African Sands B&B

663 Kingsway Street, Amanzimtoti 4126 South Africa
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#7 of 13 guest houses in Amanzimtoti
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
African Sands Bed & Breakfast promises to be your home away from home whether you are visiting for business or leisure. Just 25kms from Durban's city centre, this upmarket Bed & Breakfast boasts an enviable location as it is close to the Galleria Mall, which offers ice skating and movies as well as a selection of restaurants. There is also a hospital and a Virgin Active Health Centre nearby. The business centres of Southgate Business Park and Prospecton are within 3kms from the establishment. Accommodation at African Sands Kingsway Bed & Breakfast consists of 11 beautifully decorated suites; one unit is self-catering, while 2 of them can accommodate an additional 2 children. Seven of the rooms have queen beds, two have twin/queen beds and two have 3/4 beds. All units are en-suite and feature air conditioning, ceiling fans and TVs with DSTV Hotel Bouquet. African Sands Bed & Breakfast provides the ultimate in facilities, with guests able to enjoy the sparkling pool, the built-in BBQ, the laundry services, and free Wi-Fi. The establishment offers secure, off-road parking and a night watchman on the premises. A delicious full buffet breakfast is served daily, the perfect way to start the day. Dinners are available by pre-arrangement and lunch packs can be provided. The South Coast of South Africa is the perfect destination for your next holiday. Amanzimtoti on the South Coast has a list of attractions, which guarantees to have something special for everyone. Visit local spots such as The Valley of 1000 Hills or Ushaka Marine World for a unique experience. If you want to be a bit daring go scuba diving at Aliwal Shoals. Guests to the bed & breakfast can enjoy anything from water sports to hiking, shopping to sightseeing and many other diverse activities. Airport shuttle can be arranged.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Golf course
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Minibar
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Iron
Refrigerator
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
7Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MrLewis01 wrote a review Oct 2014
Munich, Germany10 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Positive:
Most important things for a longer stay are onhigh level: Very clean rooms, comfortable Bed, large and modern bathroom, minibar with some snacks, silent place, nice breakfast (I love this great muffins), Internet available (speed ok, but prepaid service)
Only bad thing is that you have limited options for dinner. You can get a meal (to heat up in the microwave and they don't know in the mornning what they will cook) or you can order something, but the available restaurants with delivery service are limited in this area.Better you have a car or you feel like a prisoner...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CindyRutherford1, Owner at African Sands B&B
Responded 30 Apr 2017
Hi Mr Lewis. Thank you for your comments. Since you stayed with us we have installed free wi-fi at the B&B. Unfortunately we are a Bed & Breakfast faciliity, however, we do offer basic tasty meals for guests who are tired of eating at restaurants. We have since employed a cook who makes delicious stews, curries and pies. We hope to see you at African Sands B&B again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Avi-Menon wrote a review Jan 2014
Pretoria, South Africa5 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed there for 3 nights. The stay was comfortable and the place is clean. The beach is within close proximity, although you might need to drive. There is a pool at the facility. The breakfast is pretty standard and it can get boring after a couple of days. The service was great! Recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CindyRutherford1, Owner at African Sands B&B
Responded 30 Apr 2017
Thank you for you lovely comments. We will endeavour to introduce more selection with our breakfasts. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terri-Ann wrote a review Jul 2019
Port Elizabeth, South Africa11 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the facility while on business and found the facility neat and clean. The manager was friendly and helpful and the night security guard even helped us organise a braai on one of the evenings. Comfortable outdoor areas so you don't feel confined to your room
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: all rooms are comfortable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CindyRutherford1, Manager at African Sands B&B
Responded 09 Oct 2019
Dear Terri1234567 Thank you for your review. We happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were happy to accommodate you with regards to your braai'ing needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to African Sands B&B. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geoffrey T wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is a little out of town,but reasonably close to a main beach with shopping centres close by.The main shopping centre has cinemas and a few restaurants.The B&B is well run ,very organised and secure.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CindyRutherford1, Manager at African Sands B&B
Responded 12 Nov 2019
Dear Geoffrey T, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We pleased to hear that stay was pleasant and that you found our location easily accessible to local shopping centres and restaurants. We will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of the team. We look forward to your return in the near future for another pleasant stay. Kind regards African Sands B&B Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shinks26 wrote a review May 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent a very relaxing few days here with my family. The rooms were spacious extremely clean . The staff were really attentive and friendly. The breakfast they served was really good. Close driving distance to the beach, shopping center and restaurants. Quite a few business men staying there too. I would definitely recommend staying here and I will be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CindyRutherford1, Manager at African Sands B&B
Responded 20 Oct 2019
Dear Shinks26, Thank you for taking the time to review us at African Sands B&B. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We happy to receive feedback from our guests and we pleased to hear that your room was presented to you in a clean and tidy manner. We couldn't ask for a more friendly and guest orientated staff and we happy to hear that the breakfast was enjoyed and of good value to you. Overall we were pleased to host you, and look forward to your return in the near future. Kind regards African Sands B&B Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rinesh_singh wrote a review Jan 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa24 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very mediocre and poorly maintained rooms, a few lights did not work, the bathroom rail kept falling off, the bed was broken and held up by a brick, there were roaches found in the room. Cobwebs a sign of not cleaning.

Poor breakfast for vegetarians, although the establishment was notified beforehand about our preference.

Room not worth the money paid, other establishments in the same area offer far more for less.

No communication from owners or management regarding whether the stay was suitable or about any problems experienced. The only question that was constantly posed was a reminder to settle the balance upon checkout, which of course , was done.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
851nellat wrote a review Sept 2017
Mthatha 38 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were on a long road trip and decided to sleep at african sands for a night. The place is nice with comfy beds. Very helpful staff who even offered to do our ironing. Great breakfast also.
Unfortunately we left our drinks in the fridge in the room, I sent someone to go get the drinks. The lady at this place told them that once you leave, there is no returning for anything. Apparently they "threw away" our drinks, something very strange and unusual. I wonder what happens if you leave your clothes or gadgets 😏
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CindyRutherford1, Owner at African Sands B&B
Responded 16 May 2019
Hi there. I am so sorry we are responding 18 months late! I am not sure how we missed this review. I am not sure how long after you checked out that you returned but what normally happens with "forgotten drinks" is that any alcohol is thrown out as we do not encourage alcohol consumption amongst our staff, and soft drinks are shared amongst the staff as we assume guests leave the area after check out. Any other items such as clothing or gadets remain in lost property once we have contacted the guests to arrange collection or courier if necessary, after which they are donated if the items are not claimed within 6 months. Thank you for your reveiw and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
justcyndi asked a question Sept 2015
Cape Town, South Africa18 contributions10 helpful votes
Can you assist with a nights accommodation for 2 adults and an indoor cat? 25th September 2015
Terri-Ann wrote a tip Jul 2019
Port Elizabeth, South Africa11 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms are comfortable"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amanzimtoti area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,208 - R 1,649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalAmanzimtoti
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AFRICAN SANDS B&B - Now R 1 226 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶3̶7̶7̶) - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Amanzimtoti, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about African Sands B&B
Which popular attractions are close to African Sands B&B?
Nearby attractions include Splash Water World (1.0 km), KartingKZN Galleria (1.2 km), and Go Bananaz (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at African Sands B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at African Sands B&B?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at African Sands B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at African Sands B&B?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to African Sands B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lords & Legends Sports Cafe, Clear Waters Spur Steak Ranch, and Giselle's Coffee Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at African Sands B&B?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does African Sands B&B have airport transportation?
Yes, African Sands B&B offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is African Sands B&B located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Amanzimtoti.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at African Sands B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Amanzimtoti HotelsAmanzimtoti Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmanzimtotiHotels near African Sands B&B
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire