6 contributions1 helpful vote
The road is horrible especially in rain.The rooms were very old and not clean.The towls were old and torn.The "General" store did not even have bread and milk.We had no power so also no hot water.Lounge and dining area smelles very bad of smoke from the fireplace especially in the evening and morning.So for an asmatic to come to the mountains for fresh air this is horrible.The only beautiful part is the sceanery.I would not recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juandre Marais, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Day, We sincerely apologize that you did not have an exceptionally great holiday with us on your recent visit. We have noted your concerns raised and have addressed them with the relevant departments to ensure we rectify the needed areas to the required Standards. We wish to welcome you back soon and give you the level of service Bushmans Nek is renowned for.
Read more
Berbar wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa8 contributions2 helpful votes
Swimming pool and mountains surrounding hotel are great. Everything else awful. Untrained staff. Gardens not well maintained. Units shabby and area outside units not clean. 30km dirt road. Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Juandre Marais, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 2 weeks ago
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. It is very unfortunate to hear that we have not exceeded your expectations. We did have some limitations on service during trying and highly regulated times, we will be sure to use your feedback to continuously improve on guest experience at our resort. It was our great pleasure to have welcomed you to our resort, we wish to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
AilsaLe wrote a review Dec 2020
Durban, South Africa53 contributions17 helpful votes
A wonderful location and a resort with so much potential, but a general lack of maintenance and shortage of staff. The dirt road was terrible .Advertised activities did not take place, very disappointing for children. Although it was the festive season no effort was made to make it feel like it. The lounge area was beautifully decorated. The pool area and putt putt were great. A number of light bulbs were missing in our unit, the basin did not drain and the shower handle fell off .No supervision and care of the games room, difficult to get equipment. Not good value for money at all.Last minute changes trying to be made by First Resorts was upsetting as I was not prepared to stay in 2 studio units far apart separated from my 2 grandchildren. This was unacceptable and after a fuss was given the unit I had booked.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The log cabins have the best view. The studio units do not look nice. Check your booking before...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juandre Marais, General Manager at Bushman's Nek
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are very disappointed that we have not exceeded your holiday expectations. We had some limitations on service and activities during trying and highly regulated times. We have addressed your maintenance concerns with the team who will surely use your feedback to improve on the service and hospitality standards. We are continuously working on improvements to uplift guest experience at our resort. It was our pleasure to have welcomed you and wish to welcome you back in the future for us to show you the improvements our resort.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$30 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bushmans nek berg & trout hotel underberg, bushmans nek berg and trout resort
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDrakensberg RegionUnderberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bushman's Nek
What are some of the property amenities at Bushman's Nek?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Bushman's Nek?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bushman's Nek?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bushman's Nek?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bushman's Nek?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bushman's Nek offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Does Bushman's Nek have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Bushman's Nek accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.