We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
123 District Road Emdoneni Farm, Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3950 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (299)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (29)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 43 Speciality lodging in Hluhluwe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Following the 2015 voting period, Emdoneni Lodge has won: Global Winner in the Luxury Game Lodge category of the World Luxury Hotel Awards. Located in the heart of Zululand lies Emdoneni Lodge. The lodge offers unique opportunities for the visitor, as you get up close and personal with local wildlife. From sitting by the pool watching Zebra, Nyala, duiker and impala in their natural Sand Forest habitat, to coming face to face with Cheetah, Serval, Caracal and African Wild Cats at the Cat Sanctuary! Air-conditioned, en-suite rooms allow you to escape the heat of the day, and in the evenings you have a variety of meals to choose from at the buffet restaurant. Dinner in the Boma adds a different atmosphere as you eat under the African night sky, and get a glimpse into one of South Africa's great cultures with our Zulu dancers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Hiking
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Dutch, Zulu
363Reviews1Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 245
  • 96
  • 14
  • 7
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Des C wrote a review 20 Jan
Durban, South Africa20 contributions10 helpful votes
Emdoneni Lodge was a lovely experience, such a treat, not too far from Durban. We stayed at the lodge for two days and would like thank Deserè and her wonderful team for their warm, kind, friendly hospitality. Deserè and Cindy (Head Chef) provided well presented and delicious 3 course breakfasts and dinners for us each day . Nothing was a problem. Our accommodation was very comfortable, clean and well maintained, nestled in the tranquil, lush gardens. We thoroughly enjoyed the Cheetah and Wild Cat Tour - getting up close and personal with these amazing animals was a great experience. The two guides, Wonder and Thymon were very knowledgeable, friendly and had a wonderful sense of humour. The animal enclosures were well maintained and the cats are obviously well treated and looked after. We would highly recommend the Lodge and the Cheetah Project to anyone who wishes to visit the area together with your friendly, kind staff and look forward to returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Jenni Theron wrote a review 10 Jan
Durban, South Africa5 contributions
Such a treat to be within the tranquility of the bush, the experience of the cheetah project, buck within the lodge and the amazing work being done at the Cheetah project. We arrived and extended our days immediately. From our arrival, our accommodation spotless and perfect, a mini fridge with fresh milk daily. The food was delicious & for those with big appetites, you will not go hungry at Emdoneni, kids meals are perfect. The attention to detail on the plating of the delicious meals never went unnoticed. Nothing was ever too much to ask. The ground staff and maintenance team were constantly busy and it shows in the neatness of the grounds. Thank you Wonderboy for taking our 5 year old poop spotting and on a night game drive within the lodge premises. Something no little one should miss. The lodge is situation in in close proximity to Hluhluwe Reserve, Zulu Croc and delightful Farm stall as you enter Hluhluwe, and much more as you go into False bay and St Lucia Wetlands. Plenty to do and see. Thank you Desere and all the wonder staff - hope to see you again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Emdoneni Lodge General Manager, General Manager at Emdoneni Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Dear JanniTheron. We are very happy you and your family had a wonderful and relaxing stay with us. We are very proud of all our staff and the hard work they put in to make all our guests stay something to remember. We do hope to see you again one day.
Read more
Jessica A wrote a review 07 Jan
Durban, South Africa23 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Emdoneni Lodge was such a treat - from beginning to end - we loved it and will definitely be back! My fiance and I went to celebrate our 5 year anniversary and to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Our room was spacious and clean, with fresh milk put into our mini fridge every day after turnover service. The food was beyond scrumptious and their portions are ridiculously huge - especially their 3 course dinners - go with an appetite! They have the cheetah sanctuary on the lodge premises and it is an absolute must see (book on arrival or in advance - as they do book up fast over holidays and weekends). The work they do is just incredible and you get a close encounter with a cheetah. There are many other wild cats that they protect and rehabilitate - so the tour is very informative and eye opening. Take a camera!!! There are also many buck & zebra on the property and it is a common occurrence to have them between the chalets eating and doing their thing. There is also a lovely spa, pool and sunbeds for those that aren't overly wildlife inclined. The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating with all our requests. If we wanted to sit in a specific place, they moved everything to accommodate us. When we wanted to watch the Rugby (Lions vs Boks) they more than willingly obliged. They allowed us to bring our own wine and pay corkage. The staff are definitely a credit to this establishment and the chef's cooking is the best Ive ever had (I still dream of their meals). The have bee hives on the property and therefore all their honey is locally sourced straight from the property. Thank you Desere and staff for everything! The lodge is in close proximity to many things, for example the Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Nature Reserve - we were luck enough to see Rhino on both days we went. But take cash for entrance (for Hluhluwe-Imfolozi) as their card machine does not work due to signal. The Hluhluwe-Imfolozi reserve also has a lovely trail near the restaurant which is great for bird watching. The lodge is also near St Lucia wetlands and iSimangaliso Wetland Park - so there are many things to do. Plan ahead! Book directly with the lodge to take advantage of their current SA citizen offer - its an absolute steal for what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Emdoneni Lodge General Manager, General Manager at Emdoneni Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Jessica A, Thank you for writing this review. It makes us proud to know that we are living up to our guests' expectations. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our home. All of the best!
Read more
Sam L wrote a review Jul 2021
Waterfall, South Africa156 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
What an incredible experience! This was only possible due to the discounted rates offered at the time. The room was comfortable, the food was delicious, and service was excellent. The grounds hold the magic in this place, there are Zebra, Impala and Nyala that roam free, and you can go on various walking paths through the grounds. Its like something out of a dream. The children’s activities on offer are exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emdoneni Lodge General Manager, General Manager at Emdoneni Lodge
Responded 03 Jul 2021
Dear Candycam1. Thank you very much for the heart warming review. We are very happy you had a wonderful stay with us, and took home some amazing memories!! We hope to welcome you and your family again soon Warmest Regards
Read more
wyllies2015 wrote a review Jun 2021
Kloof, South Africa3 contributions
Overall a very pleasant stay. Staff were good, especially the lady who served us in the restaurant. Food was very good. Considering that we were the only ones staying, credit must go to the staff for their high spirits. We were in room 47, which unfortunately was very cold, and there was a lot of condensation overnight, which gave clothing a damp feeling. This may have been caused by the steam from the shower. Plug in the basin got stuck and we could not get it out eventually. Cat tour was very pleasant and informative.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Emdoneni Lodge General Manager, General Manager at Emdoneni Lodge
Responded 27 Jun 2021
Dear Wyllies2015. Thank you for the heart warming review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us during this time. We do try to make each stay with us an experience to remember, taking home fond memories of your "home-away-from-home". We hope to welcome you back again, specially in the warm summer time. Warm Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandHluhluwe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Emdoneni Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Emdoneni Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Emdoneni Cheetah project (0.1 km) and Zamimpilo Community Market (8.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Emdoneni Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Emdoneni Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Emdoneni Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Emdoneni Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Emdoneni Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Dutch, Afrikaans, and Zulu.