Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge

236 Woodhouse Road Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa
Kitchenette and seating area
Traveller (2)
Bedroom with romantic corner bath and candles
Room & Suite (45)
View from pool towards main reception
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#4 of 9 lodges in Pietermaritzburg
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Wensleydale Guest Lodge is situated in the major accommodation area in Pietermaritzburg, which is the capital of Kwazulu Natal and the traditional home of the Zulu nation. Beautifully appointed with an African safari lodge flavour – our exclusive yet affordable accommodation is suitable for families, corporate guests, sporting groups and tourists alike. A warm welcome awaits you at this little piece of ‘Africa in the Sun’. Accommodation for up to 30 people sharing. A choice of self catering or a delicious breakfast and/or a Buffet Dinner. Large bedrooms with French doors opening onto private indigenous gardens. Smaller, more compact, Semi self catering units perfect for those one night stop overs. Separate bathrooms with luxurious built-in corner baths and glass showers. Fully equipped kitchens with all your culinary requirements. Separate lounges offer comfortable couches, extra beds, flatscreen T.V’s with DSTV and French doors onto spacious patios. The private patios have braai facilities set under large flat topped thorn trees (Acacia Sieberiana - traditional African medicine trees). Sparkling pool with poolside loungers and garden suite. Offstreet secure undercover parking. Photocopying, fax and internet service available. Debit/Visa/Master/Amex credit cards Welcome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
41Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 10
  • 5
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pascale S wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I spent a night here before her horse show at Canterbury the next day. Everything was so efficient and seamless and the owners/managers were great about letting my border collie stay. It was also spotless and very clean.
The garden at the back is a little paradise and an unexpected delight in the middle of suburbia.
They were also super helpful by informing me and keeping my goods that I had left behind.
I will definitely stay here again.
Many thanks
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LukaG130, Manager at Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review Pascale! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to accommodating you here again. Wishing you and your family all the best for the year ahead. Warm regards Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
giel105 wrote a review Nov 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice unit, however the shower drain was blocked and it was difficult to use to high to reach. Fridge was frozen up ice and water was not filled. Mattress and pillows need attention. Reception is good and friendly and we made to be at home.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fouche_01 wrote a review Nov 2021
Gauteng, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a Friendly welcome from Management. Management also made sure my request as a guest was fulfilled to have peace and silence for the Saturday night. Overall a nice place to stay. I Management can, I would also say they can repair the smaller things in the older rooms if possible. Maybe upgrade here and there. But will go stay there again when we need to visit Natal
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jazzdc3 wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you for everything!! Highly recommend your facility!!!

Our room was spacious, neat and private.

Always clean and tidy.

More than enough parking for everyone.

Very friendly staff!!

We will most definitely recommend everyone to stay at Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Graham, Owner at Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Responded 13 Oct 2022
Hi there, thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to accommodate you with us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
williefraser72 wrote a review Apr 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival I requested a clean toaster and dustbin. This was however replaced immediately, unfortunately first impressions last. The bathroom celing was full of mold and the shower not clean at all.
I managed to cancel our last night's stay...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marita Johnsen, General Manager at Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Responded 05 Apr 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We have noted your post-stay concerns however we would like to mention that you arrived earlier than the normal check-in time whilst our housekeepers were still busy cleaning the rooms. We do acknowledge that you asked for a new toaster and bin which we happily obliged and when we ask if everything was in order and if everything in the room was fine you mentioned you were now happy after those two items were replaced. Further to this, you requested to depart one day earlier as in your words "the athletics events have changed and you don't need to extra night, however the next time you are in Pietermaritzburg you will definitely book with us again". We are sad that you did not bring your other concerns to our attention during your stay as the comfort of our guests is always our top priority. Be that as it may, we are taking your concerns up with our housekeeping department and we wish you well. Kind Regards Management Team Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gillian L wrote a review Jun 2019
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Marita was very kind and helpful and booking and payment was easy. The decor etc. is a nice safari theme but the kitchen and bathroom really need a refurb.
The oven was missing a panel. The freezer drawers couldn’t be opened. The bathroom taps dripped no matter how hard we tried to close them, the shower edging was full of mould and the room stank of smoke.

There was plenty of parking and it is close to the motorway etc.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LukaG130, Manager at Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Responded 13 Jun 2019
Hello Gillian, Many Thanks for your review on the unit you were accommodated in recently, during the Comrades Marathon. We apologise for any inconvenience the issues in this unit may have caused during your stay. The taps which were fitted way back in 1999 are old and need replacing, the oven panel on the warmer section of the stove has been missing for sometime and our attempts to replace it were unfortunately not successful as it is now a redundant model, but luckily it still works. In spite of the fact that we have regular guests who have a fondness for this unit - it is in desperate need of an upgrade in both the dated bathroom and the kitchen, however, with 9 available rooms on the property, this has not been financially viable, to date. Because this is a standalone unit in front of the pool with a large undercover verandah area- we have also been reluctant to upgrade the room, when in fact we believe it would serve far better as a neutral area where all our guests can have freedom of access to the pool area with the unit maybe serving as a small restaurant/bar area, with some alterations. We have also made sure that the price of this unit comes in lower than our other units which are more modern and comfortable. Unfortunately, the balance of our more recent suites were not available when you booked and we then allocated this unit to you. The smoke in the unit is a bit of a mystery as we have a no smoking indoors policy here at the Lodge and can only assume that the smoke was either from one of the surrounding sugar cane farmlands or alternatively that the guest booked the day before, had in fact smoked indoors and we will also be addressing this with our Cleaners. Clearly we will have to address how we are going to approach updating or reinventing this suite, as soon as possible. Once again, we do hope this did not cause any inconvenience during your stay and hope we can book you into one of our more updated, comfortable suites, here in the future. Kind Regards, Barbara Graham Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lamont41 wrote a review May 2011
Worcester, Massachusetts
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Anytime that you can go out of the country and make a connection with a good family, it is priceless! Not only was the accomodations supurb, but the kindness and generocity extended to my wife and i were exceptional. The rooms were clean, luxurious, and made us feel at home. The property has a gated fence, and lots of room to walk around. Most of all you are treated like family! We will be returning to South Africa with our family at the end of the year, and have already booked at the Wensleydale!

One natural treat that I must tell you is that every morning we were awaken by the sounds of birds. It was something that we will never forget...

The stay here is highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LukaG130, Manager at Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Responded 27 Aug 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We do hope to host you here with us again for another stay. All the best to you! Warm regards Management Team Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T-SGlobetrotters wrote a review May 2011
Preston, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stunning self catering guest lodge located in a residential area of Pietermaritzburg. We had the ‘new’ honeymoon suite which was at the end of a block of three units, other suites are located around the large pretty garden and pool area. All the rooms at the lodge looked to be equally well appointed.
The layout of the suite is largely open plan, it is beautifully furnished and decorated in African style. There is a well fitted kitchenette with 2 ring hob, microwave, fridge/freezer. This leads into the bedroom area with king size bed which was very comfortable. At the end of the room there is a large corner bath, the toilet, basin and spacious walk in shower leading off the main room. The bathroom fittings are of a high quality with good range of toiletries provided.
There is a private front patio with two easy chairs and Braai facility. Other facilities include large satellite TV, and wifi internet access.
Barbara and her staff were very helpful provided a lot of information on things to do/places to eat in the area and nothing was too much trouble. The location is gated with access via electronic code.
Only a couple of minor quibbles. The patio would have benefitted from a table to eat at. Meals have to be eaten on a breakfast bar in the kitchen area and there is no air conditioning. However the large electric fan proved adequate on a muggy night for our overnight stay.
Luxurious and romantic accommodation - highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LukaG130, Manager at Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Responded 27 Aug 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to host you here with us again some time! Warm regards Management Team Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GrandTour46843372953 wrote a review Feb 2019
Durban, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The bed had funny smell and the was insects flying and to see a frog inside my room was traumatizing, it a B&B For me to drive to another lodge for breakfast and dinner didn't cut it for me, wasn't that much welcoming.

Woke up on Saturday with rash on my body which I didn't have so I wasn't happy at all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindi D wrote a review Dec 2018
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed staying at Wensleydale Lodge. Will be back. Rooms were stunning. We loved the decor. The staff were excellent. I forgot my jersey and they made sure to contact me to return it. Wow. Amazing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LukaG130, Manager at Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Responded 27 Aug 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope that you will be back again for another stay. Warm regards Management Team Wensleydale Guest Logde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
nokuthulam923 wrote a tip Nov 2019
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa16 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"when you are there, definitely you will not miss home"
Read full review
Chandre wrote a tip Aug 2019
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"One of the pool suites has a terrible bathroom. The family rooms are good, but don't count on getting the room you booked for."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pietermaritzburg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 598 - R 653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPietermaritzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WENSLEYDALE GUEST LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Pietermaritzburg, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Wensleydale Guest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Cumberland Nature Reserve (6.6 km), KwaZulu-Natal Museum (3.1 km), and Tatham Art Gallery (3.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wensleydale Guest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Wensleydale Guest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wensleydale Guest Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wensleydale Guest Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olive & Oil, Sagewood Cafe, and Tandoor Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wensleydale Guest Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Wensleydale Guest Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Wensleydale Guest Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Pietermaritzburg HotelsPietermaritzburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PietermaritzburgHotels near Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire