We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 19 hotels in Umhlanga Rocks

The Oyster Box

1 973 reviews
Save
Traveller (1180)
Room & Suite (183)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good8%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“curry buffet”(200 reviews)
“the grill”(174 reviews)
“lighthouse bar”(117 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from The Oyster Box
Special Offer: Book Direct and Save
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1 973)Write a Review
Filter reviews
1 875 results
Traveller rating
1 665
150
39
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1 665
150
39
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetthe grilllighthouse barhigh teaoysterswayne coetzerocean terrace restaurantoyster bargarden villaresident catattention to detailour waiterindian oceancolonial styletreated like royaltysea facing roomlight house
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1 875 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

What a wonderful, old world hotel with all the modern amenities. Rashid at breakfast and the gentleman who always helped us with the elevators made our stay delightful. Rashid went out of his way on two mornings to make sure our breakfast was perfect in...More

Thank USCJo .
Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Only spent one night which I truly regret. Check in was outstanding, very friendly staff great personalities and always smiling. A wealth of helpful information. We had a rood Oceanside with an amazing view of the lighthouse and Indian Ocean. Room was immaculate and very...More

2  Thank Bill S
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your one-night stay with us at The Oyster Box. I am thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your luxurious and spacious accommodation with spectacular ocean views. Our superb breakfast spread is the talk of...More

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Amazing view, nice place of the highest level, qualified waiters and managers and wonderful cuisine! We came here without making a reservation, a manager found a good table with nice ocean view for us. Oysters were of outstanding taste, mussels were delicious with amazing sauce,...More

Thank Julia K
Reviewed yesterday

We spent a weekend here in the "cheap seats" but the views from the rooms were just as gorgeous and the rooms were exquisite. The Hotel is complete eye candy and behind every corner there is an eye-catching piece of art or a piece of...More

Thank dooley_13
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

had a fantastic time with my girlfriend at the Oyster Box, Brian is well trained and his service was exceptional. he was very attentive to all of our needs. the mood and the ambience of this place is soothing and refreshing. will definitely be back

Thank Siyabonga Sthan... M
View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456375
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice
2017 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Spa
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Breakfast included
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Restaurant
Spa
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$313 - US$1 059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$313 - US$1 059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1180)
Room & Suite (183)
Dining (138)
Pool & Beach (94)
Hotel & Grounds (815)
Bathroom (12)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
krinelle
12 November 2017|
Answer
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Unfortunately The Ocean Terrace and The Grill Room Restaurants are not Halaal. Kind regards, Wayne Coetzer General Manager
0
Votes
Suzanne L
7 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Absolutely! We definitely cater for families. The hotel is situated right on the beach and we offer an in-house Cinema for residing guests and two swimming pools, one sea facing and a garden pool... More
0
Votes
Notalonelyt
13 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Thank you for your enquiry. We do offer a selection of items which are Gluten Free. However, please specify you are allergic to gluten when making your booking with restaurant reservations as each outlet... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"See view is worth the upgrade"
Read review
"Certainly ask for an ocean facing room if available."
Read review
"I had a basic room with a view over the grounds. No idea what the other rooms were like in comparison."
Read review
"Ocean view"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite