ILawu Bed & Breakfast

ILawu Bed & Breakfast

18 New England Road Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (11)
Pool side
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#6 of 9 lodges in Pietermaritzburg
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
iLawu Guesthouse is the ideal base from which to discover the capital city of KwaZulu-Natal in the southern suburbs of Pietermaritzburg. Our 11 room guesthouse is located close to the well-known Golden Horse Casino, Scottville Mall, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban University of Technology, Alexandra Park, Harry Gwala Stadium and 15 minutes from the airport, yet in a private and cosy environment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Zulu

Location

18 New England Road Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 45 out of 100
45
Pietermaritzburg Airport
King Shaka Intl Airport
69.9 km
See all flights
30Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 3
  • 7
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
nc484408 wrote a review Apr 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The place was fine, I enjoyed the breakfast more. Its secure and private. The staff was great, accommodating and was willing to assist with a small issue I had with the room I was allocated in. Just that we had no wifi at the time but an explanation was that its broken and would be fixed after that long weekend
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nmntam591713 wrote a review May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Bathroom space was too small when you going to used toilet. Toilets door was not good. We did not received Wi-Fi password
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tngoma577847 wrote a review Jul 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The good/what went well:
- Very friendly staff
- Aircon made room nice and warm
- Good location
- The outside chilling area / pool deck is very beautiful and great to spend time in

The bad / what went wrong/can be improved:
- Communication is terrible! Couldn’t get through to the property at which we booked directly (had to go via a very chaotic switchboard) and they couldn’t/didn’t reach out to us either to communicate/confirm our ETA
- The bed/mattress is OLD and very uncomfortable
- On the night of our arrival, we opened the bed covers to discover only a mattress protector - which a was in a horrible (disgusting, really) state, stained and old and torn, - and no bedsheet. We had to remove it to be able to sleep on the bed and then. The next morning we requested the replacement of our linen, which was done
- Extractor fan in bathroom doesn’t work (which explains the (mouldy?) stains on the ceiling above the shower
- Spider cobwebs on many parts of the walls in the room and in bathroom window, with shells of insects that died looooooong ago
- Shower head leak that resulted in messy showering experience
- Generally, the bathroom isn’t the cleanest, especially noticeable even in the nooks and crannies
- Breakfast was decent in taste but the portions are ridiculously small - definitely not value for money
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kmeyiw181092 wrote a review Jan 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms at New England guesthouse are very small, no space to move around. The cupboard space is close to zero. The breakfast was off on the second day(the sausages were smelling and tasting horrible). We asked for a fruit and pastry platter, and got a plate with 10 grapes and a small pieces pineapple. The tv was not working when we arrived and we were told it’s because of the weather and it was not raining at the time (if it was still raining, it would have been understandable). I regret spending my money there. Oh and another thing, nothing on the menu was available.They only have breakfast items. Every time we ordered something else, they told us it’s not available.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sivuyise wrote a review Jun 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to the hotel before but this time i was given an outside room wich was small and just not up the normal standard.

The air-conditioner was not working ane the place was very cold.

If i had seen the room before i would have explored other options.

Service was great though. The stuff especially night stuff deserve a raise ( joking ) .

Lastly the quality of the breakfast is slipping.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nndzan380019 wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a weekend away with my wife. The room was clean, the service was excellent. We enjoyed our stay. We will definitely make a booking again. We really enjoyed the breakfast
and the staff was amazing. Thank you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Esther M wrote a review Jan 2018
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Smelly, noisy and not clean. We booked a room for a business traveller, on arrival at Ilawu Bed and breakfast the place was not clean and smelly. They suggested we relocate to Ilawu Inn but this place is not much better.
Unfortunately, with a 100% cancellation fee, we are now stuck.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from iLawuHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at ILawu Bed & Breakfast
Responded 05 Feb 2018
On behalf of iLawu Hospitality Group, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our hotels. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this and reassure you of our co-operation and look forward to a more positive association with you in the future as well. We appreciate your business and will do everything we can to serve your needs.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IlzeMoller wrote a review Jun 2018
Cape Town Central, South Africa
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Ilawu before the Comrades - It was SMALL - over priced - noisy guests and they also had a function,which meant the car park was FULL - unacceptable- Photos not reflecting what the rooms look like - unfortunately we realised we need to take photo’s after we were ready to get to bed - but will post some anyway ..Will NEVER return !!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from iLawuHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at ILawu Bed & Breakfast
Responded 12 Jun 2018
Thank you for your feedback, . We take pride in exceeding our customer expectations and whilst we are thrilled that you chose us for your Comrades Marathon stay, we are deeply disturbed that you were disappointed. Please be so kind as to inbox us your contact details on our Facebook page so that we can discuss this with you in person. Thanks again for letting us know as we take guest feedback seriously and certainly do action everything accordingly. Look forward to connecting with you and welcoming you back for true iLawu hospitality soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tboto868074 wrote a review Jun 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The place was clean, area was safe, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was great.it was easy to get the place. The people for ILawu also communicated with me before we got there. We were impressed with their service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zlonde334082 wrote a review Apr 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Helpful and welcoming staff however the place is very noisy. You could hear people talking in the next room and banging noise from the kitchen. Our neighbors even had a music speaker was so disturbing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Pushpa G wrote a tip Dec 2017
7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited options. Located close to the road so traffic noise will affect a light sleeper."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pietermaritzburg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 776 - R 884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPietermaritzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ILAWU BED & BREAKFAST - Now R 800 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶2̶7̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Pietermaritzburg, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ILawu Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to ILawu Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Comrades Marathon House (0.05 km), Hollywoodbets Scottsville Racecourse (0.3 km), and Leosage Wellness and Development (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ILawu Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at ILawu Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at ILawu Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at ILawu Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ILawu Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tea on 23, El Sombrero Spur Steak Ranch, and John Dory's Golden Horse Casino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at ILawu Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does ILawu Bed & Breakfast have an airport shuttle?
Yes, ILawu Bed & Breakfast offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does ILawu Bed & Breakfast have airport transportation?
Yes, ILawu Bed & Breakfast offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does ILawu Bed & Breakfast offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ILawu Bed & Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Zulu.
All Pietermaritzburg HotelsPietermaritzburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PietermaritzburgHotels near ILawu Bed & Breakfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire