Lexden

176 Howick Road Athlone, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
R 3 700
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
R 3 695
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
R 3 677
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#7 of 24 guest houses in Pietermaritzburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Lexden is a unique property, in extent 5500 square metres with panoramic views of Pietermaritzburg. Situated 3km from the City Hall, Lexden is conveniently situated to the shopping, business and restaurant hub and the N3 (National Road) The spacious stylishly appointed rooms and apartments offer outstanding comfort and decor, luxury facilities, peace and tranquility.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Bath / shower
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
62Reviews0Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Happy Family Travellers wrote a review Jun 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay at Lexden. The rooms are incredibly spacious and well-decorated and care is taken to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast was also delicious, thank you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JeaninePearse wrote a review Nov 2020
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
What an incredible find!
Be sure to not miss an opportunity to stay at Lexden. Set in beautiful tranquil surroundings this exquisite guesthouse is a gem. Rooms are spotless, spacious with plenty light and very stylishly decorated. Attention to small details are spot on. Lexden offers a homely, relaxing atmosphere with the added benefit of first class service. The surrounding gardens are beautiful and immaculately kept.
An all round first class stay! THANK YOU Lexden!
Would not hesitate for a second to recommended this guesthouse to anyone.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hamish273 wrote a review Oct 2023
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
A perfect stay in PMB. I stayed in a lovely large bedroom with a very comfortable bed (with kitchen for self-catering though I didn’t use it).

I loved the excellent breakfast each morning.

And very helpful and friendly staff
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Estelle Hoffman wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
I booked a Deluxe Double room through Booking.com at this property on 16/05/2020 for the night of 12 June 2021, and received confirmation of the booking.

I was also received a confirmation email and message from Lexden via the Booking.com messaging system confirming the reservation.

I was contacted by Lexden on 06/10/2020 asking whether I had received the message regarding the Comrades Marathon that stated "we only take a booking for 2 or more nights during this time and that you need to confirm if this is in order."

I replied that I had not received any message, and looking at the messages to and from Lexden on the Booking.com system, it is clear that there was no such message. There was also no mention of a 2 night minimum stay when I made the booking, on the confirmation or in the confirmation message from Lexden.

We are financially unable to stay at Lexden for 2 nights, but requested the establishment honour our 1 night booking of which we have written confirmation. (Had we been notified at the time of booking that we were required to stay for 2 nights, we would have been in a position to decide whether to proceed with the booking or not.)

After a long, convoluted message from Lexden, which really didn't in any way address our booking I was advised today that Lexden are not prepared to honour our reservation.

Apparently confirmed bookings at this establishment are not worth the paper they are printed on (in this instance anyway) - a very concerning state of affairs, especially for an event like Comrades Marathon, where the accommodation is booked up a year in advance.

To be told *5* months after making a reservation that it will not be honoured is extremely disappointing, not to mention unprofessional.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karrin Hatfield, Owner at Lexden
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review of Lexden Pietermaritzburg. We are very sorry that you have been inconvenienced with your Comrades 2021 booking done on Booking.com during lockdown when we were closed. The message you received confirming your booking was an automated message. Booking.com had a note on our 2020 platform to the effect that we only accept weekend bookings over Comrades. Perhaps the notification was cancelled as the race was cancelled. We did not block or update Comrades 2021 dates on our booking.com platform as we did not know what the date was going to be as it was only announced nationally on 5 October when we contacted you. We cannot block bookings without a confirmed date. All the guests from 2020 kept their bookings and did not ask for their deposits back as we offered them the 2020 rate for 2021. Our booking platform became open for 2021 Comrades automatically so that is why you were able to book on the booking.com platform for 2021. We apologize for this oversight but we had no staff watching our booking platforms as we were closed and were not allowed to accept guests at the time. Comrades was not on our minds after being closed for business for 3 months. We hope this message is clearer for you than the last one and hope that you can find suitable accommodation for the 2021 Comrades. Please consider booking with us for 2022 as soon as the dates are announced as most of our guests rebook as soon as they have done the race
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tkhondlo wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful Clean place with spacious rooms that have all the amenities needed.
The reception was very welcoming and we were taken by the host to the room.
The atmosphere was very peaceful.
All appliances were working.
The wifi network was, however, very bad.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donnae M wrote a review Mar 2023
Durban, South Africa15 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautiful, peaceful property. Very private, 5 star room furnishings, linnen and decor. Back up power during loadshedding was a big bonus. Light, spacious deluxe accomodation. The breakfast was delicious and the variety was perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Unathi M wrote a review Feb 2022
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
Whenever I am in PMB, I will stay in Lexdene… What a lovely experience, from the aesthetics to the people. I wished I stayed longer. Had only one night. I love the decor, is so fresh and relaxing. The salient mirrors in my room, first time I showered with a mirror in front of me. I enjoyed and finished my breakfast. Londi is amazing, knows and is confident on how to take care of guests.
The gardens are just amazing ❤️❤️❤️❤️
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bron_Hume wrote a review Dec 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa32 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful lux b&b nestled in the quiet hills of Pietermaritzburg. Welcomed on our arrival and made to feel relaxed within seconds.

Luxurious linen and everything was spotless.

Room is surrounded excellent landscaped garden and all details have been well thought out.

Highly recommend it for families, couples or friends.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Traffic can be crazy on the N3, so avoid congestion and drive through the city
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex C wrote a review Feb 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Lexden experience was horrible. My reservation was cancelled last minute. Dishonest Hosts. The worst experience.
I am still waiting for my refund . They could have handled this better. The booking and sudden cancellation at last was unacceptable
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robveezed wrote a review Oct 2012
London38 contributions35 helpful votes
I stayed at Lexden for 6 nights & and am very happy that I did. The apartment has a stylish and modern decor and is beautifully secluded from the main house. There is lots of light - which is a great bonus. The bathroom is beautiful. Although it is set off a busy road, there is absolutely no noise from the road. The apartment has covered parking and everything feels very secure.

The WiFi was great to have - although pretty slow by the European speeds that I am used to. Breakfast served in the apartment at a time of my choice is a great touch.

It is easy to get to Hilton, Howick or downtown PMB from Lexden. I used the Virgin Active gym at Cascades which is about 5 minutes drive & there is another one on Victoria which is also about 5 minutes drive. 'Wylie Park' and 'Worlds View' are within easy walking distance if you like walking.

The apartment is perfect for singles or couples.

I would happily stay at Lexden again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 26 Oct 2016
Hi Rob, Thank you for our very first review of Lexden on Trip Advisor. We hope you are well and still travelling lots. Perhaps it's time you returned to Lexden. Unfortunately our private parking bay for the apartment where you stayed has been converted into an office for our growing staff!! We do however have more rooms now. Thanks again and regards from The Lexden Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bron_Hume wrote a tip Dec 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa32 contributions4 helpful votes
"Traffic can be crazy on the N3, so avoid congestion and drive through the city"
Read full review
Fernanda P wrote a tip Aug 2018
1 contribution
"I stayed in Room 3 but all the rooms are beautifully furnished with lots of light and comfort"
Read full review
Amelia N wrote a tip Dec 2017
Sydney, Australia14 contributions1 helpful vote
"The apartment rooms are perfect for longer stays"
Read full review
zella2017 wrote a tip Sept 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
"Apartment has all the facilities, comfortable"
Read full review
Simone G wrote a tip Jun 2017
Port Elizabeth, South Africa6 contributions2 helpful votes
"All the rooms are amazing, but recommend the downstairs room for a family with children."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pietermaritzburg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,165 - R 3,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPietermaritzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEXDEN - Now R 3 147 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶3̶9̶8̶) - UPDATED 2023 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Pietermaritzburg, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lexden
Which popular attractions are close to Lexden?
Nearby attractions include KwaZulu-Natal Museum (2.9 km), Tatham Art Gallery (2.8 km), and KwaZulu-Natal National Botanical Garden (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lexden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Lexden?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Lexden?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lexden?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lexden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olive & Oil, Tandoor Kitchen, and Sagewood Cafe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lexden?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lexden?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.