The Palace All-Suite

The Palace All-Suite

211 O R Tambo Parade North Beach, Durban 4001 South Africa
Traveller (80)
the room
Room & Suite (65)
Pool & Beach (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 12 apartments in Durban
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Palace is majestically positioned on Durban's Golden Mile North Beach with uninterrupted spectacular sea views. The iconic high-rise hotel comprises of 76 luxury hotel rooms and apartments and is a great choice for Intimate weddings and conferences. Onsite facilities include; restaurant, in-room dining, swimming pool, wellness spa, sun lounge, Jacuzzi, steam room, business centre and convenient access to the beach. Nearby attractions include Moses Mabhida Stadium, golf courses, casinos, fishing, boating, scuba diving plus loads more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Family

Location

211 O R Tambo Parade North Beach, Durban 4001 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
King Shaka Intl Airport
Pietermaritzburg Airport
65.8 km
See all flights
445Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 185
  • 132
  • 81
  • 27
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Abdool E wrote a review Mar 2020
Durban, South Africa9 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very nice place situated on the Golden Mile of one of the most beautiful coastlines in the world. A home away from home, really. The manager and team are extremely friendly and warm. I would recommend The Palace to all those who really want to relax, as well as have lots of excitement, you will certainly be made to feel at home.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shamini Pather, General Manager at The Palace All-Suite
Responded 07 Apr 2020
Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to always welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
frooye743657 wrote a review Mar 2020
East London, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable and clean hotel. Situated at a great location. Stunning views from the rooms and restaurant. Nice pool area, Good restaurant and friendly staff. Close to the harbour if you are staying over for a cruise.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shamini Pather, General Manager at The Palace All-Suite
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to always welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annalien P wrote a review Jan 2021
Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa337 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at The Palace for two nights. Room was very clean and comfortable. Reception staff was very friendly and efficient. Bath is a bit small. Struggled with warm water but the matter was resolved. I enjoyed my stay. Nice restaurant downstairs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
william310 wrote a review Oct 2023
Swansea, United Kingdom40 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was fair, the staff were nice very helpfull. The meal's were not very nice because it was the same thing every day, they didn't change the menu at all. Breakfast was not english breakfast as they said it was. The pool was not clean you had to ask them to clean it before you could go in it. The owner of the hotel was always picking on the staff he was not very nice. I would not go there again to far from the shop's and market.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Watch out for pickpockets and being followed . Don't go out on your own unescorted, make sure...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shamini Pather, General Manager at The Palace All-Suite
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Good Day Many thanks for your review. Please could you please send us your contact details so that we can get in touch and attempt to resolve your dis-satisfactuin. we take these reviews seriously and would like to amend the bad experience you had. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coraltreeB wrote a review Aug 2012
Port Elizabeth, South Africa2 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were pleasantly surprised by the facilities offered at The Palace Resort, which was comfortable and convenient, priced right and perfectly located, right on the beach front in Durban, with a lovely view. It was great to be able to switch off the aircon and open the windows too. The kitchen was adequately appointed for self-catering, but we also enjoyed several meals downstairs at the restaurant, called "pesto". The resort offers a Spa, which we didn't test, and they also organise a daily programme of activities for family participation. Our stay was booked through our Fun Holidays Funatix Membership; we can highly recommend them for their customer service and for delivering on all their promises.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We can recommend 903 for convenience - and the view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace All-Suite
Responded 17 May 2017
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kailene P wrote a review Jun 2013
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa39 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I had the most amazing time at the Palace! My review is a little late as we did visit them last year. We had been to other hotels and chalets since, but we cannot get The Palace and their amazing Spa out of our heads. We even stayed at the Gateway Hotel in December but we drove to The Palace for spa treatments. We loved the treatments, the rooms, the close proximity to everything and the atmosphere. We had perfect weather and were treated amazingly by wonderful staff who even remembered us when we returned in December! Definitely a place i would go back to
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose one of the already newly completed rooms. i believe they were renovating
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace All-Suite
Responded 17 May 2017
Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mogti4 wrote a review Dec 2013
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This will be my last time I will stay at this resort. It supposed to be renovated but the televisions does not work. The 4 sleeper rooms are very cramped and no space to walk in the room. Had to wait 30min for a porter to help carry our luggage from the car to our room. Eventually I carried myself. Unfriendly staff. Overall dont recommend this hotel to any family or friends.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shamini P, General Manager at The Palace All-Suite
Responded 23 Aug 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologise for the inconvienance caused during your stay with us. We have addressed yur feedback for future improvement and hope to welcome you back to The Palace.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MOE wrote a review May 2018
Schaerbeek, Belgium150 contributions147 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms noisy
Maids scream in the corridor in the morning when you try to sleep.
In General very bad service and rooms very small and outdated.

In my case never again. It was my first experience and it will be the last.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shamini P, General Manager at The Palace All-Suite
Responded 04 Jun 2018
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. I assure you that this is not the normal standard of service and it has been addressed accordingly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mohammed R wrote a review Dec 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa27 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The fire alarm went of several times during our stay and about a hundred times in the early morning on 31 December 2015 at 1am. The hotel took no calls, informed none of the guests that a false alarm problem was being experienced and lacked any semblance of leadership, management or guest relations know how. Terrible and pathetic for an RCI RECOGNISED GOLD CROWN RESORT.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace All-Suite
Responded 11 Jan 2016
Dear Mohammed Thank you for your comments and sincere apologies for the disruption. We did have a major problem with the fire alarm system, we could not stop the alarm or shut it down. We had to disarm the whole system. We found that two of the emergency alarm boxes had the glass purposely broken and that was what set off the alarm. Our security had been to the floors to ensure that there was no actual fire! What this has highlighted is how we handle this going forward and it is under review. Thanks again for highlighting the issue as we constantly strive to improve on all aspects of the guest experience, safety and well being. Sincerely Mark General manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1choglay wrote a review Dec 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa23 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the Penthouse suite at the Palace Resort from 6th to 13th December. Lovely modern resort with a great location. Close to all food places and family-orientated activities. Stunning views from our Suite.
Loved our 3-bedroom Suite until the cockroaches started appearing every evening! This despite keeping our doors and windows closed daily! They crept out of the aircon ducts and bathroom basins! Two or three fully grown roaches daily! Spoke to management about the issue, who in turn called a pest-control company to attend to our matter. They also assured us that they have a monthly contract in place to spray against all unwanted pests.

This was cold-comfort for us as they sprayed our room whilst all our food and belongings were still there. We were placed in another room for the duration of spraying after which we were assured all was sorted. Or so we thought. That evening more large cockroaches came out of the aircon ducts!
Totally upset my family and destroyed our holiday! Kids and wife were petrified!
Stayed at a competitor Hotel a block away, a year ago with not a single roach in sight for the duration of our stay! So the Durban Climate cannot be blamed!

I hope to have constructive feedback from Management and would like to see them replace my week at a suitable time, considering that I spent alot of money booking their penthouse Suite in Peak Season.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from First_Resorts, Front Office Manager at The Palace All-Suite
Responded 23 Dec 2014
We do acknowledge the receipt of your concerns and comments about The Palace Resort and Spa and we are grateful and appreciate your efforts in helping us to work towards the right direction to be amongst the best. We do regret that you did not enjoy your last visit to The Palace Resort and Spa due to the concerns and comments raised, we do sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused in this regard and all your concerns and comments are taken seriously and the appropriate measures are being taken to address them accordingly as our Team and Pest Control company dealt with the situation whilst you were on site and further investigation carried forward. Also please note that your concerns were also forwarded to the Club when this was brought to our attention. Once again we do apologise the inconvenience. We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Goodman Ncobeni
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fiona s asked a question Jul 2017
Do they have beach towels?
Answer from Boschie
Johannesburg, South Africa843 contributions64 helpful votes
Yes they do. you might have to pay a deposit but will get it back when you hand the towels back. Enjoy !
VrajaV asked a question Jan 2017
Cape Town, South Africa261 contributions46 helpful votes
hi Which rooms and accommodations did you stay at? the 1 bedroom apartment or ?? do the rooms have views?
Answer from Kate W
Ballito73 contributions56 helpful votes
we stayed in a "hotel room" not a self catering apartment. all the rooms at the Palace have a sea view...but try and get a room on the higher floors for better views?
Inspire29967305758 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be careful where you stick your fingers you may poke yourself with a heroine needle that guests leave laying around and cleaners don't cleanproperly"
Read full review
william310 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Swansea, United Kingdom40 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watch out for pickpockets and being followed . Don't go out on your own unescorted, make sure you let some one know that you are going out."
Read full review
vinap462 wrote a tip Nov 2019
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"can't say much :)"
Read full review
davewaddell2019 wrote a tip Nov 2019
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cleaning shud be more thorough and not in the afternoons"
Read full review
Safari20721816110 wrote a tip Nov 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"One hundred and fifty rand."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durban area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,226 - R 1,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PALACE ALL-SUITE | UPDATED 2024 Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Durban, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Palace All-Suite
Which popular attractions are close to The Palace All-Suite?
Nearby attractions include Durban Holocaust and Genocide Centre (0.5 km) and Time Warp Surf Museum (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Palace All-Suite?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and airport transportation.
Is parking available at The Palace All-Suite?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Palace All-Suite?
Conveniently located restaurants include Billal, California Dreaming, and Ocean Basket Marine Parade.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Palace All-Suite?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Palace All-Suite have airport transportation?
Yes, The Palace All-Suite offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Palace All-Suite located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Durban.
Are there any historical sites close to The Palace All-Suite?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Fort (1.2 km).
Does The Palace All-Suite have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Durban HotelsDurban Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurbanHotels near The Palace All-Suite
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire