Zululand Safari Lodge

1020 Main Rd Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, Hluhluwe 3960 South Africa
Traveller (117)
Glass paneled doors look out on to the watering hole
Dining (13)
View from Safari Lodge's Room
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#12 of 22 lodges in Hluhluwe
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
With a heritage spanning over 40 years, Zululand Safari Lodge is scattered along sprawling open lawns dotted with aged Aloes ans Scented Thorn Acacias, providing a truly picturesque backdrop. Rondavel styled rooms situated at the base of the majestic Ubizane hill, all rooms have a view of the constant watering hole that is nestled under the magnificent Marula trees, which quenches the thirst of Giraffe,Zebra, Nyala, Impala and Kudu. This water hole is also lit up at night giving guests a possible glimpse of animals roaming around in the dark.Safari Lodge offers various room styles, all of which have our trademark glass paneled sliding doors, ensuring not an inch of nature escapes by without being noticed. Rooms at Safari include: Double bed or Single bed set up with en-suite bathrooms equipped with showers, as well as four sleeper family units with en-suite bathrooms equipped with a bath and a shower. A third option, is a room with a bath and an inside and out side shower, extending the nature experience a step further. All rooms are air conditioned and are self catering, a full equipped kitchen ensures that all the necessities are provided for. Each room has its own patio and breath taking view, each patio is equipped with its own comfortable patio furniture. A spacious play area, equipped with a large jungle gym, swings and a see-saw is present at Safari Lodge to keep up with the youthful energy, while parents can relax on comfortable pool loungers adjacent to the large pool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Zulu
97Reviews0Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 32
  • 8
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
John T wrote a review Feb 2020
Coventry, United Kingdom110 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place exceeded my expectations in every respect. The lodge is part of the Ubizane Wildlife Reserve which, be in no doubt is a proper game reserve. It may not have Elephant and Lions but the thrill of opening the curtains in the morning to see, Zebra, Impala and Kudu just outside is amazing. The reserve is also home to Warthogs, Wildebeest and Giraffe etc, all in good numbers. You can self cater or go to the nice restaurant which overlooked a pond with crocodiles and a very hardworking colony of weaver birds. Food was excellent and the waiting staff attentive. The location is also ideally situated to visit the superb Hluhluwe – Imfolozi Game reserve where Rhinoceros are the stars. The thatched chalets are lovely, comfortable and clean. The staff were superb and very friendly (special mention to the guys on the security gate who brought a smile to our faces every time we went in or out). My wife had broken her ankle a couple of days before (although she didn’t know it when we arrived) and the staff couldn’t do enough to help and support us throughout our stay). I certainly recommend Zululand Safari Lodge, I loved the place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ubizane General Manager, General Manager at Zululand Safari Lodge
Responded 06 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback! When you are happy, we are happy.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anton de Waal wrote a review Sept 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa18 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a party of 12 family members and had a fantastic time at Zululand lodge. The place is purposefully rustic and has everything that you need. Plenty of buck, Zebra and other strange creatures roaming around the tents during the day and night. The bird life in incredible - and you can see even more on the 6am , 2hr walk along the river which is a must. The manager, Martin, is mine of local knowledge and you can see is enjoying himself tremendously, even though he does the same walking tour every morning. We all loved this place, everything works as it should and the staff are very accomodating. We were even treated to a private viewing of a 40kg Rock python being released from captivity on the farm. Food is fresh, and at the moment they re not licenced so you can take your own drinks which makes the stay incredibly reasonable. Will def be back, thanks Zululand Lodge!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ubizane General Manager, General Manager at Zululand Safari Lodge
Responded 06 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback! When you are happy, we are happy.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andries83 wrote a review Mar 2015
Berea, South Africa10 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed in Zululand for 3 nights. Rooms were very nice and spacious. Little kitchenette was ok, but didn't use it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Were impressed with the amount of game running around freely in and around the camp. Impala on your doorstep when waking up. Also the crocodile pool was impressive. Food was good, but would've appreciated more vegetarian options.

Overall really enjoyed our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A K wrote a review Apr 2007
Geylang, Singapore46 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a South African living abroad I make an effort to experience what South Africa has to offer each time I go home. There is nothing more magical than experiencing the still-ness of the African Bush. The great thing about Zululand Safari Lodge is that it is within a few hours drive from Durban. The lodge is an authentic African lodge without too much fanfare. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a small kitchette for basic food preparations. Each room is a rondavel and they are well spaced out so you get a sense of privacy in what is a not very exclusive lodge. Each room has its own BBQ and a set of outdoor chairs and table. We ate dinner at the Lodge, a wonderful experience inside an African Boma (reed enclosure with a fire in the centre). If you are looking for something authentic on a budget I recommend the Zululand Safari lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angelameyer wrote a review Sept 2017
Cape Town, South Africa38 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have had the most magnificent weekend at Zululand tree lodge, from our arrival finding zebras in the parking lot, to the super friendly check in staff who offered us a refreshing cool towel and delicious beverage ... stunning room with viewing balcony. Just after we arrived he had about 5 giraffe about 5 meters from our cabin, when walking to dinner there were Nyala all antelope all along the path. The meals were all delicious and the staff were so incredibly friendly. We booked a morning game drive for the day after we arrived into Hluhluwe game reserve, we saw 4 of the big 5 including 3 lion ambushing a herd of buffalo. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone, I own a travel agency and will most certainly recommend this lodge to my clients. We will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 01stephang, General Manager at Zululand Safari Lodge
Responded 01 Oct 2017
Angela, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback! Hospitable is the work we use on a daily basis. I am very happy that you saw this in our great team. Our goal each day is to be friendly and very helpful with a smile! We are very fortunate to have the right team for this. Our goal is to always provide high level service. When you are happy, we are happy. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
roisin1212 wrote a review Aug 2017
Durban, South Africa14 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is great and the grounds are nice. The room is fine, it has everything you need however I found the sheets to be fairly dusty and stained. The blinds are essentially see through so everyone can see in your window in the day and at night. The shower we had was pretty bad, although we there was second option outdoors, it was just too cold to use it. The food at the tree lodge was good and the guide we had on our game drive was good. Sadly could not see many animals but these things happen. I would stay here again but having stayed in both the safari and tree lodge, I would choose the tree lodge. I would say it is quite overpriced considering it wasn't that clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Choose the tree lodge, not the safari lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 01stephang, General Manager at Zululand Safari Lodge
Responded 01 Oct 2017
roisin1212, thank you so much for telling us about your experience. I take all surveys very serious. Our goal is to always provide guest 100% satisfactory during their visit. Our team is not happy with just being OK. Please accept my apologies on the issues that you encountered during your stay with us. We strive to provide the best service at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve. I will most definitely follow up with my housekeeping manageress regarding the linen complaint you raised. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cherylpincus wrote a review May 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa36 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Zululand Safari Lodge for 3 nights. The room was fantastic and very well equipped. The bed was huge and super comfortable. The bath was amazing and also huge.
Would definitely stay there again as long as it was in the self catering units.
We had one dinner at the restaurant and even though the food was lovely it was rediculously priced. It was a buffet that had very little choice. I felt for the price they should of at least had a roast meat of sorts. The dinner was R225.00 per head with no starters only salad and as I said no roast meat only some chicken and beef stew and veges. Dessert was ice cream and a peppermint crisp tart as well as cheese and biscuits.
The setting of the lodge was also lovely and we had zebra and Nyala greeting us outside in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ubizane W, Manager at Zululand Safari Lodge
Responded 08 May 2016
Dear Cheryl, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review! We appreciate the kind words and we are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. Our meals are above standard, and we always get complimented for our food, being plentiful, as we never ration our food, and we provide a large choice. It is always hard for us as a hospitality establishment to provide a service that would please each and every guests’ personal expectations, and as hard as we try every person is unique and service delivery is in the eye of the beholder, we always try our utmost with all our marketing material to ensure that it is 100% true and not edited to the tee, to ensure that it is as life-like as possible. And with our service delivery of a personal standard, we always try and ensure that we treat our guests with the utmost respect and friendliness that our abilities afford. Thank you so much for your recommendation! We hope to see you again soon in the Zululand area on your next trip! Looking forward to meeting you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yusuf I wrote a review Dec 2015
Durban, South Africa19 contributions58 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Zululand Safari Lodge got no reception, if you want anything, you have to go to Zululand Tree Lodge by car, parking too far from unit, no paraplegic facilities, nobody to help with baggage, no carports for cars, dirty unit, staff not interested, shower clogged, water doesn't drain in the shower, you have to stand in bathtub to shower, units too small, poorly maintained, poorly designed, game drives too expensive, you can organise much cheaper by checking on the internet, no WIFI, no TV in rooms, its like parks board accommodation, should charge R500 per chalet per night, that would be fair price, linen dirty and stained, dirty bathroom, towels smelling, bad towels, pool dirty, bathroom and kitchen sink dirty, not even a table and chair in the kitchen, 2 plate stove in kitchen not acceptable, very far from Memorial Gate, cold drinks hellishly expensive, I guess food must also be very expensive, we didn't try the food. Floors in the unit are dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No good rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ubizane W, General Manager at Zululand Safari Lodge
Responded 28 Dec 2015
Dear Yusuf Ismail Herewith reply to your inaccurate review of Safari Lodge. We at Ubizane place the needs, comfort and enjoyment of our guests as a priority to the Ubizane experience. Your party arrived at roughly 11am and I explained to you that book in time is 2pm however I would do my best to get the room ready earlier as the previous guests had just departed .I also went through the game drive prices and times and you requested a afternoon game drive which we organized especially for you as we only do a Hluhluwe game drive in the morning and a Ubizane game drive in the afternoon. Whilst you were waiting at Tree Lodge you were informed of our free wifi service in the 2 hot spots namely Tree Lodge restaurant, bar and lounge were you used your laptop and Safari Lounge which is were you were staying which is self catering . Safari does have a reception and Siyabonga helped with your luggage,you parked next to the safari lounge which is 50 mtrs away from the reception. You arrived at your rondavels early and the housekeeping staff were putting the finishing touches to your 2 units with the HOD in attendance as he has to inspect every room before handover to guests. We have brand new linen and towels in our rooms which are tastefully decorated and are air conditioned These units are self catering family units and have an inside shower in the bath and an outside shower.They have a table and chairs on the stoep outside your front door and have a spacious kitchen that includes fridge/freezer,microwave ,oven with 2 electric plates kettle,toaster ,cutlery, Crockery and kitchen utensils. We do not have Tvs in the rooms and have never advertised that we did ,as this is a bush experience nor do we have car ports we have trees . Each room has a telephone directly to reception . Our swimming pool is cleaned and tested every day ,when we have thunder storms and lightning it may go from crystal clear to pale green for a day or two We have paraplegic friendly rooms as there are no steps and easy access to the bathroom and facilities Cold drinks are R 20-00 which is not excessive as they are served at the bar in delightful surroundings We are the closest accommodation outside the Hluhluwe Park which is a mere 10 min drive. I am disappointed that you never voiced any concern whilst you were here and choose Trip Advisor as a platform to launch an inaccurate account of your stay. We have thousands of guests and tour groups that come through here each year and return and compliment us on our staff friendliness,rooms ,food,service and environment We do understand that nobody can please 100% of the guests all the time however your account of your stay is inaccurate and unacceptable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barbz G wrote a review Sept 2015
Richards Bay, South Africa78 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We over-nighted in one of the units. Very clean, staff were exceptionally friendly and professional and we were made to feel very welcome. The units supply everything for self-catering. The size of the unit was spacious so we didn't feel cramped. The close proximity to the reserves is helpful and they also do their own game drives. We didn't go on that, although I had been previously.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SANDAW wrote a review Sept 2012
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa170 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It took a relaxed two & a half hour drive from Umhlanga Rocks - about the same distance as from the King Shaka Airport - directions were easy to follow & we were greeted at the entrance by welcoming staff who gave us a cool drink while we registered - Jade - my email contact at the Lodge was there to take us to our room - each rondavel room is spread around an open grassy area with paved pathways lit at night - impala & ostriches wander the area & although not seen I have it on good authority that giraffes also come to visit!
The rondavels are great - simply but tastefully furnished - each one complete with a generous shower room, dressing area & fully equipped kitchen (this time we ate in the restaurant but there were barbecues built around the area - another time maybe?) - the bedroom area has a big, comfortable bed complete with mosquito net although luckily no sign of the 'pesky critters!
The restaurant is lovely - set among the trees & with a huge fireplace for cool evenings - the food was delicious - tasty home cooking served buffet style - good choice & plentiful - must mention the yummy home-made marmalade - a nice touch!
We did two wildlife tours organised by the Lodge - the first a two hour trip around the Ubizane Reserve (where the Lodge is situated) & the second a longer trip to Hluhluwe about ten minutes drive away - what a treat - lions, rhino, elephant, giraffe, warthogs & many species of antelope! - both trips were conducted by Hamilton who shared his considerable bush knowledge with a great sense of humour - an amazing experience ...
I could wax lyrical about this visit for much longer but will finish with a mention of the staff at the Lodge - I cannot praise them enough all were pleasant, friendly & unfailingly helpful & we thank them for helping to make this trip so special ...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are two areas - the more open & perhaps more family oriented Safari Lodge & the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Zululand Safari Lodge
Responded 04 Apr 2013
3. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Zululand Safari Lodge during your holiday! Thank you for the beautiful review you have compiled for Ubizane! We strive in providing guests with a service that would be forever remembered and exceeding guests expectations! We want guests to be treated in the lap of luxury, experiencing the best of what Africa has to offer here in Zululand. We hope to see you back at either lodge in the near future! Warmest Regards, Ubizane Management & Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Marilyn F wrote a tip Feb 2018
New Plymouth, New Zealand10 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Near the pool if it's summer."
Read full review
roisin1212 wrote a tip Aug 2017
Durban, South Africa14 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose the tree lodge, not the safari lodge"
Read full review
Rosemary S wrote a tip Sept 2016
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom18 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a hotel on the site but we stayed in the safari lodges"
Read full review
Loise v wrote a tip Jun 2016
Durban, South Africa66 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want self catering it is perfect, we wanted option self catering and meals at Tree Lodge (you need to travel by car)"
Read full review
Caroline B wrote a tip May 2016
Underberg, South Africa17 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a verandah that opens towards the bush!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hluhluwe area.
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandHluhluwe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ZULULAND SAFARI LODGE - Reviews (Hluhluwe, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Zululand Safari Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Zululand Safari Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Ilala Weavers (6.2 km), Zulu Croc Reptile Park (6.4 km), and Zamimpilo Community Market (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Zululand Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Zululand Safari Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Zululand Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Zululand Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Zululand Safari Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rafikis, Delishh Restaurant, and Ngweni Railroad Brewery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Zululand Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Zululand Safari Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Zulu.
All Hluhluwe HotelsHluhluwe Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HluhluweHotels near Zululand Safari Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire