We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zululand Lodge

Portion 32, Farm Msinene Estate Number 14137, Hluhluwe 3960 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (59)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 22 lodges in Hluhluwe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Zululand Lodge is a small secluded lodge located on a private game reserve, in the heart of Zululand, northern KwaZulu Natal, near the town of Hluhluwe. The lodge is located within walking distance of the Msinene River and offers accommodation in nine secluded safari-style canvas rooms feature large windows and a small deck with views of the African bush. Each has a private bathroom. The camp has a main lodge with lounge and a dining area where guests can relax and admire the wilderness views. We offer guided bush walks on the conservancy and game drives in the surrounding game reserves. Zululand Lodge is close to Hluhluwe Game Reserve, Mkuzi Game Reserve and the St Lucia Wetland Park, iSimangoliso.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Portion 32, Farm Msinene Estate Number 14137, Hluhluwe 3960 South Africa
Zululand Lodge
Getting there
Zulu Inyala Airport
King Shaka Intl Airport
223.5 km
See all flights
32Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jeannine H wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
It was my second visit already and it wont be my last. If I could I would rate 6stars! It’s my happy place in Hluhluwe area. All the staff is outstanding! Food is amazing! The Tent is comfortable clean and the Interior of the lodge is very pleasant. You are in the middle of nature! The air coming thru the tent at night is like a natural aircon! And then pool during the day very refreshing. We slept just perfectly. Manager Martin was the heart and the soul during our stay. He runs that place like it was his own. He goes above and bejond to make your stay as fulfilling as it can be. He really is looking after his guests and his staff! the way he connects with all the guests is special and it is a pleasure to be able to spend time with him during the morning walking safari. His Knowledge about nature is out of this world. What a great experience every morning learning something new about wildlife! He loves what he does with all his heart and this is catching for everybody around him! Thank you again everybody!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
apasi751299 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The lodge is well-located close to Hluhlue Nature Reserve where you can see the Big Five. Zululand Lodge itself has an abundance for wildlife. Personally I saw hippos, giraffes, impala, nyala & zebra there. It is a safe environment to take walks or jog/run. Martin, the lodge warden is an excellent source of knowledge concerning the birds & animals in the area. Be sure to join him on one of his early morning guided walks. The accommodation is squeaky clean, comfortable and conveniently located. You really feel in touch with nature in the permanent tents while still having the comforts of an en-suite toilet & shower and comfy beds. The staff is polite, courteous and offer service with a smile. I would definitely stay with them again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sbreve101008 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
What an experience. Sleeping in a private reserve with game walking all around. Even in the night you can hear game walking by next to your tent. There is even a Leopard (not seen, not sure if heard). The next day we did a safari walk. The guides knew so much and explained so well. The staff is super nice and arranged us a diner at the fire place. One thing to notice is the road to the lodge, it's a very bumpy road and is best done with a higher vehicle. We touched our sedan a lot of times on the bumps and rocks. We had even some damage on the bottom (rental car with insurance). A SUV will do the job fine!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Inspire50165181834 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
+1
We were welcomed by Martin, and from that moment, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The tented camp was extremely comfortable surrounded by trees and birds and animals wandering past. The Lodge was so attractive with lovely furnishings. Bush walks were amazing seeing birds, animals up close, hippos playing in the river. Staff were so friendly and welcoming. Hope to return some day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Luca Zanon wrote a review Jun 2023
Ziano di. Fiemme17 contributions1 helpful vote
Perfect Bush escape, with tented rooms embraced by trees, nature and birds. You can't get closer to nature than this. Plus, all solar power run, a great valute added. Don't miss this place, when in Kwa Zulu Natal
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
astieb911260 wrote a review Feb 2023
Palma de Mallorca, Spain1 contribution
Great place in the middle of the bush. Sleeping with all the sounds of is great. Martin was a great host and made us feel welcomed and home and gave us loads of info. Thanks! Att head office: You should send directions info ahead of arrival to your FIT guests. And put a Lodge sign on the Gate ! It was very difficult to navigate there, we drove around in circles for 1 hour. Google maps navigates wrongly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amanda d wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
So enjoyed our stay at Zululand Lodge. Lovely safari tents in the bush - with comfortable beds and bathroom. Delicious meals and beautiful walks and views. This is just the place to wind down and relax.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
bkonin674867 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We were most impressed with the tented accommodation, which was very comfortable, clean and very well situated. Martin welcomed us and saw to our every need. We had a very informative walk with him in the morning. He is knowledgeable and patient. The only negative was the quality of the food. It was not up to standard and if this aspect is addressed then the lodge would be the perfect getaway destination. Brian and Roni Koning
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
judymcnaughton16 wrote a review Apr 2022
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
This was a great experience for all of us. Walks were very special seeing things and discuss aspects of nature you wouldn't normally discuss. Meals prepared and presented with pride. Having a very fussy 6 year old we would have taken more of her own food. Eg cheerios cereal. Staff were very helpful in altering her food where they could. Martin our host was amazing and so happy to share all his knowledge and experience of the bush with us. Idea person for the job. Thank you Zululand lodge. If you want a bush experience this is the place to visit. Loved being in the tents and watching the sun rise from my bed through the insect proof meshing while listening to the woodpecker working in the tree next to us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Waring-Jones, Owner at Zululand Lodge
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Hi Judy, Thank you so much for your beautiful review of our lodge. We do love Zululand and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your message to Martin and the team at the lodge. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon. Martin, Shaun and Bruce and the Zululand Lodge team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RHINOTHOMAS wrote a review Jul 2021
Kenilworth, South Africa406 contributions97 helpful votes
Martin is a great host and his game walk in the morning was great, he is passionate about the bush and very knowledgeable. The accommodation is comfortable but not luxurious. The food was reasonable a great breakfast made up for a slightly disappointing dinner. It’s important to note that they are not licensed so take your own if you would like to enjoy a drink.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take your own booze if you want to drink
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Waring-Jones, Owner at Zululand Lodge
Responded 06 Jul 2021
Dear Brian, Thank you for your review of of Zululand Lodge. We are pleased you had a good time overall and enjoyed Zululand, our nature reserve and Martins service. We do apologise for your lack of enjoyment with regards dinner. If you would be so kind to send an email to shaun@sunway-safaris.com with details on the dinner I would like to follow up on it to improve standards. Once again I am pleased you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you at Zululand Lodge again soon. Kind regards Shaun, Bruce, Martin and the Zululand Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hluhluwe area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,585 - R 2,849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandHluhluwe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ZULULAND LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Hluhluwe, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Zululand Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Zululand Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Zululand Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Zululand Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.