We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton

Save
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Special Offer: Wander More-Up to 30% off
Hotel packages
Hotel deals
Offers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Special Offer: Wander More-Up to 30% off
Hotel packages
Hotel deals
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
112
94
29
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
112
94
29
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmidlands meanderseparate toiletold world charmlovely hotelgeneral managerideal locationa la carte menurooms are spaciouscurryclean hotelroom servicebuffet breakfastnatal midlandsprawnswill stay there againreception staffkeep up the good work
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My hubby and I had an overnight stay as we had done before. Lovely warm welcome as before. Lovely staff and beautiful rooms. A lovely village to explore as wlel while there. A hotel worth coming back to. Thanks all.More

Thank Nanacharms
Response from Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott HiltonResponded 1 week ago

Good Day, Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel Hilton for your recent travels to Hilton. Commitment to service and GUEST satisfaction is a main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel TEAM takes in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay at Protea Hotel Hilton was great and served the Purpose I booked this stay for. Upon Arrival the meet and greet was as expected, the staff were knowledgeable and attentive. The room was spacious and clean and the room service was quick and...More

Thank CalvinWest
Response from Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott HiltonResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Day, Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel Hilton for your recent travels to Hilton. Commitment to service and GUEST satisfaction is a main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel TEAM takes in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was fun meeting up with colleagues and Old Boys from the University of KwaZulu-Natal, during a get-together and address by the Vice Chancellor, Dr van Jaarsveld, who informed us of the 5-year plan launched by the UKZN. Feed-back and views could be exchanged before...More

Thank ernstuken
Response from Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott HiltonResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Day, Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel Hilton for your recent travels to Hilton. Commitment to service and GUEST satisfaction is a main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our facilities . The pride and dedication our hotel TEAM takes...More

Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

A nice hotel in an iconic Natal building. All the basic amenities you need. Much better then the smaller b&b’s in the area which have become quite tired. We were disappointed that our rate did not include breakfast as expected and it was otherwise about...More

Thank Kate H
Response from Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott HiltonResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Day, Wow, what an amazing review of our Hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to go onto our GUEST survey. Your comments are most appreciated. We hope to achieve a 5/5 with YOU on your next stay. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 18 April 2018

Stayed here for two nights with my two children. The staff were friendly and attentive from the moment we checked in until we checked out. Accommodation: Room is good. Aircon is quiet. Beds are on the soft side though. There were probably five pillows on...More

Thank Philip B
Response from Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott HiltonResponded 19 April 2018

Good Day, Wow, what an amazing review of our Hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to go onto our GUEST survey. Your comments are most appreciated. I will share your feed back with the TEAM. We look forward to seeing you real...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Pietermaritzburg
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
natashasingh1329
11 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Heather P | Property representative |
Good afternoon Natashasi, We do not have a gym, we are about 12ks from Howick, and its about a 30 minute drive to karkloof from the hotel. Kind regards, Heather Poulsen General Manager
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Excellent country setting and easily accessible from the N3 Highway."
Read review
"Pool View Room, great."
Read review
"If you travel in summer and want to sleep late, choose a room not overlooking the swimming pool for the..."
Read review
"Preferably not a room overlooking the parking areas."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing