Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast

Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast

7 Northcliffe Road Escombe, Durban 4001 South Africa
Traveller (12)
Room 1 (Executive)
Room & Suite (5)
Breakfast area
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#9 of 99 B&Bs in Durban
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast / Conference Center is a 4 star and AA Highly Recommended graded accommodation that is an owner-run Bed and Breakfast in Queensburgh/Malvern area. Situated 17km outside the city of Durban in the Kwa-Zulu Natal province of South Africa. Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast/ Conference Center borders on to the Roosfontein Nature Reserve. It was once owned by the Voortrekker pioneer Francois Roos and is home to many grassland, birds, wild flowers, smaller mammals and antelope species. Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast / Conference Center caters mainly for the traveler who enjoys a tranquil setting, bush, hiking trails and bird watching. Walking trails on the property provide access to the dense bush where many bird species and animals including Oribi buck, legewane, rock rabbits, pheasants, bush babies, jennets and vervet monkeys can be spotted. All air-conditioned rooms are modestly furnished with tasteful ethnic decor and luxurious fabrics to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast / Conference Center is an Eco friendly destination and has a variety of measures in place to reduce the impact on the environment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Hiking
Darts
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
98Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
wmahar290925 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in room one, it is a fantastic room large bathroom area, decent view from the main bedroom which has a well equipped fridge and a balcony. It is well kept and clean. Service is excellent, it is quiet so you are getting a quiet night sleep.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
olibarnes wrote a review Sept 2016
15 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Prior to departing on my trip to Durban I had researched some B&B's where I could acquire some subtle peace and calmness for a few days when I stumbled across this gem. Deservedly, it is currently in the top 10 for B&B's in Durban and although it may be a little way out of town the cosiness and scenery that Roosfontein offers certainly makes up it. If it is tranquility you require, then look no further. You constantly feel that the host goes that extra mile for you and is attentive of your every need. Not only that, but he also has lots of informative knowledge of his surrounding nature reserve. So after your delicious breakfast - that even has home grown salad - you can you wander off into the reserve having gained some of that knowledge. And, the fact that you just go off walking into a reserve when your just outside a huge city was also dreamy.
As for the room, I opted for the aloe room as I was traveling solo and didn't require too much space and it was perfect for what I was looking for; the bed was nice and big and super comfortable, the shower and ensuit were also clean and spacious. I have no complaints. Overall, I think the most enjoyable part was the host and his hospitality, it really did make for an excellent personal experience as I have come from overseas.
The only thing I would mention is the wifi wasn't too strong in the aloe room. It worked, but at a slow pace. Luckily, this was no concern for me and when I did want to use the wifi the manager set me up in the conference room which was absolutely no hassle and that's just it, no query or task was ever to much for them.
I hope to be back one day to enjoy the breakfast and views once more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda L, General Manager at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Responded 26 Oct 2016
Hi We would like to thank you for the lovely and positive feedback you have posted on TripAdvisor. Always a great pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback from our happy guests. Glad you have enjoyed your room, breakfast and the walk into the Roosfontein Nature Reserve. We hope you have a safe trip back home, and would love to have you back at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast on your next visit to South Africa. Have a lovely day Kind Regards Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ElleEm wrote a review Jul 2016
San Francisco22 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A very nice B&B, I think there were 7 rooms altogether surrounding the main house in a park setting. The room was lovely, the breakfasts delicious, and the hosts were charming (dog included :). You really need a car though - it's a bit far off the beaten path.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: A room upstairs might be ideal as the patio rooms are on the common pathway.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda L, General Manager at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Responded 21 Sept 2016
Hi Hi Many thank for your wonderful review and great to get positive feedback from our guest that they enjoy the room setup and breakfast. Yes our furry fluffy four legged host "Chaka" is our gem on the property Hope to have you with us in the future again. Kind Regards Roosfontein BB Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jean I wrote a review Jul 2016
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Giraffe room and it exceeded our expectations. It is very very clean. Everywhere we looked, spotless. The room is super spacious with lots of places to put your things. The bathroom is huge. Enough space for two to place their toiletries. The location is stunning. There is a beautiful view of the Roosfontein reserve,with a balcony. Sometimes you can see the local wildlife wandering around the property too, which we enjoyed. They are always willing to give information about Durban and answered all of our questions about tours etc.

The B&B is near a shopping center where there is a grocery store, post office, pharmacy etc. The owners are very accommodating. I am a vegetarian and they made sure I was catered for when we went for breakfast. This little touch I appreciated a lot. The breakfast is made for champions. There is everything you can think of available from cereals to a proper South African style breakfast.

We were provided with free wifi, parking, a coffee&tea area and a fully stocked fridge. And if we needed anything in particular they were willing to stock the fridge up with that too. This made us feel super welcome and comfortable. It is safe, secure and super quiet.

I recommend this B&B to anyone that wants quality time with their loved ones, for business orientated people who need business room facilities and to those who just want a awesome place to take a break from the busy world.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Giraffe room has the best view with a balcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda L, General Manager at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Responded 08 Jul 2016
Hallo Jean Thank you so much for a wonderful review on Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast. Glad you had a relax stay with us and your approval on all the small details that we do put in place for our guest to enjoy. Thank you so much for recommending us on Trip Advisor, always great to get positive feedback from our guest. Hope we see you soon? Kind Regards Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
99Luftballons wrote a review Jun 2016
London106 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very comfortable, clean and friendly B&B. The only thing missing is that the location is not great if you are there on business and have to see clients in the Pinetown area or North of Durban as traffic is an issue in the morning and afternoon. There are also no real restaurants in the area although you can book a meal with the owners.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda L, General Manager at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Responded 08 Jul 2016
Hallo 99Luftballons Many thanks for your lovely review on your stay with Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast. We do know our location is not suitable for business travelers that needs to be in other areas of Durban as the distance and traffic can be a problem. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again. Kind Regards Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
B6246NTbrendam wrote a review Dec 2015
Kempton Park1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were treated like family which was lovely - the food was devine and the staff so so friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone who needs a treat - will definitely book there again. Thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda L, Owner at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Responded 01 Feb 2016
Hi Hi Thank you so much for a lovely review. Always great to get positive feedback from guest that they did enjoyed the stay with us. Really hope to see you in the future again. Have a lovely evening Kind Regards Amanda Lombard Roosfontein BB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LelaniePot wrote a review Dec 2015
Roodepoort, South Africa32 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were three ladies that stayed here for the weekend of the Durban July.
I've never received such great service from a bed and breakfast.
Attention was paid even to the smallest details.
Superb breakfast!
I would highly recommend this place to anybody!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda L, Owner at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Responded 18 Dec 2015
Hallo Lelanie It was absolutely great to have you three girls with us. All three of you really looked stunning for the Durban July. Always a pleasure for assisting with all sorts of requests. Great to know that you did enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you for the next Durban July Kind Regards Roosfontein Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bandit13164 wrote a review Jun 2015
Euskirchen, Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was here for the second time and was again totally satisfied. I'm traveling around the world since twelve years and I have seen a lot of hotels. But this B & B has to be mentioned especially. The warmth that receives you here is overwhelming. It's small but fine, very fine even. I can only say thank you again and again to Amanda, Jonny and Iwan. And promised, I'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda L, Owner at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Responded 18 Dec 2015
Hallo Bandit So glad to received this lovely review from you and that you mentioned all the finer detail that one just take for granted. The extra little things in the room is just to make live easy for our guests. Glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Have a lovely day Kind Regards RoosfonteinTeam
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
esubben wrote a review Apr 2015
London, United Kingdom317 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On one of my many trips to South Africa I decide to stay at this B and B. I found the place to be perfectly located overlooking the nature reserve. I found my stay to be extremely pleasant one. The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. The owners will also take you bird watching or if you want to go for a walk in the nature reserve they are very willing to show you around. The rooms are all african theme. I have since returned to this B and B and must say the feeling is the same. I love this place and the friendly environment and beautiful surroundings. This is a must
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda L, Owner at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Responded 18 Dec 2015
Hallo Esubben Thank you for writing a review on our establishment and that you enjoyed the surroundings. We are total bush babies and wanted to create a feeling of Africa and it is great to hear that we did succeed in the part. It was great to have you with us and we hope to see you again Kind Regards Roosfontein Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abraham B wrote a review Aug 2014
Pretoria, South Africa143 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at Roosfontein as it is a pet friendly facility. The travel agent booked us a room with 2 single beds but the owners changed it to a double bed the moment we arrived. We did not even need to ask. Service was excellent and the breakfasts are huge. We could not finish our breakfasts. A selection of good coffees are available at the breakfast. This is a nice touch. All the places I stayed at offer one type only and in most cases the cheap stuff. There is also a fridge in the room which is almost unheard of in a B&B. Well done. Ivan even took our puppy for a walk while we had breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda L, Owner at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Responded 17 Dec 2015
Hallo Abraham Always so lovely to have your wife and you back with us. And what is a home without a four legged furry fluff  Thank you so much for a great review. Hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards Roosfontein Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durban area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,160 - R 1,307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROOSFONTEIN BED AND BREAKFAST - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Durban, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Sri Sri Radha Radhanath Temple (5.6 km), Phansi Museum (7.5 km), and Kenneth Stainbank Nature Reserve (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lupa Osteria Westville, atasca, and Goundens.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Fort (11.1 km).
All Durban HotelsDurban Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurbanHotels near Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire