We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oceanic

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good41%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness centre
Spa
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
19
23
10
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
19
23
10
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenenjoyed every momentwalking distance to the beachthank you very muchswimming poolsafe parkingstayed for nightspleasant stayshort stayself cateringhome away from homeroom servicesparstoveaccommodationsaunalounge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was with great disappointment that I arrived in our suite to find several issues that required fixing or maintenance. I've stayed here before and did not expect to encounter these problems. My suggestion is that rooms are inspected more thoroughly by management before it...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jlpietersen
Response from Ian M, General Manager at The OceanicResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jlpietersen Thank you for sharing your views with us, we apologise for inconvenience during your stay and we have noted and prioritise all your concerns. We looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Have a great day. Regards I.M

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The space was more than I bargained for. It was amazing. The staff was friendly and the swimming pool was clean. I love that we had a stove So We can cook our own food. That brought a more home kind of feeling

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank xdludl748041
Response from Ian M, General Manager at The OceanicResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear xdludl748041 Thank you for sharing your awesome experience with us, we're very delighted that you have enjoyed your holiday. We looking forward to your next visit. Have awesome day. Kind Regards I.M.

Reviewed 16 March 2018

Beautiful house in outstanding position. We love staying here. We take our staffie with us and the property is totally fenced in and secure so we don't have to worry. We book our breaks around the availability of this house.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lwaner870222
Response from Ian M, General Manager at The OceanicResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lwaner870222 Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us, we are extremely delighted and pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We're looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. Have awesome day. Kind Regards I.M.

Reviewed 8 March 2018

We had an amazing stay thanks to the friendly staff of Oceanic keep up the great work. The staff gave us a great experience and one we will not forget. A home away from home. Thank you very much we will see you soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelley V
Response from Ian M, General Manager at The OceanicResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Shelley V Thank you so much for sharing your awesome experience with us, we're extremely delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. We looking forward to welcoming you back to your" home away form home". Have Awesome day. Kind regards I.M.

Reviewed 5 February 2018

The Oceanic is well positioned in relation to the beaches. Accommodation takes the form of suites comprised of lounge, kitchenette, bedroom and bathroom. They are fully air-conditioned, spacious, clean, serviced and comfortable. A plus for me was the built-in seat in the shower with strong...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B1392VKlindas
Response from Ian M, General Manager at The OceanicResponded 6 February 2018

Dear B1392VKlindas Thank you so much for sharing your awesome experience with us, we looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Have awesome day, Regards I.M.

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Durban, South Africa
See all 45 hotels in DurbanSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Spa Hotel in Durban
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Spa Hotel in Durban
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Oceanic staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Training on how to speak to people and resolve matters, especialy the receptionist. Communication between the..."
Read review
"I did not leave any tip"
Read review
"5th floor is beautiful, recently renovated and bright"
Read review
"Don't bother"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing