Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel

Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel

17 Silverton Road Musgrave, Durban 4309 South Africa
Filthy
Traveller (17)
Bathroom (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#8 of 31 small hotels in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This charming boutique hotel is set back from the road in Durban’s tree-lined Berea, and lies within walking distance of the upmarket Musgrave Centre. Easy access to the freeway and close proximity to the airport make this the ideal venue for a business stopover or for a leisurely getaway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Xhosa, Zulu

Location

17 Silverton Road Musgrave, Durban 4309 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 64 out of 100
64
King Shaka Intl Airport
29.1 km
See all flights
Pietermaritzburg Airport
62.2 km
See all flights
23Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 4
  • 7
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sightsee31972111714 wrote a review Jul 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice enough place, but there is no generator to provide electricity during daily loadshedding power outages. This is unlike many of the other BnBs and hotels in South Africa. The WiFi is weak/ intermittent. Staff do not answer emails.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LindaLion wrote a review Jul 2015
Cape Town, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
No hotel WiFi. Seriously??
Spa bath not working, and hotel manager insisted on telling me several times (on the phone) that it worked for the previous guest. And how exactly does that help me? She was more invested in making excuses instead of hearing me and trying to make it right.
I arrived after 7pm to find no-one who could recommend a good restaurant in the area, and no information in the file either. As a first time visitor to Durban this would've made a huge difference to me as the area feels quite dodgy at night.

Website advertises things that are in reality not available (no DSTV as advertised, no Movie Magic channel either) and online prices are from 2013
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tammy D wrote a review Dec 2013
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The spa bath was amazing, I wish the same could be said for the hospitality. My boyfriend and I were only informed of the rule that no alcohol is allowed onto the premises upon arrival at the hotel, this is despite the fact that on the hotels website there is a picture of a bottle of wine being chilled with two wine glasses. Upon inquiry from the not so polite manager we were informed that the wine on the website was non-alcoholic which is not the impression that the picture itself gives. I will definitely not be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Thomas wrote a review Feb 2020
Pennington, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Looking for somewhere to stay overnight for cricket match at Kingsmead. Came across Silver Oaks and could not believe the rate! Staff are great, rooms large with shower and spa bath,dstv and comfy bed. Great experience and would recommend to anyone looking for a tranquil place to stay in the hub if the city. Welcome surprise.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kgomotso M wrote a review Dec 2016
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Thus is not a four star by any level of imagination. Musty smelly rooms, dirty carpets, dirty couches, state of disrepair, absolute rubbish waste of money and time. Trying to reorganize our stay and move out of this pigsty. Establishment run from a cellphone, doesn't reply to phone calls. This is a bed and breakfast not a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdrenalGland wrote a review Aug 2015
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For the price, this is a great value for money. The manageress, Raeesa welcomed us and showed us around, she even recommended a few spots around Durban to visit. I particularly enjoyed that for once, I could eat everything at breakfast as all the food was halaal.The garden was small, but the kids loved the fake grass and swing. Staff were friendly and I was pleased to see the security guard was not fast asleep when we arrived back at 3am.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LeedsLynda wrote a review Apr 2012
Leeds
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel in February. Had a great stay and thanks to Cheryl for being so helpful. First time in Durban and on my own it was a lovely base and safe place to be. Helpful staff, great security, take away breakfast and access to computer to Skype home. Couldn't have had a better stay anywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natali T wrote a review Oct 2016
Pretoria, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel on 12 August, Room nr 3.

We had had a long drive, and just wanted to rest, our sheets smelt of dust.

I'm not sure if this is a problem through out the hotel, or only our room, but from the minute we walked in, the overbearing smell of humidity and disgusting mould made me feel sick to the point that I could just cry. We contemplated leaving, and booking elsewhere, but it was already getting late. The white net curtains have mould on them. It was an extremely unpleasant experience, as I hardly got any sleep - not to mention that mould is in fact hazardous to our health!

We also decided not to have breakfast at the hotel, although it was included because we were worried about the cleanliness.

Overall I was very disappointed. There is clearly a plumbing problem, or some kind of humidity in the walls contributing to the mould.

Not receiving a reply from the Hotel manager, Raeesa is also extremely unprofessional. I also later learnt that the hotel claims to be four star hotel but is in fact not graded by the TGCSA. - I have had a look, and it seems they are indeed not reflecting as a graded establishment, but have used the four star pic on their reservations page, on their website.

When checking out, we were asked to leave our room key, and weren't even asked about our stay.

Overall terrible experience - and terrible service, will NEVER stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nikhil M wrote a review Apr 2016
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
3.0 of 5 bubbles
i stay here during my visit to durban as its bang opposite to the place of my meetings, a good homely environment, irony is there is no staff in the evenings except a superb night guard who is quite helpful however is unable to assist for queries like wifi details or any other requirement as he is a night guard. Lack of free wi-fi is a major concern which makes me think twice to stay again, very average breakfast too is a major deterrent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: stay for homely feel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WendyN1604 wrote a review Feb 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The 4 star rating is misleading - there are things about the hotel which are positive, like the spa bath and the friendly staff but overall, everything looks a little sad and run down. If some attention was given to fixing up small things and ensuring an improved level of comfort I would recommend giving them another chance. This time around I was pleased it was just a one night stay
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
214stella asked a question Nov 2015
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
what do you offer in your rooms
214stella asked a question Nov 2015
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
what are the different types of rooms that you offer
Answer from 214stella
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
what should we bring eg soap
Mfundiso M wrote a tip Dec 2018
Midrand, South Africa17 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent Wi-Fi"
Read full review
Sinethemba M wrote a tip Aug 2018
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 9 was the best for me"
Read full review
Nikhil M wrote a tip Apr 2016
Dubai, United Arab Emirates25 contributions32 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"stay for homely feel"
Read full review
ClaireKey wrote a tip Sept 2015
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't choose a room here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durban area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,249 - R 1,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SILVER OAKS BOUTIQUE HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Durban, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Little India Restaurant, Unity, and Wimpy.
Are any cleaning services offered at Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Fort (2.6 km).
Is Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Durban HotelsDurban Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurbanHotels near Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire