We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris

False Bay Road D540, Hluhluwe 3960 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#15 of 22 lodges in Hluhluwe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris was known before as Wildebees ecolodge. After recent renovations and the arrival of a new team we decided it was time for change. So from now on we are WE. The Bushcamp is situated on a small private reserve, bordering the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, about 13km away from the rural town of Hluhluwe. We offer several accommodation options to a maximum of 38 guests in 17 houses and chalets. WE are not only a bushcamp, next to accommodation, bar and restaurant we offer ‘on site’ horse riding safaris. Our horses roam freely on our property so don’t be surprised if if you meet some of them around your room. The camp is owner managed. Both owners come from the Netherlands, most of the staff members have a Zulu background and live in traditional, rural communities. WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris tries to operate the camp with environmental awareness and social responsibility in mind.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Concierge
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
166Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 67
  • 18
  • 7
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
ChannieCP wrote a review Aug 2019
Dubai, United Arab Emirates19 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a wonderful experience at WE Bushcamp. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and knowledgeable. Emails were answered promptly and efficiently. We enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, the quiet and the clean rustic camps.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pascal S wrote a review Feb 2018
Bergen, Norway1 contribution
During our six weeks in south africa this was one of our nicest lodges we stayed in. The hosts are very nice and friendly and you can clearly see their love for nature. There are a lot of horses and other animals around the lodge. Stay here if you are interested in nature and friendly hosts, you won't regret it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
karen p wrote a review Jan 2018
Ocean City, New Jersey4 contributions
These are the factors which assure my return visits in the future: The safety features and security. The self catering kitchen and braii area. The delicious and beautifully served dinner in the boma with a bonfire under the stars. The newly painted swimming pool surrounded by a diversity of flora. The newly decorated salon and bar with a lovely fire. The as always clean and comfortable room. The horses out to pasture in our backyard. The staff and safari guide. The hospitality by Martin and Bernadette, Mikala and Nathan. The jug of water served at dinner with mint and lemon herbs. And a very good value for a very reasonable cost!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do have Nathan arrange an Elephant Encounter.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
eric wrote a review Oct 2017
Tampa, Florida139 contributions47 helpful votes
nothing was very good about this place. Pick a category it was awful. The night we were there, there was a windstorm. The power went out. We had no lights. We had no hot water,in fact we had no water at all. the toilet wouldn't even flush.And of course no showers. Lovely. In the morning there was a pile of dirt on the floor that had blown in under the door. Hey- they did sprinkle rose petals on the bed. I would have preferred hot water. The young lady who was there when we checked in wouldn't make eye connect or say hello. Luckily we only saw her for a minute, The place was shabby to say the least. The outfitter that booked us in there heard from us already loudly and clearly. I felt bad for our guide. I know he was mortified for us but like a good soldier he did the best he could. We are not fussy travelers but this was TOO MUCH or should I say TOO LITTLE. Avoid this place at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris
Responded 02 Nov 2017
C'est la vie, the title of your review suggests that at least we made you laugh! For the rest, it is unfortunate that you've had a bad experience. Most of your complaints however are related to the storm we had that day, it is unfortunate for you but unfair to us that you blame us for that. The fact that sometimes people do not make eye contact is culturally motivated, this is something that is part of Zulu Culture, people are showing their respect by not looking you into the eye's and by talking very softly. That this is perceived as rude in other countries is fine, but here in South Africa she was just trying to show you respect, especially when someone is 'older'. I would agree to say that eye contact, a smile and a chat should be present and luckily that is normally the case.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sithembile M wrote a review Oct 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa11 contributions
The bathroom needs a lot of improvement. The towels in our room were so old and smelled bad. The staff were friendly though but the room was not what we hoped for considering the cost. The location is good for nature lovers like us. Be careful to follow the correct dorection when navigating there as the roads are gravel and getting on the wrong one can mean you are for a really bumpy ride.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BrianVMoore wrote a review Jul 2017
Durban, South Africa136 contributions30 helpful votes
My sons and I stayed at the lodge, so as to travel to the nearby and world-renowned Hluhluwe Game reserve. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and basic. However the knowledge and friendliness of the owners and resident game ranger were awesome. The value was also great - so I highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Niamh W wrote a review Apr 2017
1 contribution
Food price was not reflective of what we received. We complained and it was dealt with however it could have been done better. The rooms were also crammed together, no feeling of privacy. It was an awkward experience all round.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
56Geraldine79 wrote a review Mar 2017
Durban, South Africa19 contributions10 helpful votes
Although our room was upgraded, which was super, getting into the property was difficult as no-one answered the gate. Our room was fairly clean but the mosquito neat could not close properly. After being told we had until four o'clock to order dinner, we were then told that they were not serving dinner at all! The resort needs a lot of maintenance.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sdessus wrote a review Feb 2017
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
We spent 3 nights in late December 2016. When we booked 2 months before we were told that there was no need to book for activities in advance. When we arrived we were told that most activities were booked....We were thus very disappointed to miss the turtles watching. For one of the few activities left we were charged R1300 for 5 persons to be driven 20km away on good roads to the leopard reserve. Despite having our own car, the lodge insisted to drive us there and ex post justified it on the ground of a privately guided tour. In reality our guide (a nice chap) just sat during the visit (organized by the leopard reserve for groups of 20) at the bar ... The pool is small and dirty, food is almost every night the same and you have to pay for your coffee at the breakfast (despite being included in the price of the night) ! The garden is nice but there is not a single place to seat outside (and also inside) with your family. We did not either really understand how ecological this lodge was... electricity is generated at night by a generator.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gregory L wrote a review Jan 2017
6 contributions
Friendly and helpful reception. The rooms are clean and well serviced daily. The menu at the restaurant is limited but the meals on offer are tasty and the bar is reasonably stocked and priced. Great weekend getaway lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hluhluwe area.
PRICE RANGE
R 947 - R 1,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Wildebees Ecolodge
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandHluhluwe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WE BUSHCAMP & HORSE SAFARIS - Now R 795 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶4̶2̶0̶) - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Hluhluwe, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris
Which popular attractions are close to WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris?
Nearby attractions include Ilala Weavers (7.2 km), Zulu Croc Reptile Park (6.6 km), and Tunga Needlework Studio (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rafikis, Delishh Restaurant, and Ngweni Railroad Brewery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris have airport transportation?
Yes, WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Is WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.