We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toad Tree Lodge

R22 Kuleni Game Park, Hluhluwe 3950 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#18 of 22 lodges in Hluhluwe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Room features
Kitchenette

Location

R22 Kuleni Game Park, Hluhluwe 3950 South Africa
Toad Tree Lodge
Getting there
Zulu Inyala Airport
King Shaka Intl Airport
224.8 km
See all flights
24Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
jill s wrote a review Feb 2019
Melrose, United Kingdom207 contributions41 helpful votes
We thought this was a 4 star it has 4 stars over the door but that’s as far as it goes .In need of upgrading very run down pity it’s in a great place No air con just ceiling fans and they were useless just circled the hot air .There we’re holes in the curtains and the sofa sheets were cheap and itchy .Kitchen utensils looked like they had been bought in a junk shop nothing matched kettle and toaster looked about 20 years old the cooker was a stove top it was useless .It did have a tv but you couldn’t get a picture .No water when the power goes off so you couldn’t flush the toilet no alternative water supply for that.The outside shower was erratic burnt you one minute then it was cold .The light fittings were full of dead flies . Outside chair loungers were broken the covers on them were to small the pool pump was broken had to put it on yourself. We were booked for 6 nights but left after 3 my husband wanted to go on the 1st night couldn’t sleep as the fans didn’t cool the rooms down .What a waste of our holiday time
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Balerno0 wrote a review Jan 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa63 contributions31 helpful votes
Just what we needed after a hectic year and we were able to share it with good friends from overseas. We stayed over the long weekend and although disappointed not to be able to enjoy the coast because of the crowds, coming back to our little haven was an absolute pleasure. The accommodation is lovely, little personal touches make you feel right at home. Comfortable beds, overhead fans, the plunge pool and that lovely long deck is all that you need to rest and recover from day to day life. We loved it and will most certainly be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sitayi wrote a review Oct 2018
Cape Town Central, South Africa10 contributions1 helpful vote
We loved everything about our stay at Toad Tree. The sounds of the bush, the giraffes that walk by when you are chilling by the pool and of course the bushbabies and genets that visit at night. Hluhluwe Park is only about 35 minutes drive away and it was so nice and quiet there (compared to Kruger) Please be aware though that nearly all the restaurants are closed from Sunday until Wednesday, so make sure you have enough supplies when you are staying at the lodge on those days.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pioneer824531 wrote a review Oct 2018
2 contributions
I have decided to publish my complaint and response (or lack thereof) in order to be fair. This is the 2nd time that I have visited the lodge and the first time I gave a positive feedback and 5 star review. I also feel that I have been a bit “ripped off” as I paid more than double for the stay, because it was weekend and apparently the lodge would have been rented out (not that I would have complaint if everything would have been in order). In general I feel that there is a lack of maintenance! COMPLAINT: Hi Stuart, I don’t know if you heard about all the mishap’s which we experienced, so I would like to let you know just in case…. • The day we arrived, we found a swarm of approximately 100 bees in the main bedroom. We called the cleaner, who in return called (I think her name is) Lynette. Who told us that there is nothing much there can do and the bees would settle down at night and we could sleep in the spare room or cottage. But the point was to sleep in the main bedroom for a romantic weekend away with a Jacuzzi. • This brings me to the second point. The geyser installed hold 150l but the Jacuzzi holds about 300l, which means that you have to use luke warm water should you wish to use the Jacuzzi. • The m-net decoder didn’t work either until I ask the cleaner to have a look the following day and she fixed it somehow. • Wasp nests are all around the house, especially the covered roofing areas (outside). • The worst part of our stay was the Sunday morning we left, to find 100 plus maggots crawling around the house, mainly in the main bedroom, which my girlfriend stepped on and virtually got sick. I was really looking forward to be back, but must say that I was rather disappointed this time! Ps”I have taken several photos should you wish to see how your previously beautiful place looked like. RESPONSE: Hi Frank, Thank you for your email, and my sincere apologies for the mishaps which occurred during your stay.I did know about the bees, as this was brought to our attention by the previous guests, and we called out a bee specialist to remove them – but I guess there were some leftovers.The maggots are a complete mystery to me as in the 9 years of owning the lodge, we have never experienced this. Nature often brings in the odd surprise, especially as we are in the bush, but not maggots. I have asked Lizelle to call in pest control specialists to investigate and clear them out.You raise an interesting point on the “Jacuzzi” and the size of the geyser. We have always promoted it as a “Jacuzzi bath” and not a pure “Jacuzzi!” With the water and electricity restrictions we have experienced in the Hluhluwe area over the past couple of years, perhaps I must remove it altogether and continue to promote water and power saving – adding a bigger geyser is going the other way.My apologies again Frank – I am attending to all your mish
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adamaki wrote a review Sept 2018
Denny, United Kingdom16 contributions9 helpful votes
Our stay in Toad Tree lodge was fantastic! It's a lovely big space, tastefully decorated and has everything you could want, including a large, well-equipped kitchen, hot tub/jacuzzi and outside shower. There's also a braai area where you can sit outside around the fire and cook a meal while listening to the sounds of the bush at night. It's located in a small, fenced game reserve so you can safely walk through the park and see lots of animals or just sit in bed with a hot coffee when you wake up and watch them walk right past the lodge! A real gem and highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mattwilcra wrote a review Sept 2018
Alzira, Spain186 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
Great place perfect for a weekend get away drought has effected some wildlife but we still came within meters of giraffe wilderbeest nyala and plenty of monkeys and birdlife. Good location just outside town of hulwuhe around 30 min drive to big 5 park. I will definetely stay again check in easy serviced daily by cleaner highly recommend thanks Stuart
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
indigoblue2018 wrote a review Aug 2018
Garden Route, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
We had such an amazing time at Toad Tree Lodge. Set in the trees with giraffe, warthog, nyala, kudu and duiker browsing through the garden. Really conveniently situated close to Hluhluwe and Maputaland. The lodge had everything that we needed and Lizelle was a superb host, making sure that our stay was perfect. We cant wait to return to this gem in the bushveld!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PhantomForest wrote a review Aug 2018
7 contributions
Toad tree is the perfect location, secluded in the trees with all sorts of wild visitors. It was great having a Giraffe watch us take a shower! Comfortable family stay and well kept lodge. Being centrally situated in Zululand allowed us to explore the nearby reserves and maputaland beaches. Lizelle was a wonderful host and made sure that we were well looked after! BIG regrets that we couldn't have stayed longer
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Greg wrote a review Aug 2017
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa24 contributions5 helpful votes
My wife and I just stayed there for our 2 year wedding anniversary, and were absolutely amazed at how beautiful this place is. We stayed in the Cheetah cabin which is a lovely 1 bedroomed place, with open plan lounge and kitchen. the kitchen is fully equipped and nothing is missing. Even though it was slightly chilly in the evenings, we still made use of the outside shower which is a winner!! :) It is situated in the middle of nowhere and so super quiet and the animals just roam round and do there thing in front of you. The Bush babies came every evening and enjoyed the little snacks we prepared for them ( bananas and apples) and once they were there they never left. we were also visited by a Genet Cat that came for some Bananas. I would highly recommend this cottage to everyone and I think this is our new go to place when we go to Hluhluwe game reserve. it is exactly 35Kms to the Memorial Gate in Hluhluwe game reserve and its a very good road to get there. The cottage is serviced once a day and is constantly kept in amazing condition.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
FionaAyerst wrote a review Jul 2017
Auckland, New Zealand237 contributions70 helpful votes
This is a treat of a venue- tucked away in the bush but surrounded with friendly animals. what more could you want. Giraffe, warthog and Nyala will all come and visit you and try to get some food. If you walk the trails you will see wildebeest, warthog, duiker, nyala, giraffe. Camp is very secluded and quiet and you get a real feeling of the African Bush. Its very handy that it is situated only 15 minutes from HluHluwe we were able to buy all our supplies from there. Also near to the gate of the HluHluwe Game park we spent one whole day there. The Chalet itself is private, modern and clean , and I love the plunge pool.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hluhluwe area.
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandHluhluwe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TOAD TREE LODGE - Reviews (Hluhluwe, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Toad Tree Lodge
Is parking available at Toad Tree Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Toad Tree Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.