We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Benjamin

Save
Share
141 Florida Road Morningside, Durban 4001 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$44
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$44
ZenHotels.comUS$100
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 76 hotels in Durban
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
301Reviews1Q+A65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 159
  • 108
  • 24
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Therese Botha wrote a review Nov 2019
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
Love returning to the well run guesthouse. Had another stunning stay. Central with helpful staff and excellent hospitality! One piece of advice is to ask for a room on the inside of the property as Florida Road can be noisy at night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin
Responded 06 Nov 2019
Thank-you so much for your kind review and for choosing to stay with again.
Read more
ekuindersma wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Nice spacious rooms and a good and extensive breakfast. Good value for money. Located in a safe area with many restaurants in the immediate area. If you have been there once, you will definitely return if you visit Durban and its surroundings.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin
Responded 05 Nov 2019
Thank-you so much for the wonderful review and rating, we appreciate it.
Read more
Vacationer572036 wrote a review Oct 2019
Greenock, United Kingdom1 contribution
Although we only stayed for two separate nights a week apart,we can clearly recommend this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and peaceful. The staff were helpful and very friendly and the breakfasts were very good. We followed the manager s recommendation for our evening meals which were excellent and very good value at the Butchers Block across the street from the hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin
Responded 03 Nov 2019
Thank-you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we truly appreciate it.
Read more
ynelani wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
I checked out of the BnB because of the noise and the fact that the breakfast was just terrible. I’m supposed to get a refund which I have not been paid, it’s been two weeks now. I will never recommend this BnB to anyone to be honest.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin
Responded 03 Nov 2019
Dear Ms Nelani. Your refund took a while as not all information was given to us at first. It was however paid in full at the first opportunity. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we hope you enjoyed your holiday further at a different hotel.
Read more
bdalton2019 wrote a review Oct 2019
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
Very comfortable accommodation, friendly and efficient staff. Nothing was too much of a problem and the location is very good for evening meals with all the available restaurants within comfortable walking distance. Highly recommended
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin
Responded 03 Nov 2019
Thank-you for the great feedback, we really appreciate it.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the benjamin hotel durban, benjamin hotel durban
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing