Margate Beach Club

Margate Beach Club

5 Duke Road Margate North Beach, Margate 4275 South Africa
front
Traveller (94)
Pool & Beach (23)
The Suntide Cabanas Front View
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 special inn in Margate
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Margate Beach Club is located in quiet surroundings in Margate, allowing you to relax and unwind away from the busy city center. Two resorts in one, both with stylishly decorated serviced self-catering apartments. The hotel has studio and 1-2 bedroom suites with ocean views from nearly every unit. The Cabanas across the way have 2 bedrooms that open out onto views that span across the lagoon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Beach
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Mini golf
Darts
Fishing
Table tennis
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

5 Duke Road Margate North Beach, Margate 4275 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 46 out of 100
46
Margate Airport
81Reviews14Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 28
  • 19
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Barbara wrote a review Feb 2020
Kroonstad, South Africa6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The resorts entertainment area is great, as well as the pool area, we enjoyed swimming and loved the view.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach is close by, so beautiful views, if you book in at the main complex.

The Cabanas is across the road from the main hotel(I should have checked before booking though, my mistake) it’s very small, and we had some loud neighbors, which is not really what we want on vacation. Also the beep-beep from the gate security code was quite irritating, as people kept coming and going at all hours of the night, and this can even be heard in the bedrooms. Next time I will make sure we book in the main complex, not the cabanas across the road.

Margate beach itself is a big dissappoinment, the lagoon is contaminated and stinks, the contaminated water runs right into the ocean... so sad to see that.

Sorry to say...even though the resort itself is really great, I don’t think we will ever be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beekman Marketing Department Beekman, Other at Margate Beach Club
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Barbara, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We are sorry that there was a contamination problem with the beach's lagoon during your stay. Although the source was quickly identified and repaired by the local authority, it would have indeed been unpleasant for you. Margate Beach, as with the all beaches along the lower South Coast of KZN are generally renowned for their superb quality as reflected in the large number of our beaches awarded the internationally recognised Blue Flag status. We warmly invite you to give Margate another opportunity to fully meet your holiday expectations. Kind regards Margate Beach Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Busisiwe M wrote a review Aug 2022
Pretoria4 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked via Booking.com for a 4 night stay at this resort over the weekend of 05 August 2022.
Some positives:
the place is well kept, there’s a daily cleaning service and the reception area is always manned. The staff is also very friendly.
The resort is also right at the foot of the beach and guests have direct access to the beach via a private gate entrance.
Negatives:
the WiFi! The connection was not only unstable but it completely blocked me from streaming YouTube and Netflix. I SMSed the helpline (44929) to give details about my issue and unfortunately, no one ever got back to me. I ended up buying more data bundles from my phone in order to stream content on my tablet.
The fridge temperature! Since this is a self catering resort, I bought some fresh produce to store in the fridge (cucumbers, lettuce etc) but it got frozen because the fridge temperature was too low. I could not increase it because there’s a sign on the fridge door which explicitly prohibits this.
The checking out experience was awful and disappointing. I was asked to wait at reception whilst one of the cleaning staff members checked the unit for missing items. I was then told that the cleaning staff member said there was a hand towel missing. I asked how she was able to verify this because the towels were changed the day before during cleaning service and whilst I had stepped out. I was then informed that they would have to do a stock take and determine whether there was an error on their side. I found this to be bizarre. I was not given an inventory of items that were meant to be at the unit so how could I be sure how many items were meant to be where? I also felt that I was being treated with suspicion, which I did not appreciate.

Read less
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don’t have any expectations on the Wi-Fi…
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beekman Group, Other at Margate Beach Club
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Hi Busisiwe, thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review with us. It certainly helps us determine what we are doing right, but more importantly, where we can improve our service. We are really happy that you enjoyed most aspects of your seaside getaway, including our friendly team as well as the prime beach access. We do however sincerely apologise that other elements fell short of your expectations, as we only strive to deliver the best possible experience to our valued guests. Regarding the WiFi, our resort does have a fair usage policy which means that browsing speeds might be limited when it comes to streaming across certain platforms - we do regret if this was an inconvenience to you. We have also notified our maintenance team of the fridge temperatures so that they can readjust this accordingly. We are also very sorry for the unpleasant interaction you had during check-out, as we would never want our guests to feel uncomfortable in any such way. We have addressed your concerns with the resort manager to ensure that all our staff exercise better and more accommodating communication in this aspect, as well as to follow up with the inventory lists so that guests are also aware of the items in the unit. We really appreciate you bringing the above to our attention, and we would love an opportunity in the future to wow you with an even more exceptional holiday experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lester M wrote a review Jun 2022
Dingley Village, Australia581 contributions148 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in units Y57 and Y58, both 3 bedroom units with outside jacuzzi. The units were clean and had everything we needed. Location is on the beach and close to everything. The staff were fantastic and helpful. They have generators so was very helpful when loadshedding kicked in
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beekman Group, Other at Margate Beach Club
Responded 30 Jun 2022
We absolutely love reading reviews such as this one Lester - thank you for sharing! It's so great knowing that our modern and comfortable accommodation was well-suited to your needs. We agree that our proximity to the beach is a real treat. Delighting our guests with fantastic service is always first on the agenda, so we're ecstatic that this was the case for you. We'd hate to leave you in the dark in the middle of your well-deserved break, so the generators sure are handy! We appreciate your support and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Regards Margate Beach Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TamDennekamp wrote a review Sept 2020
Durban11 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 4 sleeper, got a 2 sleeper & they think it's acceptable to send up a single mattress for my husband to sleep on the FLOOR. After complaining they felt no obligation to sort anything out, offer a partial refund or even actually apologise. Disgusting!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beekman Marketing Department Beekman, Other at Margate Beach Club
Responded 08 Oct 2020
Dear Tam, Thank you for your review. Although we sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay, we wish to point out that all of our accommodation is marketed through independent booking agencies and we simply assign our units based on the booking confirmation letter generated by them. We suggest contacting your reservation company to discuss any refund. Kind regards Margate Beach Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam786 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Was booked in 2 x 3 bedroom apartments. Reception staff was friendly and helpful. The apartments were absolutely beautiful with air conditioning. All the entertainment needed is within the resort and shopping malls were extremely close by. We will definitely be back. There only negative is that cleaning staff need to up their game.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BeekmanGroup, Manager at Margate Beach Club
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Sam, Thank you for reviewing our resort. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your family holiday on the KZN South Coast, thanks to our resort's location and onsite facilities. Your comment on our housekeeping has been noted and our apologies for any inconveniences suffered. We will investigate internally. We look forward to seeing you all again. Kind regards Margate Beach Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
morne v wrote a review Nov 2020
Pretoria, South Africa17 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Phoned a few times to find out if we can get a sea - view apartment but to no avail. I accepted the fact that we will have a "lagoon view" because the lady i spoke to on the phone assured me that it is "just as beautiful" as a sea view. Guess what? You cant even see the lagoon. Lol. We have a view over the pool. My view at home overlooking my pool is better. The bath is "patched up". The shower door is broken and I fixed it. Its gloomy. It was horrible. I booked another place and we didnt even stay there for the period we should have. Wont recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beekman Marketing Department Beekman, Other at Margate Beach Club
Responded 26 Nov 2020
Dear Morne, Thank you for your review. We apologise for having failed to meet your holiday expectations. We will be grateful if you could please complete and submit the resort 's guest survey form that was sent to you by your reservations agent so that we can investigate further. Kind regards Margate Beach Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel M wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It exceeded all our expectations Our families new favorite place on the south coast cant wait to be back. From clean and tidy, safe and secure. The entertainment area absolutely enjoyable, definitely a yes
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beekman Group, Other at Margate Beach Club
Responded 01 Feb 2023
Hi Rachel, thank you so much for trusting us with your stay and taking the time to leave us such a great review. It is our aim to provide our guests with great and memorable experiences, as such we are delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time with us. We hope we get the pleasure of hosting you again soon.🙂
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marikedk wrote a review Mar 2013
8 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stunning seaviews. Direct access to beach. Lovely clean pools and entertainment area. Daily cleaning service. Very close to all shops and restaurants. Great little jacuzzi and putt-putt course. All and all "a wonderful place to stay!!"
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BeekmanGroup, Manager at Margate Beach Club
Responded 29 Jan 2015
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the Suntide Hotel & Cabanas. We are delighted that our resort met your expectations. Kind regards Suntide Hotel & Cabanas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roger N wrote a review Jan 2013
Pretoria, South Africa5 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
very lousy furniture no oven hardly any board games no parking on arrival only one pool table working only security guards on duty after five to give you information dstv very limited no umbrella to hire for beach or beach chairs nearest shop ten minute walk from resort will never go back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: sea facing only
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BeekmanGroup, Manager at Margate Beach Club
Responded 29 Jan 2015
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the Suntide Hotel & Cabanas. We regret that the resort did not meet your expectations. Kind regards Suntide Hotel & Cabanas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BokkieM wrote a review Oct 2011
Langebaan, South Africa150 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an Old Hotel that has been upgraded The spot is marvellous but the rooms are old fashioned The bed we had was terrible. All other amenities were fine. Good secure parking, communial barbecue facilities, no lifts (stairs) and daily services of room. Some of the rooms overlooked a "stoep" and is not good value. Please do ask for a room NEAREST to the beach and which does not smell of nicotine (Non smoking is policy) One night we had power failure to a number of rooms which was the result of a fuse tripping due to some sort of electrical problem.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room which is sea facing AND NEAREST to the beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne D asked a question May 2019
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution
is unit T35 in the hotel?
Answer from BeekmanGroup
Port Shepstone, South Africa119 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Lynne T35 is in the hotel and not in the "cabanas complex"
Answer from BeekmanGroup
Port Shepstone, South Africa119 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear guest The swimming beach is a few short meters walk. There are lifeguards on duty
Samantha G wrote a tip Oct 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea facing rooms are a must have and bring a usb fan and a powerbank for just incase. "
Read full review
Busisiwe M wrote a tip Aug 2022
Pretoria4 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t have any expectations on the Wi-Fi…"
Read full review
BarbaraG wrote a tip Nov 2019
Durban, South Africa7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Corner suites are large"
Read full review
Joan wrote a tip Jun 2019
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Phone and make sure your room has everything in that you required on the booking."
Read full review
Kerisha G wrote a tip Apr 2019
Durban, South Africa41 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"When booking online or telephonically, specify type of room required, i.e. a room with a view of the ocean , garden view etc."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Margate area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,067 - R 1,914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
suntide hotel and cabanas
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Suntide Hotel & Cabanas
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalMargate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARGATE BEACH CLUB - Specialty Inn Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Margate Beach Club
Which popular attractions are close to Margate Beach Club?
Nearby attractions include Xcaped (0.9 km), Lucien Beach (0.8 km), and Surf Action (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Margate Beach Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Margate Beach Club?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Margate Beach Club?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Margate Beach Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Margate Beach Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wimpy, Keg & Galleon, and Friar Tuck Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Margate Beach Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Margate Beach Club?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Margate Beach Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Margate HotelsMargate Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MargateHotels near Margate Beach Club
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire