Costa Smeralda

Costa Smeralda

Corner Remington Lane & Marine Drive, Margate 4275 South Africa
Braai on balcony
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#3 of 8 apartments in Margate
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Costa Smeralda offers luxury 2 and 3-bedroom apartments in the coastal town of Margate and is the perfect base from which to enjoy the magnificent beaches and explore the Natal South Coast. On-site facilities include; swimming pool, open-air chess, games room, communal braai, board games and playground. Nearby you can enjoy Oribi Gorge, deep sea fishing, scuba diving, crocodile farm, coffee farm, go carting, reptile park and the Wild Coast Sun and Casino as well as loads of restaurants, bars and golf courses.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Bicycle rental
Game room
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Shuttle bus service
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Squash offsite
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Trendy

Location

Corner Remington Lane & Marine Drive, Margate 4275 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 38 out of 100
38
Margate Airport
55Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 19
  • 6
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
smanir847462 wrote a review May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely clean apartment. Very comfortable with wonderful sea view.

Just a few upgrades such as kitchen, bathrooms, furniture in the apartment and it will be perfect. Aircon will be great in the bedrooms as we had to sleep with the room balcony doors open
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracy Govender, General Manager at Costa Smeralda
Responded 23 May 2021
Hi Smanir Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, on the absolutely clean apartments, very comfortable with wonderful sea view. we are so glad that, you had a memorable stay with us. We take note of all your concerns, with the upgrade of the kitchen, bathrooms, furniture and Aircon and we will address it accordingly. we do apologize for any inconvenience experienced and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meera wrote a review Sept 2020
Gauteng, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Margate has always had my heart and soul. This was an awesome experience for our family. The atmosphere was very peaceful and very comfortable. The apartment was very well maintained and comfortable. The kitchen was spacious with all the amenities. It was a pleasant experience and we enjoyed our time with family. The apartment over looked the ocean. At night we had a great time walking on the beach. The weather was great and we were very excited about it. Plenty of popular restaurants. We will definitely decide book this accommodation again..
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracy Govender, General Manager at Costa Smeralda
Responded 08 Dec 2020
Hi mira2910 Thank you for your review. we are so glad that, you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait for your next visit. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sgensi882396 wrote a review Mar 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Costa Smeralda with a group of 20. The location is amazing and the staff is very friendly. It does need some attention with renovations. But the ocean view makes up for everything. We would have loved to have breakfast included. But overall everything was very good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracy Govender, General Manager at Costa Smeralda
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to give us your review, on the amazing location, friendly staff and the ocean views. we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience, experienced and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tgavu515176 wrote a review Oct 2021
Durban, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly we didn't enjoyed the holiday. There was no electricity the whole weekend (24/09/21 to 26/09/21), we can't even charge our phones, we bath with cold water, my friends were very disappointed and I felt so bad because I am the one who was responsible for Bookings and things didn't go well according to how we planned . I will appreciate if you can arrange another holiday for free that will be fairly to your guests otherwise I regret that I Booked Costa Smeralda, I will not advise anyone to book there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracy Govender, General Manager at Costa Smeralda
Responded 05 Dec 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. we take note of your concerns, due to an accident on the main road, which damaged the power box. We do apologize for the inconvenience experienced at our property, due to this unforeseen circumstance, which was definitely, not in our control, as Eskom needed to outsource spares to repair the power station. We look forward to host you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drooye616648 wrote a review Nov 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Always love staying here when in Margate. Beautiful sea views. Close to shopping, beaches. Reception staff extremely friendly and always willing to assist. Good Security. Cutlery could do with an upgrade as some of them were broken.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ssurjo293453 wrote a review Mar 2024
Durban, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The unit was amazing with awesome views. We enjoyed the facilities. The swimming pool was amazing we really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen was fully equipped it was home away from home
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vikashini wrote a review Jan 2019
Tongaat, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked and when we got to Costa Smerelda we were told after an hour of arriving there that we were double booked. The Manager Tracy Govender was very unhelpful and refused to give us a refund although I had paid in full. We had to go back home which was really sad as I had my kids with me and we were looking forward to a weekend away. The photos on the website are very deceptive as the accomodation is run down and untidy. I would not recommend Costa Smerelda to anyone. We were 2 hours away from home. What if it was someone from Capetown or Johannesburg or even a foreigner then where would they go?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TracyG2203, General Manager at Costa Smeralda
Responded 08 Jan 2019
Hi Vikashni, thank you for taking the time to give us your review, Please note that, we have tried to accommodate you, at both of our sister Resorts, but you have refused to stay at any of them. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations, however, we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that this does not happen again, as we pride ourselves, on service excellence and on creating magical and lasting memories for everyone all the time. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Excursion05011170259 wrote a review Dec 2018
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to stay, the view is perfect and the security is just right, the place is close to all amenities and it a walk away from the beach but it does tend to be windy. Great place to visit if you want to spend done quality time with the family
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TracyG2203, General Manager at Costa Smeralda
Responded 21 Dec 2018
Dear guest, thank you for your review and for choosing our Resort as your preferred destination.We appreciate your positive feedback. We can't wait to welcome you back soon. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rekham417 wrote a review Jan 2018
Durban, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I checked in on Saturday at around 3(cos when I called was told room not ready) but when I arrived the room was still not cleaned. only done very haphazardly around 3.30
no apologies for this - welcome was very poor - no
on Tuesday we were very rudely told that we have to check out by 9. I was previously told at 10.

this poor service really will tarnish the reputation and business of this resort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlsaroundtheglobe, Manager at Costa Smeralda
Responded 11 Mar 2018
Dear guest Thank you so much for your feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our Resort, look forward to see you again. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nevillesivanandanm wrote a review May 2017
Durban, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon entering the secured premises, the staff were very friendly and courteous. However on the same day of check-in we couldn't use the pool and gaming area since there was a private function and could only use it after 3. The website said that the premises offers iron and hairdryer however nothing mentioned a R150 deposit for this; which we did not have and further could not get since there was no one available on a Sunday. We could not use the darts, table tennis etc since the guard (who slept in the night whilst on duty) did not have the keys for it. My gate to the balcony was jammed and could not be opened. Overall it is an accommodation with extreme potential yet poorly maintained.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlsaroundtheglobe, General Manager at Costa Smeralda
Responded 22 Jul 2017
Good Afternoon Thank you for visiting our resort. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced over the weekend. We did have a private function, which was arranged for 11H00 till 14H30, check in time for our guests are 14H00, as on your request on Friday to check in earlier, we could accommodate you as the unit was ready at 11H00. We also invited your kids to come and use the jumping castle as the company was only coming at 17H00. Previous management implemented the rule, but we have now restored them back into the units. We were not aware of the security door problem would have sorted it immediately as our maintenance guy is on the property. Our apologies again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Prof Ernst Uken wrote a tip May 2018
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa74 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for sea view, although a rough storm will keep you awake."
Read full review
Carmilla S wrote a tip Jul 2017
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best sea views Rooms 14-16, amenities enough, rooms clean and pleasant"
Read full review
moetil wrote a tip Aug 2016
Durban, South Africa9 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Two minutes from the beach!"
Read full review
andrec290 wrote a tip Jun 2016
Krugersdorp, South Africa40 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have 180 degree views"
Read full review
Anil_Haripersad wrote a tip Feb 2016
Durban, South Africa16 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The higher up suites have better visibility of the beautiful, vast ocean."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Margate area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,383 - R 1,796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalMargate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COSTA SMERALDA - UPDATED 2024 Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Margate, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Costa Smeralda
Which popular attractions are close to Costa Smeralda?
Nearby attractions include Lucien Beach (0.5 km), Surf Action (1.0 km), and Backline Pub and Grill (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Costa Smeralda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Costa Smeralda?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Costa Smeralda?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Costa Smeralda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wimpy, Keg & Galleon, and Friar Tuck Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Costa Smeralda?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
All Margate HotelsMargate Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MargateHotels near Costa Smeralda
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire