We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Benjamin

Save
Share
141 Florida Road Morningside, Durban 4001 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/02
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreamsUS$42
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 76 hotels in Durban
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
301Reviews1Q+A65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 159
  • 108
  • 24
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jeff I wrote a review Oct 2019
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
The Benjamin is absolutely the best. I enjoyed every day of my 3 week stay. The Staff were super friendly, and very nice. The location is just perfect...on Florida rd with all the best restaurants and bars. It was a beautiful experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin
Responded 27 Oct 2019
Thank-you so much for the the wonderful review, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you back soon.
Read more
facefact2019 wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
All good - no complaints about this hotel. Good location and good rooms. I would recommend for anyone looking for leisure or business travel in the Morningside / Durban area. Great hotels all within walking distance
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin
Responded 24 Oct 2019
Thanks so much for the wonderful review, we really appreciate it! Please come stay again soon.
Read more
Bongani N wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
I couldn't sleep because of the noise from the nearby clubs and on the last night it was also from fellow guest who just stood to chat in from of my room and couldn't get help from reception as my call went unanswered.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin
Responded 08 Oct 2019
I am truly sorry that you did not sleep well. Please know that we try everything in our power to get the nearby places to abide by the by-laws and to turn music down at a reasonable hour. I will bring your other concern up with the night guard, he should be at reception after his patrols. Please do request a quite room should you wish to stay with us again.
Read more
Woldtraveller99 wrote a review Oct 2019
Newbury, United Kingdom174 contributions91 helpful votes
This hotel is pretty old and our room wasn't particularly nice, very dark with only one window. However, we had a great nights sleep here and were lucky enough to be at the back of the hotel so didn't suffer with the noise from the very busy main road at the front. Staff are very friendly and hotel is clean.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Debbie Steers wrote a review Oct 2019
3 contributions3 helpful votes
On our arrival we were welcomed by the very friendly and helpful staff. This neat and well run gem is situated and in walking distance of all facilities in Florida Road. You stay will here will be well worth it. Thank you for our stay at The Benjamin
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin
Responded 06 Oct 2019
Thank-you so much for the lovely review we truly appreciate it. Please come visit again very soon!
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the benjamin hotel durban, benjamin hotel durban
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing