We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gecko Inn Guest House

48 Bottlebrush Bend Veld en Vlei, Richards Bay 3900 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 17 guest houses in Richards Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Gecko Inn is located in the City of Umhlatuze, Richards Bay, in the heart of Kwazulu-Natal. The true gateway to the most prestigious Game Parks, Game Lodges and Sanctuaries in Zululand. Enjoy the best of both worlds! The Indian Ocean with its beautiful beaches and the bushland where the Big Five roam. We offer you exclusive accommodation in a secure, warm environment. Therefore our mission is to provide you with the best possible service & personal attention to detail. Whether you are a day visitor on a long trip through South Africa, or a visitor who plans a longer stay in Richards Bay, rest assured in the knowledge Gecko Inn will provide in your every need.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Hiking
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
427Reviews3Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 304
  • 92
  • 18
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Relax27049226172 wrote a review 09 Apr
2 contributions
My family and I went to celebrate a birthday. We ordered food @ 20h00 our food only arrived between 21h15-21h30 with us being told during this duration before our food arrived that they are plating it which was almost half an hour! By 10pm we were confronted by swat to leave the restaurant and go outside with the utmost disrespect from both the men. We barely finished our meals and let alone pack our stuff to even leave, they were rude and this experience was horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sonjaa204 wrote a review Mar 2024
Johannesburg 2 contributions
my first time in Richards Bay and what a wonderful experience from the time i arrived, through to the check in and the way i was accompanied to my room - friendliness 10/10 and so efficient - the room was large and everything worked! the mattrass was so comfortable and i dont usually get much sleep on my first night anywhere but this was the exception. Facilities are top notch and how nice to have such lovely food just a few steps away - well done to the team
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joretha van Schalkwyk, Marketing at Gecko Inn Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good day Thank you for taking the time to us such an excellent rating and review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
didierque2 wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Well maninted place .great pools very clean. I was fortunate to have a room far away from the main section which is close to the bar which can be very noisy. Wifi works and has solar so no issues for load shedding It would have been nice to get free bottled water every day. Unfortunately you have to pay for the gym but its very cheap. Food is great .thr buffet for breakfast is very tasty but the serving area is very cramped. It's in a great location but not close to the beach .Will return next week
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joretha van Schalkwyk, Marketing at Gecko Inn Guest House
Responded 1 week ago
Good day, thank you for leaving us a rating and for your feedback. Customer satisfaction and comfort is our top priority, and we are happy to hear that you had a positive experience with us. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards The Gecko Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
umazha867147 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The accomodation was great. Rooms recently renovated. pools outside some rooms. However some of the guests had a bit too much fun, which made it difficult to also enjoy our stay with our toddler. It was pretty loud and some scenes weren’t child appropriate.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joretha van Schalkwyk, Marketing at Gecko Inn Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good day umazha867147 Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a valuable review, we do appreciate each and every feedback that we receive We apologize if there had been any problems during your stay but we are pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay at our property
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
adriansapalaran wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Hi thank you very much for your good to us.All facilities are verry good and all food are verry good and quality.Thanks a lot we enjoyed to stay in in your facility. All rooms are neat and clean.We hope we come back again.Godbless
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joretha van Schalkwyk, Marketing at Gecko Inn Guest House
Responded 29 Feb 2024
Good day Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful rating and review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
24Carmen2020 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Very comfortable and convenient. Overall, the rooms, food and offer is above average to the business traveler in Richards Bay. I have stayed in many other BnB & hotels in the town, and Gecko Inn is my first choice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joretha van Schalkwyk, Marketing at Gecko Inn Guest House
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Good day Carmen Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful rating and review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would choose to stay with us again We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cheethendram wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Overall, very good value for the money, I highly recommend staying here to anyone looking for a home away from home. The food at the restaurant is excellent and good value for your money. I will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joretha van Schalkwyk, Marketing at Gecko Inn Guest House
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Good day, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful rating and review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you found everything on the property up to your standard. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tgabon709966 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
I stayed at Gecko Inn for three days over the festive period and my experience was unfortunately not great. I arrived early from another town (that's on me) and I was told that there's no early check-in option. That meant driving around aimlessly for about two hours waiting for 2pm. The lady at reception said she'd call me as soon as the first room was ready and available, and she didn't. I came back around 4pm and waited over an hour to check in. There was some dispute being dealt with at reception, a customer that had requested two rooms and paid in full only had one room reserved for them. The receptionist couldn't sort that out and there was no manager available to clean up the mess. In the end, there was no resolution and four guests had to squeeze themselves into one room. Didn't hear the word sorry even once. The place allows day visitors, which I wasn't aware of. That meant large, noisy crowds on the premises most of the time using shared facilities like the pool, braai stands, etc. My partner and I had a braai the afternoon of the 31st and used some of the crockery and cutlery from the room. A wine glass and a side plate disappeared. When we checked out, just before the gate opened, the cleaning staff started running around, screaming and waving frantically at security not to open the gate because there was a wine glass and a side plate missing from our room. You can imagine how embarrassing and infuriating that was. Ultimately, we had to pay R72 before we were allowed to leave. In terms of the rooms, the bed is nice and solid but the surface area of the side tables is about the size of an A4 page, which means your stuff is always falling to the ground. The showers have no doors, so maybe bring a mop from home because the floor in the bathroom will need some drying up after every shower. OK-ish place but I won't be in a hurry to come back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joretha van Schalkwyk, Marketing at Gecko Inn Guest House
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Good day Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a valuable review, we do take into consideration each and every review received and your feedback had been shared with management and the owners, we do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We do hope that we might be able to accommodate you again in the near future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Seaside755079 wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
Our stay at the Gecko Inn guesthouse was perfect My family and I really enjoyed ourselves. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We also had a blast at the pool. We look forward to visiting again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joretha van Schalkwyk, Marketing at Gecko Inn Guest House
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Good day Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful rating and review, we are so pleased that you and your family could enjoy all that our property have to offer. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Khona1136 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
The rooms are big enough and super clean , We enjoyed their nice and clean swimming pool , The Security level is very high and the people working at the Gate are very friendly and so welcoming, the staff was so amazing with their Job and very friendly
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joretha van Schalkwyk, Marketing at Gecko Inn Guest House
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Good day Khona Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful rating and review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we could have accommodated you We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Richards Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,219 - R 1,519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalRichards Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GECKO INN GUEST HOUSE - Now R 1 501 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶7̶0̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Richards Bay, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gecko Inn Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Gecko Inn Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Lido Disco (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gecko Inn Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gecko Inn Guest House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Gecko Inn Guest House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gecko Inn Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gecko Inn Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Neighborhood Cafe, Burger King Richards Bay (Halaal), and Pink.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gecko Inn Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Gecko Inn Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Gecko Inn Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gecko Inn Guest House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gecko Inn Guest House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gecko Inn Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.