We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Save
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Overview
1 George Mac Farlane Lane Wembley, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3.5 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
65
54
17
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
65
54
17
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat roomlovely dinnerhotel is beautifulcooked breakfastwould stay here againon dutybusiness trippleasant staywarm welcomeflakywifipmbaccommodationmidlands
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 143 reviews
Reviewed today

Warm welcome at reception. Comfortable spacious sunny room - quiet at night and comfortable bed.Shower a bit tight with sloping floor but plenty of hot water. We did not make use of the restaurant and other facilities as we were attending the Hilton arts festival....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fishenews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice colonial hotel. Always come for wirk but would be a nice holiday place with cosy rooms. Rooms with terraces and noisy birds around in the morning. European shockets much welcomed. If you want to enjoy a well cooked breakfast come down with time to...More

Thank MadridUK
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for reviewing Redlands. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. For those rushing a bit in the morning, we do advise to pre-order your cooked breakfast. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had one overnight stay at Redlands Hotel; it was a very pleasant stay. My room was well prepared and comfortable. Check-in and out were efficient and my short interaction with staff was courteous. I’d definitely return to Redlands Hotel when staying overnight in PMB.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carloassumption
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We hope we see you back at Redlands sometime soon. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Reviewed 15 August 2018

We got off to a bad start at this hotel, we arrived at 10 pm and the guy on duty was perhaps half asleep. Having checked us in he initially wasnt even going to show us to our room, but once he detected some grumpiness...More

Thank NeilLMaun_Botswana
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and I am really pleased that despite the start, you were well looked after and enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back soon. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Reviewed 6 August 2018

the place and service was terrible- the wifi was not working, the water taps could not close, the tv was small, the food service was not good-we were not treated equal compare to other guest- the towels were not clean properly and I end up...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fikilen303
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and LodgeResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback. All our guests are treated with respect and I do object to the accusation that our linen caused you to contract pink eye. In no way is our advertising misleading. We do not know who you are or what room...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Redlands Hotel and Lodge caters for the discerning corporate traveller, parents visiting school children in the area, tourists wishing to explore the Midlands, intimate weddings and functions. Our restaurant and ...More Club Room are open daily. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
28
Price range
US$92 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
28
Price range
US$92 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Photos
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (4)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Pietermaritzburg
StayEasy Pietermaritzburg
346 reviews
1.77 km away
Imperial Hotel
75 reviews
2.12 km away
Town/Bush Backpackers
13 reviews
2.58 km away
Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg
216 reviews
4.13 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 114 restaurants in Pietermaritzburg
Sagewood Cafe
177 reviews
1.17 km away
Rosehurst
160 reviews
1.22 km away
Pizzology Wood-Fired Pizza
98 reviews
1.07 km away
The Fat Aubergine
33 reviews
1.20 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 26 attractions in Pietermaritzburg
African Bird of Prey Sanctuary
109 reviews
2.84 km away
Tala Private Game Reserve
278 reviews
5.50 km away
Butterflies for Africa
111 reviews
4.20 km away
Natal Museum
51 reviews
2.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Redlands Hotel and Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Rooms 1 and 6 overlook the car park, so quite noisy at times."
Read review
"Room 4 overlooks the pool area."
Read review
"Ask for a garden view"
Read review
"Arrive early to enjoy their dinner..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing