We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden Court South Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Garden Court South Beach
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1 000 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 964: English reviews
Start your review of Garden Court South Beach
 Click to rate
Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall a good hotel except for the disappointing breakfast. I have been frequenting this hotel for many years . The revamp have made the rooms great and the staff are terrific. Only the quality of breakfast has declined ...foods being served warm to cold , certain foods being overcooked while others being undercooked . It seems that no one responsible...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vaneshree2017
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ vaneshree2017 Thank you for taking the time to share your review and concerns. We are glad you have noticed the improvements done and the changes made to the hotel, and agree we need to follow this up with a great breakfast. We normally get very positive feedback for breakfast. One of our highest ratings. We do regret and apologise...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From dirty carpet and cutlery, noisy rooms, the air conditioner that wasn't working leaving the air to blow throughout the night, to the poor service at the restaurant. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesegom354
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ lesegom354 We appreciate you sharing you review and for taking the time bring this to my attention. Indeed dissapointing to hear. I do sincerely apologise for this and that you did not get to enjoy as most of our guests do. We have discussed and shared as a management team to address the concerns you mention and ensuring all...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

To travelers: Avoid ordering meat with curry, it may not be as fresh as you think. I ordered curry of the day" for dinner on the 15th March 2017 and it seems i was given the previous day's meat mixed with spices, re-heated and served. It was the most tasteless curry i have ever eaten in Durban.Not to speak of...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eunice M
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ Eunice M Thank you for the review and for bringing this to my attention. I assure you this is not a common concern, and we have had no other reports. We have raised this concern with the operators of the outsourced restaurant to ensure that this is not the case. And to look at the preparation method. We trust...

Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Every time we left the hotel or had to come back we had to use the stairs to get to our room. We stayed on the 11th floor. This was due to the lift repairs they had going on. This could have been mentioned to us when we made the booking. We had to carry our back down 11 floors...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolaasd2017
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ nicolaasd2017 We can understand your frustration and irritation and the impact this had on your stay and do certainly apologise and regret the inconvenience. As you note we are completing our refurbishment, but did have additional breakdowns not planed for, and delays in completion. Your comments noted regarding communication are acknowledged and indeed should have been more widely spread....

eMalahleni, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

excellent room service place was nice enjoy breakfast room was clean wifi was good reception welcome was excellent launch and dinner was good I can enjoy even the sea view from the hotel safe parking area

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronnym900
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Started off with a 2 hour check-in as the hotel could not pick up the Discovery voucher (NOT THE HOTELS FAULT). Hotel was very busy as there were a lot of guests because of the long weekend and quite a few sports events on the go. Out of the 5 lifts only 2 were operational and of the 2 only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bandit314
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Everything was perfect, from the welcome, the food, the rooms being cleaned every day, helpful staff and stress free checkout. Thank you so much for providing excellent services, me and my family really appreciate. Will be visiting again soon.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 549beverleyg
Pretoria
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel gives you value for money, it is also centrally situated. The rooms although some a bit small is well maintained and clean and comfortable. Breakfast is not always what you expect and sometimes there is not a large variation however overall it is also value for money. I would recommend the hotel for leisure as well as business...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquesbO5252KU
Tzaneen, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you for upgrading the escalators. The escalators was often overloaded due to some escalators not working. Thank you for giving us the senior rate this time. This is one reason why I will re comment the Garden Court South Beach to family and friends.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dionf17
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a room on the outlook to the swimming pool. But the wind was terribly you couldn't leave the Hotel. Had room service and food was very nice. spend only one night at the hotel. Good location near the sea for walks after a long day. The staff is also very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JurieJohannesJacobs

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.2 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1 320 reviews
0.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.3 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
560 reviews
1.8 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
405 reviews
2.3 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: R1 078 - R1 354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Court South Beach staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Pretoria, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Court South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floors have great views but if the lifts don't work it could make life difficult.”
 of 5 bubbles Bandit314, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room on the swimming pool area for easy walk on the outside and look over the sea. Very nice to enjoy the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles JurieJohannesJacobs, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the edge rooms or rooms opposite the lifts”
 of 5 bubbles ReichertStephan, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles taheer, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request sea facing room”
 of 5 bubbles vanishap2015, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5