Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Redlands Hotel and Lodge

1 George Mac Farlane Lane Wembley, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa
Traveller (28)
The Hotel Lounge
Dining (4)
Pool and yard
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#4 of 10 hotels in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Redlands Hotel and Lodge caters for the discerning corporate traveller, parents visiting school children in the area, tourists wishing to explore the Midlands, intimate weddings and functions. Our restaurant and Club Room are open daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Spa
Salon
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Sofa
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1 George Mac Farlane Lane Wembley, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 36 out of 100
36
Pietermaritzburg Airport
King Shaka Intl Airport
189Reviews0Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 71
  • 22
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gaylie2014 wrote a review Jan 2021
Durban, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family recently stayed at Redlands hotel to attend a family function. We were all amazed at how the staff went out of their way to accommodate our every need. They all went the extra mile to ensure the function was a success! The hotel facilities are wonderful and the rooms very comfortable! Would highly recommend this venue
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Responded 01 Feb 2021
Thank you so much for taking your time to write the above review. I know it was a very tough time for all of you and I am glad we could assist and try make things a bit easier. Regards and very best wishes. Paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chenelamberti wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Accommodation was excellent. Bed was comfortable and room very spacious. Food was extremely timely. When supper arrived, pasta should have been classified as soup and chocolate brownie should have been called a rock. Plan extra time ahead when ordering breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Thank you very much for taking th etime to review Redlands. I will certainly follow up regarding the concerns about the food. Regards and best wishes. Paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
manabumikamiyama wrote a review Oct 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed three times during this 2 weeks.
I love this style of service including drink service. And very silence due to location. Just one point I wanna say, I need USB mouth for charging in the room. Hopefully expect next time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robin_Hoogwerf wrote a review Dec 2020
Cape Town, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was dirty, only one towel. half a loo roll. Hotel is run down. Furniture is old. Damp evident. Service was poor. Reception not manned. Hand sanitiser at reception was empty. Staff not wearing masks. No breakfast buffet as advertised.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Dear Sir. Thank you for your review of Redlands Hotel. We value all feedback and look at everything when we have dropped the ball so we can try and improve. COVID has thrown serious operating issues at us. I would like to clarify a few things. On the evening of your second night, I recieved a call from my staff to say you were unhappy. I was there withing 10 minutes to meet you and listen to your concerns. Your main concern was that there were not enough towls in the room. Our rooms are made up with the required towls etc for the number of guests. Should additional items be needed, they can be arranged. You were not happy that we did not supply a top sheet with the duvet. This is a standard we adopted years ago. We do have top sheets available on request. My staff member asked if you would be happy to put it on yourself as most guests want the rooms left alone with minimal conatct with staff due to to COVID. You were not at all happy about this and so I personally went and made the bed for you. My staff had not replenished all the aminities and bath mat and hand towl. We replenish items on request to minimise interaction with staff and guests. I am sorry if this was not conveyed to you. We certainly should have replaced items that we took out and this was not done. I apolgised about this and have adressed it with my staff. The wall mounted hand sanitizer did not have a refill as this was on back order. There was hand sanitizer at reception in a botttle and an additional wall mounted sanitizer less than 10 meters away. My staff memebr did not wear his mask when dealing with you but this was from behind the reception counter and the perspex shield. All other staff do wear masks and I have have adressed the ones working at reception. Due to COVID, we are not allowed to run buffets. The main hotel recieved a major refurb midway through 2019. Due to Covid, this past year has truly been about survival. I agree that there is always room for improvement and when the situation permits, we have some fantastic plans to make some changes but just as you are entiteld to post a review, I can also post my response. I recieved this review as I got home after sorting out the issues that you mentioned. I really had hoped that my explaination and actions at the time would have helped remedy your concerns. I truly do not believe that the actions of my staff nor the condition of the hotel warranted the review you gave. Best wishes. Paul-General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob L wrote a review Oct 2022
Nashville, Tennessee
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pleasant hotel. The rooms are comfortable but the service is awful. The dining experience is gruesome. Slow service, mediocre food at best. The overall staff is pleasant but woefully under trained. This crosses dining, front desk, laundry service. It is not good. I’ve been staying here on business for five years. I hoped that the new manager GSR would correct these ongoing issues but it has only gotten worse. If I had an option, I’d stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: See if you can find an alternative.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nanad869 wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a good stay at Redlands. Their staff was very welcoming and friendly. The food was AMAZING! Kudos to the chef! The size of the rooms big and comfortable. The location is a convenient drive to all main city areas.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pierre632022 wrote a review Jan 2022
Haarlem, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Redlands Hotel before and always feel welcome. The library room suits our every need. The breakfast is substantial and of good quality. The setting is convenient for our purposes, with ample, safe parking.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Responded 20 Jan 2022
Dear Pierre. Thank you so much for your feedback. Really appreciated and we hope we see you again soon. Regards and very best wishes. Paul and the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RogerVivekWinder wrote a review Dec 2022
Singapore, Singapore
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable hotel in a quiet location not too far from the city. Well-furnished rooms, and sumptuous breakfast. My only quibble would be the internet network strength. I struggled to get work done. I'm not sure if this was because of the location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
riaazjap wrote a review Sept 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean, up to date, comfortable accommodation. We stayed the night before Comrades marathon. Had a wonderful meal the evening and we were accommodated with an early breakfast. All communication was responded to quickly. Lovely property and efficient, friendly staff to just add that extra touch of class. Our room was extremely spacious and well equipped.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carmelgovender wrote a review Nov 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Redlands is clean, rooms are spacious, service is great, breakfast is also delicious. Gorgeous building, and it only gets more breathtaking when you walk in. High quality rooms and high-quality service. Overall, I had a great experience with the hotel and staff was incredibly helpful, and the amenities were great. The room was wonderful, clean,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Bob L wrote a tip Oct 2022
Nashville, Tennessee48 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"See if you can find an alternative."
Read full review
Ben Lassy wrote a tip Sept 2019
London, United Kingdom20 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wandile, the waiter is so helpful but everyone is lovely."
Read full review
Ayham wrote a tip Aug 2019
Gaziantep, Türkiye13 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very nice and calm place"
Read full review
RogerVivekWinder wrote a tip Dec 2017
Singapore, Singapore46 contributions50 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 1 and 6 overlook the car park, so quite noisy at times."
Read full review
John M wrote a tip Dec 2016
Maseru, Lesotho74 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 4 overlooks the pool area."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pietermaritzburg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,266 - R 2,974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPietermaritzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

REDLANDS HOTEL AND LODGE - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Pietermaritzburg, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Redlands Hotel and Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Wylie Park (0.8 km) and Zasttra Marketplace (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Redlands Hotel and Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Redlands Hotel and Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Redlands Hotel and Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Redlands Hotel and Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Redlands Hotel and Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sagewood Cafe, The Fat Aubergine, and Kara Nichha's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Redlands Hotel and Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Redlands Hotel and Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Redlands Hotel and Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Redlands Hotel and Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Redlands Hotel and Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Redlands Hotel and Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pietermaritzburg HotelsPietermaritzburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PietermaritzburgHotels near Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire