We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oyster Box

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (1325)
Room & Suite (200)
Dining (150)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good8%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“curry buffet”(215 reviews)
“the grill”(185 reviews)
“lighthouse bar”(120 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2 074)
Filter reviews
1 967 results
Traveller rating
1 749
156
41
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1 749
156
41
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetthe grilllighthouse barhigh teaoysterswayne coetzerocean terrace restaurantoyster barresident catgarden villaattention to detailour waitersea facing roomcolonial styleindian oceanbucket listtreated like royalty
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1 967 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Wonderful experience all round. A room with a view of the beach and the lighthouse- and from the moment we walked in we were made to feel special. The spaces and ambience in this hotel are heady and luxurious- the breakfasts cater to every possible...More

Thank SwissGoWest
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay with us at The Oyster Box. I am thrilled you enjoyed a wonderful experience from the moment you arrived and found everything to your liking, in particular the exceptional breakfast...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Went to the Oyster Box in March 2018 for dinner. Our first evening in South Africa and what a wonderful start to our holiday. Fabulous food, fabulous views and excellent service. (Thank you Rakesh.) What more could you wish for. If you are in the...More

Thank Andrea C
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Oyster Box on your first evening in South Africa. I am thrilled you enjoyed an amazing meal in our fine dining restaurant, The Grill Room and were spoilt...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I spent another 4 nights in this wonderful hotel while on business in Umhlanga. My first visit was in 1971 and for the past 47 years the consistently good service, excellent food and wonderfull old-world charm, makes this one of the best hotels to enjoy...More

Thank Nico558
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box. As returning and much-valued guests, your feedback is most important to us and I am thrilled therefore to read that we have again, following...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Once again my stay at The Oyster Box was nothing short of superb! Calling it home from home is doing this immaculate KZN institution a dis-service as it is even better. Beautiful rooms, fabulous staff and excellent service. Thank you to Tyler and the rest...More

Thank DPCapeTown
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box. Feedback such as yours is most appreciated, as we know our guests enjoy our "home from home" feeling we offer and to read that...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

I stayed at The Oyster Box in April with my two daughters. My first trip to SA - what a beautiful country and a fantastic hotel. We were very well looked after by Wayne, Tyler and team. Our luxurious rooms had spectacular sea views and...More

Thank hargravenina
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box. I am absolutely thrilled to read that we exceeded your expectations throughout your stay and that you found everything to your liking. Our staff...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Spa
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Breakfast included
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Restaurant
Spa
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$334 - US$1 048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$334 - US$1 048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1325)
Room & Suite (200)
Dining (150)
Pool & Beach (101)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
krinelle
12 November 2017|
Answer
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Unfortunately The Ocean Terrace and The Grill Room Restaurants are not Halaal. Kind regards, Wayne Coetzer General Manager
0
Votes
Suzanne L
7 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Absolutely! We definitely cater for families. The hotel is situated right on the beach and we offer an in-house Cinema for residing guests and two swimming pools, one sea facing and a garden pool... More
0
Votes
13 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Thank you for your enquiry. We do offer a selection of items which are Gluten Free. However, please specify you are allergic to gluten when making your booking with restaurant reservations as each outlet... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Sea View Rooms are the best"
Read review
"Sea view always best"
Read review
"Choose a room with a sea view on either the second or third floors - room 307 is great"
Read review
"Ocean view rooms are luxurious"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing