We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg

Save
Share
Cnr. Hesketh Drive and New England Rd Hayfields, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$49
TravelocityUS$49
CheapTicketsUS$49
Orbitz.comUS$49
TripadvisorUS$49
Snaptravel
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 10 hotels in Pietermaritzburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Pietermaritzburg? Then look no further than Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Pietermaritzburg to your doorstep.

Guest rooms offer air conditioning, and Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Close to some of Pietermaritzburg's most popular landmarks, such as Tala Private Game Reserve (2.6 mi) and Pietermaritzburg Worlds View (2.9 mi), Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg is a great destination for tourists.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out John Dory's Golden Horse Casino, which is a seafood restaurant that is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for something to do, Butterflies for Africa, KwaZulu-Natal National Botanical Garden, and Wylie Park are a nice way to spend some time.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg as you experience everything Pietermaritzburg has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Outdoor pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
38Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 11
  • 7
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Johann K wrote a review Oct 2020
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa3 contributions
I'm usually a guesthouse person, but now I think City lodges like this offer a better deal than most guest houses. The place is spotless clean, the staff are friendly and they have a range of services that you typically wouldn't find at a guest house.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Marketing at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded 04 Oct 2020
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Eckart Z wrote a review Aug 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
Nothing is explained or communicated No service provided at all for anything, not even coffee There is a kettle in the room but nothing else, so its useless there is not even a cup in the bathroom for toothbrush etc. Staff and Management have no clue how basic services such as tea and coffee or breakfast can be provided even during Covid 19
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHG Marketing, Marketing at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded 24 Sep 2020
Thank you for choosing Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg and for sharing feedback on your experience. We are so sorry that you found your stay disappointing. City Lodge Hotel Group has strict Covid-19 prevention protocols in place to ensure that guests and staff stay safe. In addition, we have launched a contactless online check-in system and are working out the teething problems. However, this is no excuse for failing to deliver our usual high standard of service excellence. Our hotel general manager has looked into all of the challenges you listed. Your room was booked through a third party and they declined the packed breakfast and reserved your stay for room only. However, staff should have checked with this with you on arrival, you should also have been offered a refreshment box at upon arrival, to make tea and coffee in your room, and we are truly sorry for this oversight. Our reception team is being retrained to ensure that you benefit from all of the time-saving and safety features of the online check-in, but that your needs are also fully met and you receive our traditional warm welcome. The housekeeping team has been made aware of the lack of a cup and glass in your room, and again, we apologise for this oversight. We have taken the necessary steps to ensure they won’t happen again. We hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves and show you our very best hospitality.
Read more
Nkosie wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Everything was in order. Except that the Network for Vodacom in my Corner Room 4 was bad, but that is not RL problem i guess. i really enjoyed my short stay here. Should i decide to take a short left to PMB and surroundings I would definitely re-visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Upstairs with a Good View to the N3 Freeway.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Quintin Fitzpatrick wrote a review Mar 2020
Vereeniging, South Africa21 contributions
Very noisy you can hear everything but one good thing I suppose is that the reception let us know and apologized for it before, never the less we had a large group check in with us lots of children but no discipline ran up and down knocking on room doors and running away at 5 am in the morning this was bad. Then they offer free Wi-Fi that does not work on the most simple of WhatsApp message reception well say no more. You get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing feedback on your experience. We are so sorry that we did not meet your requirements. Our hotel general manager has looked into the matter confirms that there was a large group checked into the hotel during your stay. We do try to limit the noise and disruption large groups can cause to other guests, but on this occasion we were clearly not successful. Hotel management has investigated the WiFi service and confirms that this is now working optimally. We do apologise for the inconvenience, as we strive to ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible. We hope that you consider booking with us in the future and allow us to redeem ourselves.
Read more
Sue O wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
Lovely friendly staff. Great housekeeping. Had the best stay and will definitely be back. Close to Picknpay and Spar, really convenient. The pool area is clean and neat but needs umbrellas for more shade.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the classic ambiance of the hotel, our helpful and friendly staff as well as the hotel's location. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome again soon.
Read more
Previous
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPietermaritzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg?
Nearby attractions include African Bird of Prey Sanctuary (4.0 km), Cumberland Nature Reserve (5.7 km), and KwaZulu-Natal Museum (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Is parking available at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sagewood Cafe, Tandoor Kitchen, and Olive & Oil.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.