We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 8 guest houses in Hluhluwe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ama Zulu Guesthouse is set in the heart of Hluhluwe and the beautiful untamed Elephant Coast in KwaZulu Natal This newly renovated house offers guests comfortable accommodation in a relaxing atmosphere at affordable rates. The taste fully furnished and decorated bedrooms all have private entrances, en-suite bathrooms and are equipped with coffee and tea making facilities, bar fridge and colour TV with M-Net. A Continental and full English Breakfast is served daily. Dinners on request. Guests are welcome to relax in the courtyard or at the pool area and enjoy the fresh air and sunny skies. Braai/ barbeque facilities are available! Laundry service available! Children welcome! This Guesthouse greatest asset is it's location ideally situated between the world renowned Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve and the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park. Where the untamed wildlife and marine reserves meet creating an eco-system of unparalleled bio-diversity. Ama Zulu Guesthouse is also within easy reach of Sodwana Bay, St Lucia, Cape Vidal, Lake Sibaya, Mkuze Game Reserve, as well as Ndumo Game Reserve, Tembe Elephant Park and Lake Josini. The "umHluhluwe Safaris" arranges three, six and nine hour safaris into the game reserve. Champagne breakfasts, bush braai's, lunch packs as well as picnics in the Park can also be arranged on request. Qualified field guides will take you on safari in comfortable, modern open game drive vehicles.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
381Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 105
  • 17
  • 10
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
kdewit671336 wrote a review Mar 2024
Bruges, Belgium1 contribution
We had a lovely stay in this nice, very clean and good located guesthouse. Very friendly host, clean rooms, nice swimming pool. Good breakfast. Good location, 15 minutes to Hluhluwepark, nearby shops and restaurants. We recommend this guesthouse !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 12 Mar 2024
thank you for your lovely review on your stay always rewarding when guests appreciate our efforts. we wish you all the best for this year further. maralize owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sishwa995452 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Great accommodation for Groups or solo travelers. Top notch.Different types of rooms available. Plenty of green space. Easy access to main tourist attractions. Will definitely stay again. Excellent in all aspects.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 16 Jan 2024
thank you for your wonderful review. always a pleasure when guests appreciate our efforts. all the best for 2024 owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kerry-Lee V wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
What you see on the website is not what you get, the photos and video must have been taken a long time ago when this establishment was in its prime. My son was home on holiday from overseas and I thought I'd treat him and his girlfriend, how disappointed we all were. Dark dingy rooms. I stayed in the Cheetah Room, no window in the sleeping area, the room was smelly, the bathroom quite shocking. My son and his girlfriend stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, just as bad - their feet stuck to the floor. Overall, no no. This place is listed as FOUR STAR, there is no way that is correct. My advice - look around in Hluluwe, before you decide. We had to leave unexpectedly, but we were truly grateful to have to leave early.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 02 Jan 2024
hi there Thank you for your review on your one night stay with us your booking was through booking.com and we did explain as you chose to leave earlier that we cant refund you as its a short notice However you told us you had a family emergency and that your mother was ill. we responded and informed you that when we will receive guests at the property we will refund you for the day they take , however we had no one on such a short notice we did inform you aswell Im sorry that you feel this way towards our guesthouse however we do not do any false adverising all the photos you have seen is exactly what you will receive the honeymoon suite is our best unit Upon arrival we did inform you that if anything is dissatisfied to please inform us so we can assist while you here Upon your departure you were fine and did not say anything about your dissatisfaction we are very sadden about this review perhaps ama zulu was not the right place for you and your family regards owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
david r wrote a review Nov 2023
38 contributions2 helpful votes
rooms are nice, comfortable and clean, very nice garden area, and good value. had misread the location, and we did find it awkward for eating. there's a good communal BBQ and microwave, but little in the town that's walkable. reasonably well located for the game park.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 14 Nov 2023
thank you for your support to our guesthouse always rewarding when guests appreciate our efforts owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adriaan Mostert wrote a review Oct 2023
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
Dirty rooms Dirty showers Faulty electrical cables Poor facilities or accomodation of reasonable request A host or caretaker which is extremely inappropriate to run a guest house - too familiar with guests, in fact she completely forget we are guests and not her therapist. Poor booking (I had to sleep in car as alternative accommodation was terrible) Air conditioners not working Electrical cables with exposed wires after shoddy repairs. Unstable Wi-Fi network whether in a room or in public areas. Basically - what you see as advertised is very far from reality. When the host tells you to rather eat at Wimpy as she cannot be bothered to plan a decent breakfast… When the host complains to third parties about the guests, in front of guests. A host which seems perplexed about guest asking that facilities or services promised are presented .., the you know you need to steer clear. I loved what this region can offer but Ama Zulu ruined my chances of ever going back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this establishment. There are many other alternatives that will elevate your experience to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Thank you for your responds on your arrival at our guesthouse You have booked the kudu suite for 2 adults only You have arrived at our guesthouse with 2 adults and 3 kids the kids were not visible upon checking in we saw the kids running around and swimming we urge you to explain why you did not inform us about your kids Your unit was not equip for a family and unforgenalty we did not had any family units available Upon your shock that we couhgt you you were not prepared to pay extra for your kids We informed you that you are welcome to stay but your kids do not have space inside your room we suggested that you find alternative accommodation for yourself and your kids We do not tolerate guests that hides guests from us we have CCTV on the property and we have proof what have happened You were 30 min in side the Kudu suite for you to make a full list off things that is wrong we unforgenlaty do not agree with you as we have photos and Cctv and have a standard we are maintaining we wish you well regards owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
fhey899213 wrote a review Aug 2023
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
Ama Zulu Guesthouse is perfectly located as a starting point for safaris. The place is really nice, the host was great, we got all the help we needed and more. If we drive past the area again, we will come back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 14 Nov 2023
thank you for your lovely revies on us we wish you all the best for this year further owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
neilkjackson wrote a review Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom32 contributions4 helpful votes
After a most warm welcome, we were taken to a beautifully presented suite, which had all amenities one would need for an overnight stay or longer. The lodge is not licensed but each suite has a fridge, so beers and wine can be kept chilled. The tranquility and beauty of this small but delightful complex makes it the perfect getaway for some ‘me time’ There is a small swimming pool, plus social areas. The centre of town is just a couple of minutes drive down the road but you would never know. It is a haven. Highly recommended after out 4 night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring own alcohol. Tea/coffee and water plus fresh milk supplied. Safe and hairdryers. Pool...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 10 Apr 2023
thank you for your feedback on your 4 nights stay always rewarding when guests appreciate our efforts thank you for your support we wish you all the best for this year further regards owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jchett186191 wrote a review Apr 2023
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
We had our honeymoon at amazulu guest house and it was a very pleasant experience. The atmosphere was amazing and the staff were very pleasant and polite. We were very welcomed and loved our stay at Amazulu guesthouse.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 10 Apr 2023
thank you for your positive feedback we are very glad you had a wonderful time here we would like to wish you all the best for this year further regards owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ksimel898769 wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
It was very quite and easy to fall asleep with no noise. Reception gentleman was very friendly and suggested activities that we could do around and we tried some. we were not disappointed at all. we met another couple from German that were booked in there, it was nice to have a braai with them. Braai area have all utensils you might need. Wow, worth visiting
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 07 Feb 2023
thank you for your support and choose us as your holiday destination. it was a pleasure to host you guys. we wish you all the best for this year further. owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Camper42055696000 wrote a review Feb 2023
My wife and i booked in for our ten year anniversary, our very first get away without our daughter. Ama zulu guest lodge exceeded our expectations, it is beautiful, clean neat and a wonderful place. the staff is friendly. the owners are incredible people. we will defiantly be visiting them again. this place is value for your money guaranteed and the incredible friendly staff and owners is a bonus. thank you guys for a great stay, look forward to visiting again soon :-)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maralize Price, Owner at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Responded 07 Feb 2023
thank you for your positive feedback on your stay its so rewarding when guests appreciate the efforts, we put in to make. their stay a memorial one. we wish you all the best and hope to see you in the future again. owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hluhluwe area.
PRICE RANGE
R 875 - R 989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandHluhluwe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMA ZULU GUESTHOUSE AND SAFARIS - Now R 875 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶0̶2̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Hluhluwe, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris
Which popular attractions are close to Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris?
Nearby attractions include Ilala Weavers (1.0 km), Zulu Croc Reptile Park (0.9 km), and Zamimpilo Community Market (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rafikis, Delishh Restaurant, and Ngweni Railroad Brewery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Hluhluwe.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ama Zulu Guesthouse And Safaris?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.